English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2009, 10:35   #1
JuvUK
Registered User
JuvUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cheltenham/UK
Age: 50
Posts: 312
Wing Commander levels?

hi all
1st off if this is the wrong place to post this please feel free to shift it to where it should be

2nd, I heard a rumour that there are people out there that could possibly convert the wing commander extra missions from the PC version to a Miggy version, is this true? can it be done? Wing Commander was and is still my fav game ever, and I would kill, mame or even pay to get some new levels for the miggy version, any ideas anyone?

Cheers, JuvUK
JuvUK is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 12:26   #2
mk1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 403
Well, I've certainly never heard of this, but being one of my all time favourites as well I'd be more than happy if someone did it.

I suppose they'd only work with the ECS version as you have the Secret Missions option there and it's missing from the CD32 version. Of course I'd love to see them in full 256 colour!
mk1 is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 17:34   #3
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 1,100
man I already asked for this numerous times with no luck as Wing Commander is awesome on my 1200...wish we could get some extra missions one day too
klx300r is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 00:26   #4
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Second this!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 02:09   #5
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
I'd love the extra missions!
Akira is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 04:41   #6
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I'd love the extra missions!
I'm still trying to play the original

I downloaded that fix which allows the CD32 version to be played on a regular 1200 with some fast-ram, now I just need to find the CD32 version to go with it

Last edited by NovaCoder; 11 March 2009 at 07:40.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 09:44   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
@NovaCoder
Maybe Magix' FTP is worth a visit then
TCD is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 13:16   #8
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,973
WingCommanderCD32 is a realy nice game!

Running from HD sometimes all the CD32 buttons are detected sometimes not any ideas why?
Something similar happens with Syndicate cd32.




Edit:WCPatch Pad -CD32 Pad
WCPatch ? - all options including a trainer

Last edited by Retro1234; 11 March 2009 at 22:24.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 18:48   #9
girv
Mostly Harmless

girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,011
Long, long time ago I had some emails with the author of Wing Commander. He promised to send me the source to the extra levels so they could be converted to Amiga ... never happened.
girv is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 20:52   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 9,768
I have been thinking of resourcing it, although I am a little rusty with 68k asm, but hey, something to read on the bus methinks!

I need a copy of the PC version of the secret missions too, technically if the pricple loader is there, it shouldn't take much, after all the PC was the first version, it would be good to see if we can put it on an amiga disk to playwith...

worse case scenario, just resource the PC version hows everones x86 asm?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 21:10   #11
mk1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
I need a copy of the PC version of the secret missions too, technically if the pricple loader is there, it shouldn't take much, after all the PC was the first version, it would be good to see if we can put it on an amiga disk to playwith...
I think I have it. Do you prefer the Kilrathi Saga version of the plain old Secret Missions? The first one is mixed with the original game data and Secret Missions 2 in the same folder.
mk1 is offline  
Old 12 March 2009, 12:03   #12
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by girv View Post
Long, long time ago I had some emails with the author of Wing Commander. He promised to send me the source to the extra levels so they could be converted to Amiga ... never happened.

Cool.

John, were the extra missions for Star Crusader (mentioned in the original manual) ever released do you know? In the original game there was a sector of space reserved for the forthcoming mission disk.


...just asking.
Angus is offline  
Old 12 March 2009, 12:05   #13
girv
Mostly Harmless

girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,011
Re: Star Crusader, not that I've heard of, unfortunately.
girv is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 00:48   #14
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,378
I have these CD images for the FM Towns version. Probably of no use in this project though...

... Wing Commander
... Wing Commander: The Secret Missions & The Secret Missions 2: Crusade
... Wing Commander II: Vengeance of the Kilrathi - Special Operations 1 & Special Operations 2
... Wing Commander: Armada
DamienD is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 10:48   #15
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by girv View Post
Re: Star Crusader, not that I've heard of, unfortunately.
Darn... the only Star Crusader "extra" I got any solid information about was a floppy upgrade that Toakes thought he had, but unfortunately he could never find it.
Angus is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 15:02   #16
Yoto
1 Potato to SpamĀ“em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 45
Posts: 572
Extra missions for WC!!! That would be soooo nice!
Yoto is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 15:10   #17
JuvUK
Registered User
JuvUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cheltenham/UK
Age: 50
Posts: 312
well all my hope are now with the very busy Zetr0 as he seems to be the only guy that has said it could be possible.......
so, c'mon Zeets you can do it!!

JuvUK
JuvUK is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 18:14   #18
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by mk1 View Post
I think I have it. Do you prefer the Kilrathi Saga version of the plain old Secret Missions? The first one is mixed with the original game data and Secret Missions 2 in the same folder.
Yes please zipit up for me (i'l take two)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I have these CD images for the FM Towns version. Probably of no use in this project though...

... Wing Commander
... Wing Commander: The Secret Missions & The Secret Missions 2: Crusade
... Wing Commander II: Vengeance of the Kilrathi - Special Operations 1 & Special Operations 2
... Wing Commander: Armada
I would love a directorial and file break down of those CD's if you could, can they be read by a PC ? if so make me a couple of files on each cd's directory and file structure.

not to sure of the FM towns, but these run directly from the CDROM theres no hard drive or installation is there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuvUK View Post
well all my hope are now with the very busy Zetr0 as he seems to be the only guy that has said it could be possible.......
so, c'mon Zeets you can do it!!

JuvUK
I can spare a day looking at it, I will make a wiki on it this weekend, I could use a fellow organiser

Also some strong members to help with the project

I am pretty sure that it can be done, if they put in place the loader for the Secret missions, then all thats needed it finding the format of that loader and surplanting the right files
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 18:36   #19
mk1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Yes please zipit up for me (i'l take two)
In my folder, on Magix ftp..
mk1 is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 18:44   #20
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 9,768
@mk1

sweet, please PM me some deets for access
Zetr0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wing commander spyros_s Games images which need to be WHDified 16 05 February 2014 21:39
Wing Commander AGA Jimbo request.Old Rare Games 22 12 July 2012 15:28
Let's talk about Wing Commander b0lt-thrower Retrogaming General Discussion 2 01 July 2010 06:50
Wing Commander CD32 cebulba request.Old Rare Games 7 13 August 2004 12:04
Wing Commander HD goodies? Akira support.Games 4 23 July 2001 17:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10753 seconds with 14 queries