English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 November 2012, 23:26   #1
snakecoils
 
Posts: n/a
FS-UAE (OSX-PPC) - No OSD menu?

Hello again,
this time I wish to point a difference between intel and PPC builds: on my G4 (OSX 10.5.8) there is no OSD menu when pressing CMD + F12.
The main screen tilt to left as it should but the area on the right remain empty (see attached image) I am missing something in compiling process?
Click image for larger version

Name:	ppc-snapshot.jpg
Views:	406
Size:	279.4 KB
ID:	33099
 
Old 06 November 2012, 23:29   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Most likely the problem is just that the images are not found. Please attach FS-UAE.log to a new post, it contains relevant information (Documents/Logs/FS-UAE.log).

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 07 November 2012 at 00:57.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 07 November 2012, 22:48   #3
snakecoils
 
Posts: n/a
After some investigations I have managed to add the missing menus to the PPC build simply doing a bit of cut'n'paste
Here is in short the way I have followed:

- On the PPC G4 build the executable from inside the /macosx directory of FS-UAE source: the process will stop because of lacking of the libfs part but goes far enough to have the FS-UAE.app almost ready with the fs-uae CLI executable inside
- Put the OSX intel version somewhere on the PPC desktop, you will see its icon with the slashed circle on it meaning its build will not run on PPCs
- With CTRL-click on this icon choose from the pop-up menu to show the package contents and copy the directories Contents/Frameworks and Contents/Resources from the FS-UAE.app (intel) to the very same locations FS-UAE.app (ppc)
- Voilà, icons and menus are there on PPC too!

Ok, I know this is a very dirty job but in the meantime it works without too much headaches

I really would like that someone expert in PPC developing will write a step-by-step guide for the newbies (as it has been done for the SDL Mame on Bannister's forum) so everyone still in G4/G5 business can safely build its executable on its own.
 
Old 07 November 2012, 23:03   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
I assume it stops at this line in the Makefile:
Code:
cp ../../out/libfs-capsimage.dylib fs-uae-$(version)-macosx/FS-UAE.app/Contents/Frameworks
You don't need this, so you can simply write # in front of it to skip it.

But the libcapsimage library is needed for IPF file support. Here's how to make a full bunde including libcapsimage:

The libcapsimage source code is downloadable from the FS-UAE download page. You can compile this simply by running make, and the you manually copy the created libfs-capsimage.dylib into the "out" directory in the fs-uae source dir.

And to compile FS-UAe, instead of cd-ing into macosx, you stay in the root source directory and run:
Code:
make -f macosx.mk
If you get stuck, I can probably help, but you need to provide any error messages, log files, terminal output or whatever information is relevant.

Btw, you don't need to create a bundle to run FS-UAE, you can run it directly from the source dir like this:
Code:
out/fs-uae
(it should find the image resources then too).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 16:02   #5
amigamia
 
Posts: n/a
Hi All,

I followed the instructions from snakecoils but it still failed copying the libs-capsimage.dylib file during the recompile. I checked the Makefile under macosx folder and I noticed that the cp line had some extra ../
the
Code:
make -f macosx.mk
at the top level of the folder didn't work either. I had to cd into the macosx sub folder and just run

Code:
sudo make
with the following changes in the Makefile from the same directory.

so the cp for libfs-capsimage.dylib should start as:

Code:
cp ../out/libfs-capsimage.dylib etc.etc.
 
Old 12 November 2012, 16:57   #6
amigamia
 
Posts: n/a
Ahhhh I spoke too soon. The compilation completes with no error but the application crashes when I launch it :-(. It does work if I skip the libfs-capsimage.dylib hack.
 
Old 12 November 2012, 21:41   #7
amigamia
 
Posts: n/a
OK I got a working FS-UAE.APP on my Powerbook G4. I didn't copy the Contents/Frameworks and Contents/Resources from the intel version. I just copied the libfs-capsimage.dylib in the out folder and modified the Makefile by removing the extra ../ in the cp ../../out/libfs-capsimage.dylib etc. etc. line and voila'

Now I need to figure out a way to create an executable for the launcher.
 
Old 12 November 2012, 23:01   #8
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigamia View Post
Hi All,

I followed the instructions from snakecoils but it still failed copying the libs-capsimage.dylib file during the recompile. I checked the Makefile under macosx folder and I noticed that the cp line had some extra ..
Hi, and welcome here I'll try to help you (and snakecoils) as best as I can.

