English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 August 2017, 19:22   #1
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 351
Blizzard 1230-IV 128mb instability

Hi,

I just recently got back to my A1200 (200w AT PSU)after a long period of absence. I wanted to update the memory to 128mb (why not...) but I'm facing lots of instability.
It looks like a piece on the Blizzard is causing trouble when the card gets warm. The instabilities are severe, causing crashes all over the place...

I tried several modules:
16mb 60ns (doublesided): fully stable in 70ns setting. In 60ns gets unstable after a while when the CPU reaches around 50c. Memory testing programs don't show a problem, even in warmed up state.

128mb 60ns (doubesided): gets unstable after warmup. Memory tests do not reveal a problem, though.

128mb 50ns (doublesided): gets unstable after warmup. After warmup, memory tests show a few addresses (they are pretty consistent) that have values which differ in bit 3. These failures are revealed by 'MemCheck' ADR test where the test writes the memory address as value.
So for instance, address 0x7c0c9108 would get the value '0x7c0c9108' assigned, but when reading it back, the value '0x7c0c910c' is returned. A few memory addresses might exhibit such behavior, 0x7c0c9108 being the one that shows up consistently .

64mb 60ns (singlesided): fully stable under all conditions.

So, it looks like something on the accelerator board is causing these issues - and I'm not convinced its the memory modules that are at fault... particularly as the the problems arise only after warmup and not immediately after startup.

Does anyone have an insight on what to lookout for on the board? There are no bad solder joints that can be seen by the naked eye. Is there anything different in the addressing hardware between the single sided and double sided modules?
Schematics would help tremendously :-)


thanks!
pipper is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 22:44   #2
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 365
IIRC, the Blizzards are just stable with 5v simms. 3.3v works but with problems.
Estrayk is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 07:54   #3
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 49
Posts: 4,536
Double sided modules, huh ? Normally they don't fit well in a B1230. I had one and it randomly failed because of this (too thick). When putting a simm inside you should hear some click when it's in place ; if you don't then you're in trouble.

In addition some may have problems with 70ns and not with 60ns or vice versa ; 50ns boards may work or not. There it's just timing issues.
meynaf is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 17:36   #4
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 351
How would I differentiate 3.3V from 5V modules?

The modules all physically fit. The Blizzard can take double sided modules just fine. What counts is that they are no taller than 1".
pipper is offline  
Old 30 August 2017, 00:13   #5
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,085
net connector 150 pin
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 30 August 2017, 20:30   #6
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 351
I cleaned the trapdoor slot and the Blizzard's trapdoor connector beforehand. The fastmem on the Blizzard should have (almost) nothing to do with the expansion slot, except for power supply.
pipper is offline  
Old 02 September 2017, 01:36   #7
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 351
I think, Estrayk hit the nail on the head. The module was sold to me as 'for Blizzard 1230, 1240, 1260'. But when I look up the chips' specs on the module, they show up as 3.3v.
They get hot pretty quickly and problems arise, once they're hot.
pipper is offline  
Old 11 September 2017, 08:52   #8
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 351
I got a 128mb 5V replacement module. The chips on the module don't get hot anymore and memory testers don't show any problem. Yet, with 128mb the Blizzard quickly gets unstable, with wild crashes all over the place. With 64mb it runs rock solid.
I'm afraid it has something to do with addressing single-sided vs double sided modules.
I haven't figured out yet what the particular difference is between 64mb modules and 128mb modules. Is it a certain address line that is working differently? Is it any of the RAS or CAS signals that may not be used with the 64mb module but is causing trouble at 128mb?
pipper is offline  
Old 11 September 2017, 17:54   #9
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 45
Posts: 9,379
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
check also that you don't have any problem with your OS and programs.
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/S Blizzard 1230 MKIV + SCSI Kit + Cable + 128mb fitzsteve MarketPlace 5 31 August 2010 10:43
For Sale: Blizzard 1230 Mk IV (128mb + 32mb) MMU/FPU Wasagi MarketPlace 5 18 August 2010 20:57
WANTED: 128mb simm for blizzard 1230 mk IV to fit in desktop Wasagi MarketPlace 5 11 August 2010 17:09
128MB ram in Blizzard 1230-IV BIGMODULE? BarrySWE support.Hardware 4 21 April 2006 18:55
Blizzard 1230/4 with 128MB on Ebay Effy MarketPlace 5 04 August 2005 10:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07241 seconds with 15 queries