English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 April 2013, 20:33   #1
Hoopz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 31
Amiga 500 keyboard power

Hey guys,

I'm trying to replace my a500 floppy drive with the hxc emulator. I noticed that the keyboard hooks up to the floppy drive for power. If I remove the floppy, then I get no keyboard. Is there another place I can anchor the keyboard to for power?

Thanks,
H
Hoopz is offline  
Old 05 April 2013, 21:42   #2
GadgetUK
Registered User
GadgetUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Manchester
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoopz View Post
Hey guys,

I'm trying to replace my a500 floppy drive with the hxc emulator. I noticed that the keyboard hooks up to the floppy drive for power. If I remove the floppy, then I get no keyboard. Is there another place I can anchor the keyboard to for power?

Thanks,
H
Wow, i've never seen that before on a 500, what rev is it? Can you upload a photo?
GadgetUK is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 02:29   #3
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoopz View Post
Hey guys,

I'm trying to replace my a500 floppy drive with the hxc emulator. I noticed that the keyboard hooks up to the floppy drive for power. If I remove the floppy, then I get no keyboard. Is there another place I can anchor the keyboard to for power?

Thanks,
H
There's something wrong for sure, keyboard power isn't dependent on a floppy drive being present or not. If someone has routed a cable from the keyboard connector to the floppy drive then you can safely reconnect it to the 7 pin connector at its appropriate place or pick up +5 V from most of the logic chips' Vcc or +5 V connection.
Loedown is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 05:59   #4
Hoopz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 31
I think I'm being a noob. I'm referring to the grey-ISP cable that goes from the keyboard to the floppy. What's it for? And where else can I attach it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	274
Size:	117.6 KB
ID:	34990  
Hoopz is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 06:27   #5
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoopz View Post
I think I'm being a noob. I'm referring to the grey-ISP cable that goes from the keyboard to the floppy. What's it for? And where else can I attach it?
Yep you're being a n00b, it's a grounding or earthing cable from the floppy to the Amiga's main ground, it will screw into a 8 - 10 mm square of solder clad copper on the keyboard.
Loedown is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White screen at Amiga 500 power on? Saltaren New to Emulation or Amiga scene 16 14 February 2017 10:28
New Amiga 500/600/1200 HD power supply mech MarketPlace 11 28 December 2010 22:05
blinking power led/no screen on amiga 500 Akuma support.Hardware 10 26 August 2006 13:45
Amiga 500 power led failure Gavilan support.Hardware 4 03 November 2005 19:47
amiga 500 power problem ! Unregistered support.Hardware 1 15 August 2002 00:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07636 seconds with 16 queries