The extra ../ is not an error, but rather a consequence of how my automated build system works (which executes make -f macosx.mk).

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigamia View Post
the
Code:
make -f macosx.mk
at the top level of the folder didn't work either. I had to cd into the macosx sub folder and just run

Code:
sudo make
with the following changes in the Makefile from the same directory.

so the cp for libfs-capsimage.dylib should start as:

Code:
cp ../out/libfs-capsimage.dylib etc.etc.
When you run "make -f macosx.mk", a new clean copy of the source dir is created in a subdir, and the compilation process occur in this subdir, so the extra ../ is to account for this. Alternatively, if "make -f macosx.mk" fails, you could post the error here, and we could fix that problem instead.

If you compile from the source tarballs, there's nothing wrong with modifying that line and running make from within the macosx dir (If you compile from the git repository, make -f macosx should be used instead, because this updates the version number thoughout the source code).

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigamia View Post
OK I got a working FS-UAE.APP on my Powerbook G4. I didn't copy the Contents/Frameworks and Contents/Resources from the intel version. I just copied the libfs-capsimage.dylib in the out folder and modified the Makefile by removing the extra ../ in the cp ../../out/libfs-capsimage.dylib etc. etc. line and voila'
Copying resources from another FS-UAE.app is generally a bad idea, and copying files from Contents/Frameworks for another CPU architecture is an especially bad idea

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigamia View Post
Now I need to figure out a way to create an executable for the launcher.
An app bundle for the launcher will be created when you run "make -f macosx.mk", or if you CD into macos and run "make launcher" there. For this to work, you need to have Python 2.7 installed along with the following Python extensions (for 2.7): setuptools, wxPython, pygame, and py2app.

Hope this helps

If you get stuck, just ask for help, but please post any error messages / relevant console output!
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 March 2013, 13:42   #9
amigamia
 
Posts: n/a
The real problem is that libfs-capsimage.dylib is not in the source files archive. I tried to look for it but it is not included. I just compiled 2.2.0 and it could not complete without that file. Once I copied it from the Intel archive, I was able to complete the compilation. This is on a PPC MAC

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 20 March 2013 at 22:00.
 
Old 20 March 2013, 22:01   #10
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigamia View Post
The real problem is that libfs-capsimage.dylib is not in the source files archive. I tried to look for it but it is not included. I just compiled 2.2.0 and it could not complete without that file.
Hi, See my post further up (http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=849308&postcount=4).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 22 March 2013, 22:51   #11
snakecoils
 
Posts: n/a
Hello,
just a thing remain to understand for me for a complete self-made build: is possible to make a PPC compile of libfs-capsimage library? Every tries result in the following message:

Code:
checking whether we are cross compiling... configure: error: in `/Users/snakecoils/Downloads/libfs-capsimage-4.2/CAPSImage':
configure: error: cannot run C compiled programs.
If you meant to cross compile, use `--host'.
See `config.log' for more details
make: *** [all] Error 1
And here is the config.log output:

Code:
This file contains any messages produced by compilers while
running configure, to aid debugging if configure makes a mistake.

It was created by configure, which was
generated by GNU Autoconf 2.68.  Invocation command line was

  $ ./configure 

## --------- ##
## Platform. ##
## --------- ##

hostname = power-mac-g5-di-snake-coils.local
uname -m = Power Macintosh
uname -r = 9.8.0
uname -s = Darwin
uname -v = Darwin Kernel Version 9.8.0: Wed Jul 15 16:57:01 PDT 2009; root:xnu-1228.15.4~1/RELEASE_PPC

/usr/bin/uname -p = powerpc
/bin/uname -X     = unknown

/bin/arch              = unknown
/usr/bin/arch -k       = unknown
/usr/convex/getsysinfo = unknown
/usr/bin/hostinfo      = Mach kernel version:
	 Darwin Kernel Version 9.8.0: Wed Jul 15 16:57:01 PDT 2009; root:xnu-1228.15.4~1/RELEASE_PPC
Kernel configured for up to 2 processors.
2 processors are physically available.
2 processors are logically available.
Processor type: ppc970 (PowerPC 970)
Processors active: 0 1
Primary memory available: 4.00 gigabytes
Default processor set: 54 tasks, 212 threads, 2 processors
Load average: 0.97, Mach factor: 1.40
/bin/machine           = unknown
/usr/bin/oslevel       = unknown
/bin/universe          = unknown

