English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2021, 18:32   #61
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,264
>if your goal is to swap files and put them in the morphos system

Yes, I just need to be able to move files into and out of the emulated MOS environment.

>you can use for example "googledrive" and directly download the files you prepare.

I only have limited bandwidth so uploading and downloading everything would not be at all practical.

>Or an easy way is to use winuae and mount the .img file and move everything you need into it and then mount your .img again with qemu

I tried this without success; WinUAE does not seem to be compatible with the format of the IMG file (says there are too many cylinders).
Minuous is offline  
Old 21 May 2021, 19:23   #62
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,168
@Minuous
if you use linux for example:
this can be a good method
create an .iso with your 4gigabyte data

qemu-system-ppc -machine mac99, via = pmu -rtc base = localtime -m 2048 -device ati-vga, guest_hwcursor = true -boot d -prom-env 'boot-device = hd:, \ boot.img' - bios /home/white/Downloads/openbios-qemu.elf -vga none -serial stdio -device ide-hd, drive = hd-drive, bus = ide.0 -drive file = '/ home / white / Downloaded / morphos. img ', if = none, id = hd-drive, format = raw -net nic, model = rtl8139 -net user -cdrom /home/white/Downloads/your-iso.iso <--- YOU ISO

you should find your .iso on the morphos desktop and then be able to move your data within the morphos system

it also works for windows I guess but I can't recommend the exact command line for windows
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cd - Copia.png
Views:	37
Size:	694.0 KB
ID:	72026  

Last edited by White; 21 May 2021 at 19:37.
White is offline  
Old 21 May 2021, 19:24   #63
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
to move entire archives inside morphos for example a usb stick or an external usb hd with the demo-scenes which filesystem is supported fat32?
Do you mean that you would like to backup files and directories into a USB stick/HD without packing them into an archive (lha, tar...)? If a USB stick/HD is in FAT32 and you copy Amiga/MorphOS files into it, you lose Amiga specific file attributes and comments, which isn't nice. But of course if files you copy aren't using any special attributes, then it might do too... but if you want to be sure everything will stay as they are on the HD, then you should think how to proceed.

There are several solutions to this. If you want to keep the stick in the FAT format, you can create an image file on it, and mount the image when copying files into it. You can even encrypt it for security with the TrueCrypt based Kryptos application which comes with MorphOS. Instructions how to do it can be found there. If you don't want to encrypt it, making a simple image file and mounting it with FileImageCtrl will work too.

Another option is just to format the USB stick to some other filesystem. You can change partition layout to RDB with the HDConfig tool, and then just format the partition(s) like regular HDs to SFS, for example. I've been using this option myself for backupping... I have external USB HD in SFS and also some sticks. Remember the filesystem limits when creating partitions, but you can of course create several paritions to a USB device too (I have 2 x 128GB partitions on my 250GB USB HD). Here's a tutorial how to prepare a CF card for classic Amiga in MorphOS... you can take some advice from there, but if you're formatting USB stick to MorphOS only use, you can skip the custom filesystem identifiers and just use the predefined filesystems.

Third option that comes in my mind now is that if you have MorphOS SDK installed, you could use the Tar command from it to archive files into single file without compressing them (it's faster). The MorphOS version of Tar preserves Amiga/MorphOS attributes if you use the --xattrs option. This would be much faster than LHA'ing them.
jPV is offline  
Old 21 May 2021, 19:41   #64
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,168
@jPV
Thanks once again for all the advice :-)
Now I prepare the whole system
I have been wanting a modern system together with amiga for years :-)
White is offline  
Old 21 May 2021, 20:44   #65
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,264
@White:

Yes, making ISOs is a possibility for importing data into the guest, however I also need a way to export data back out again.

@jPV:

I tried a USB stick but that does not work, it is not seen by MOS/QEMU.
Minuous is offline  
Old 22 May 2021, 01:46   #66
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,603
Minuous create a second HardFile and share it with WinUAE !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
I tried this without success; WinUAE does not seem to be compatible with the format of the IMG file (says there are too many cylinders).
From MOS you have to create the harddisk so that it is supported by WinUAE, if you want I can give you my empty 2GB hardfile.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Share HD.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	125.0 KB
ID:	72031   Click image for larger version

Name:	ShareHD.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	86.2 KB
ID:	72032  

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 May 2021 at 02:09.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 22 May 2021, 10:07   #67
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,264
@AMIGASYSTEM:

OK, please attach it compressed ;-) and I will try that.
Minuous is offline  
Old 22 May 2021, 12:04   #68
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,603
Attach link Empty HardFile 2GB SFS "non bootable", if you want can be activated bootloader by HDToolBox.

HardFile is compatible with OS3, OS4 or AROS 68k that uses SFS filesystem

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qaH...ew?usp=sharing

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 May 2021 at 14:43.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 22 May 2021, 13:58   #69
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,264
Thanks. Empty hardfile is 378Mb? I will have to grab it in a few weeks when I have more transfer capacity, hopefully it will still be there.
Minuous is offline  
Old 22 May 2021, 14:48   #70
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,603
Yes the size is 378Mb because the Hardfile was created by MOS on Qemu and inside there was my data that I deleted.

The download will be available until you download
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 03 June 2021, 03:54   #71
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,264
@AMIGASYSTEM:

OK, I've downloaded it now. Thanks.
Minuous is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE QEMU PPC Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 555 24 April 2020 09:05
QEMU Released AMIGASYSTEM News 12 17 July 2018 00:52
MorphOS under Emulation? Charlie Retrogaming General Discussion 11 02 February 2010 18:09
E-UAE (MorphOS) and CD32 joypad emulation Solo Kazuki support.OtherUAE 0 10 April 2007 00:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08446 seconds with 15 queries