English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 04 April 2019, 22:00   #1
ItsTheSmell

aca500plus 4gb cf card 3.1 install

I built a cf card for my mate to run in his a500 with aca500plus accelerator board. It worked initially but now when he boots he gets a green screen with lots of hex numbers and extxxx number. Can anyone explain whats happening here? I set winuae up as if it was the aca500plus. So is the cf card failing?
Old 05 April 2019, 20:38   #2
ItsTheSmell

I've tested the cf card in WinUAE and it boots so it must be something to do with the ACA500+. If you don't use it for a period does the saved settings lose its memory? He's getting E0 on the DisMo but I can't find any info on the error code meanings.
Old 06 April 2019, 03:24   #3
Nightshft

Im not a pro with the ACA500+. Just got it for a few weeks as well, but I'll try to .

The green screen with hex numbers is AFAIK the same as a guru but with more information.

AFAIK if you configure something AND save to nvram then the card should "remember" this settings. Further I guess that modern NVRam should keep its settings for a very long time (years+).

But this shouldn't be your problem because if you enter the menu you can just configure as you like. Can you enter the menu? If yes, just test a lot of different configs.

Also check connector issues and maybe power off and reseat the card. I had a small issue with this myself (7 Mhz -> freeze).
Sometimes also it helps to clean the contacts of the expansion port with an eraser to get better electrical contact.

Edit: PS: I tried the ACA500+ with 3 or more CF-cards to boot from. They worked fine. So IMHO the ACA500+ is NOT picky to what card/OS it boots from.
Old 06 April 2019, 05:33   #4
alpine9000

Is there a reason you didn't use the built in ACA500plus Workbench Installer ? It's a great way to do an install for the ACA500plus and ensures everything is patched and set up correctly.