PATH: /opt/local/bin
PATH: /opt/local/sbin
PATH: /usr/bin
PATH: /bin
PATH: /usr/sbin
PATH: /sbin
PATH: /usr/local/bin
PATH: /usr/X11/bin


## ----------- ##
## Core tests. ##
## ----------- ##

configure:1970: checking build system type
configure:1984: result: powerpc-apple-darwin9.8.0
configure:2004: checking host system type
configure:2017: result: powerpc-apple-darwin9.8.0
configure:2156: checking for gcc
configure:2172: found /usr/bin/gcc
configure:2183: result: gcc
configure:2412: checking for C compiler version
configure:2421: gcc --version >&5
powerpc-apple-darwin9-gcc-4.0.1 (GCC) 4.0.1 (Apple Inc. build 5493)
Copyright (C) 2005 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

configure:2432: $? = 0
configure:2421: gcc -v >&5
Using built-in specs.
Target: powerpc-apple-darwin9
Configured with: /var/tmp/gcc/gcc-5493~1/src/configure --disable-checking -enable-werror --prefix=/usr --mandir=/share/man --enable-languages=c,objc,c++,obj-c++ --program-transform-name=/^[cg][^.-]*$/s/$/-4.0/ --with-gxx-include-dir=/include/c++/4.0.0 --with-slibdir=/usr/lib --build=i686-apple-darwin9 --program-prefix= --host=powerpc-apple-darwin9 --target=powerpc-apple-darwin9
Thread model: posix
gcc version 4.0.1 (Apple Inc. build 5493)
configure:2432: $? = 0
configure:2421: gcc -V >&5
gcc-4.0: argument to `-V' is missing
configure:2432: $? = 1
configure:2421: gcc -qversion >&5
powerpc-apple-darwin9-gcc-4.0.1: no input files
configure:2432: $? = 1
configure:2452: checking whether the C compiler works
configure:2474: gcc -Wall -Wno-sign-compare -Wno-missing-braces -Wno-parentheses -g -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -arch i386 -arch x86_64   conftest.c  >&5
configure:2478: $? = 0
configure:2526: result: yes
configure:2529: checking for C compiler default output file name
configure:2531: result: a.out
configure:2537: checking for suffix of executables
configure:2544: gcc -o conftest -Wall -Wno-sign-compare -Wno-missing-braces -Wno-parentheses -g -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -arch i386 -arch x86_64   conftest.c  >&5
configure:2548: $? = 0
configure:2570: result: 
configure:2592: checking whether we are cross compiling
configure:2600: gcc -o conftest -Wall -Wno-sign-compare -Wno-missing-braces -Wno-parentheses -g -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -arch i386 -arch x86_64   conftest.c  >&5
configure:2604: $? = 0
configure:2611: ./conftest
./configure: line 2613: ./conftest: Bad CPU type in executable
configure:2615: $? = 126
configure:2622: error: in `/Users/snakecoils/Downloads/libfs-capsimage-4.2/CAPSImage':
configure:2624: error: cannot run C compiled programs.
If you meant to cross compile, use `--host'.
See `config.log' for more details

## ---------------- ##
## Cache variables. ##
## ---------------- ##

ac_cv_build=powerpc-apple-darwin9.8.0
ac_cv_env_CCC_set=
ac_cv_env_CCC_value=
ac_cv_env_CC_set=
ac_cv_env_CC_value=
ac_cv_env_CFLAGS_set=
ac_cv_env_CFLAGS_value=
ac_cv_env_CPPFLAGS_set=
ac_cv_env_CPPFLAGS_value=
ac_cv_env_CPP_set=
ac_cv_env_CPP_value=
ac_cv_env_CXXFLAGS_set=
ac_cv_env_CXXFLAGS_value=
ac_cv_env_CXX_set=
ac_cv_env_CXX_value=
ac_cv_env_LDFLAGS_set=
ac_cv_env_LDFLAGS_value=
ac_cv_env_LIBS_set=
ac_cv_env_LIBS_value=
ac_cv_env_build_alias_set=
ac_cv_env_build_alias_value=
ac_cv_env_host_alias_set=
ac_cv_env_host_alias_value=
ac_cv_env_target_alias_set=
ac_cv_env_target_alias_value=
ac_cv_host=powerpc-apple-darwin9.8.0
ac_cv_prog_ac_ct_CC=gcc

## ----------------- ##
## Output variables. ##
## ----------------- ##

AUTODOC=''
AUTODOCS=''
CC='gcc'
CFLAGS='-Wall -Wno-sign-compare -Wno-missing-braces -Wno-parentheses -g -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -arch i386 -arch x86_64'
CPP=''
CPPFLAGS=''
CXX=''
CXXFLAGS='-Wall -Wno-sign-compare -Wno-missing-braces -Wno-parentheses -g -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -arch i386 -arch x86_64 -fconserve-space -fno-for-scope -fno-exceptions -fno-rtti'
DEFS=''
ECHO_C='\c'
ECHO_N=''
ECHO_T=''
EGREP=''
EXEEXT=''
EXTRA_LIBS='../libfs-capsimage.dylib'
EXTRA_OBJECTS=''
FD2INLINE=''
GCCHEADERS=''
GREP=''
INSTALL_DATA=''
INSTALL_PROGRAM=''
INSTALL_SCRIPT=''
LDFLAGS=''
LIBOBJS=''
LIBRARY='libfs-capsimage.dylib'
LIBS=''
LIB_CFLAGS=''
LIB_LDFLAGS='-shared -arch i386 -arch x86_64'
LIB_LIBS=''
LTLIBOBJS=''
OBJEXT=''
PACKAGE='fs-capsimage'
PACKAGE_BUGREPORT=''
PACKAGE_NAME=''
PACKAGE_STRING=''
PACKAGE_TARNAME=''
PACKAGE_URL=''
PACKAGE_VERSION=''
PATH_SEPARATOR=':'
PICFLAGS='-fPIC'
SFD=''
SHELL='/bin/sh'
STDHEADERS=''
TAR=''
ac_ct_CC='gcc'
ac_ct_CXX=''
bindir='${exec_prefix}/bin'
build='powerpc-apple-darwin9.8.0'
build_alias=''
build_cpu='powerpc'
build_os='darwin9.8.0'
build_vendor='apple'
datadir='${datarootdir}'
datarootdir='${prefix}/share'
docdir='${datarootdir}/doc/${PACKAGE}'
dvidir='${docdir}'
exec_prefix='NONE'
host='powerpc-apple-darwin9.8.0'
host_alias=''
host_cpu='powerpc'
host_os='darwin9.8.0'
host_vendor='apple'
htmldir='${docdir}'
includedir='${prefix}/include'
infodir='${datarootdir}/info'
libdir='${exec_prefix}/lib'
libexecdir='${exec_prefix}/libexec'
localedir='${datarootdir}/locale'
localstatedir='${prefix}/var'
mandir='${datarootdir}/man'
oldincludedir='/usr/include'
pdfdir='${docdir}'
prefix='NONE'
program_transform_name='s,x,x,'
psdir='${docdir}'
sbindir='${exec_prefix}/sbin'
sharedstatedir='${prefix}/com'
sysconfdir='${prefix}/etc'
target_alias=''

## ----------- ##
## confdefs.h. ##
## ----------- ##

/* confdefs.h */
#define PACKAGE_NAME ""
#define PACKAGE_TARNAME ""
#define PACKAGE_VERSION ""
#define PACKAGE_STRING ""
#define PACKAGE_BUGREPORT ""
#define PACKAGE_URL ""

configure: exit 1
Any suggestions? Thanks in advance
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE for G4 ppc OSX 10.5.8 elowan support.FS-UAE 35 10 November 2014 19:22
OSX (PPC) build and CD32 audio tracks snakecoils support.FS-UAE 9 28 March 2014 00:04
[Solved] FS-UAE 2.1.10 build fails on OSX PPC mr_a500 support.FS-UAE 6 12 April 2013 18:40
Question about FS-UAE on OSX ianwuk support.FS-UAE 2 14 January 2013 17:42
FS-UAE 2.0: How make an OSX PPC build? [Solved] snakecoils support.FS-UAE 8 04 November 2012 17:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:51.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10462 seconds with 16 queries