English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 December 2022, 07:41   #21
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,289
Thanks for testing! I think this puts the idea to bed that SMBv2 has high overhead
BSzili is offline  
Old 31 December 2022, 09:20   #22
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,337
Thanks for this. I have been using the older Amiga 3.x SMBFS for many years.
alexh is offline  
Old 31 December 2022, 09:24   #23
FlynnTheAvatar
Registered User
 
FlynnTheAvatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 46
Thank you for porting smb2fs handler to AmigaOS 3.x.

I tried it yesterday on my A500 with ACA500+, X-Surf 500 and an ACA1221lc with Amiga OS 3.2.1. Worked flawlessly for the basic stuff (copying stuff to and from my NAS).
FlynnTheAvatar is offline  
Old 31 December 2022, 12:04   #24
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,289
That's great to hear. Currently I'm preparing a new release for filesysbox.library that includes an installer and both 68k and 020 versions. It won't likely change much until I manage to implement ACTION_DIE properly.
BSzili is offline  
Old 31 December 2022, 16:18   #25
patrik
Registered User
 
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 43
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
Thanks for testing! I think this puts the idea to bed that SMBv2 has high overhead
Ran the same test with smbfs 1.74 from aminet to see how they differ:
A3000-X-Surf-100-smbfs.txt

The biggest difference seems to be the fixed cost for each operation which appears to be much lower in smbfs.

smb2-handler:
Code:
Testing directory manipulation speed.
File Create:           13 files/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
File Open:             14 files/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
Directory Scan:       271 files/sec  |  CPU Available: 1%
File Delete:           14 files/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%

Seek/Read:             31 seeks/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%

Testing with a 512 byte, MEMF_FAST, LONG-aligned buffer.
Create file:        32750 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
Write to file:      33664 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
Read from file:     29568 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
smbfs:
Code:
Testing directory manipulation speed.
File Create:           51 files/sec  |  CPU Available: 1%
File Open:            151 files/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
Directory Scan:       293 files/sec  |  CPU Available: 20%
File Delete:           90 files/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%

Seek/Read:            105 seeks/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%

Testing with a 512 byte, MEMF_FAST, LONG-aligned buffer.
Create file:       105280 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 2%
Write to file:     109312 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
Read from file:    113280 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
Also, this would also be indicated by smbfs reaching maximum throughput at smaller reads.

smb2-handler:
Code:
Testing with a 32768 byte, MEMF_FAST, LONG-aligned buffer.
Create file:       288651 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
Write to file:     332546 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
Read from file:    499712 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
smbfs:
Code:
Testing with a 32768 byte, MEMF_FAST, LONG-aligned buffer.
Create file:       105966 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 42%
Write to file:     111890 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 41%
Read from file:    626688 bytes/sec  |  CPU Available: 0%
One thing to note here too is that smbfs gets a "CPU Available: " above zero for some tests, for example create and write 32kB, while it should really get 0% and much higher result - the cpu time is wasted waiting on something in those cases.

If compared to smb2-handler, it always has 0% "CPU Available", which makes complete sense in this scenario, while smbfs is up to some schenanigans causing some delays somewhere where the CPU can idle.

What I mean with that is that on this machine, the CPU is the bottleneck, so it should never be waiting in a test like this as:
- No DMA involved
- The network card at 100Mbit is way faster than what the CPU can feed data through the TCP/IP stack (~670kByte/s down, ~400kByte/s up)
- The server should reasonably not cause any waiting

This is usually the case on the Amiga, unless you have a 060 and a slow network interface so that becomes the bottleneck. Also important to consider is that the more CPU the application uses for something, the less CPU will be available for the TCP/IP-stack and sana2-driver to handle the data, so in general any CPU saved in the application results in a higher effective transfer speed.

So a lot of babbling. What I want to say is that the maximum throughput achieved at large reads/writes can likely not be improved much in smb2-handler, but the speed of small operations like open file and small buffer reads can probably be improved substantially if the fixed CPU cost for each operation can be lowered.

Last edited by patrik; 01 January 2023 at 12:36. Reason: down -> up
patrik is offline  
Old 01 January 2023, 10:01   #26
steenl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Herlev/Denmark
Posts: 20
@BSzili Great work! Works like a charm on my A4K with PCI ethernet and is now my preferred way to connect to my NAS.

Thank you!
steenl is offline  
Old 01 January 2023, 19:01   #27
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,289
Thanks everyone, props go to salass00 for creating the handler! Let me know if you find any issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
So a lot of babbling. What I want to say is that the maximum throughput achieved at large reads/writes can likely not be improved much in smb2-handler, but the speed of small operations like open file and small buffer reads can probably be improved substantially if the fixed CPU cost for each operation can be lowered.
It could probably be improved by getting rid of some dynamic memory allocation. I'll test this with one of the functions to see if it makes any difference.
BSzili is offline  
Old 01 January 2023, 21:57   #28
DisasterIncarna
Registered User
 
DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 1,172
great work, i've been using my asustor nas as a middleman for all my smb shares, it connects to any linux/windows shares as well as providing its own as that nas lets me use/support SMB1, wit this it looks like i wont need to enable SMB1 support as the amiga side was the only reason i had to do this.

DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 01 January 2023, 22:28   #29
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid
 
mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 45
Posts: 1,978
@BSzili
Great work! It works amazingly on my Vampire V4SA. Awesome stuff \o/
mfilos is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 00:35   #30
patrik
Registered User
 
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 43
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
It could probably be improved by getting rid of some dynamic memory allocation. I'll test this with one of the functions to see if it makes any difference.
Exciting
patrik is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 07:20   #31
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,289
False alarm. I overestimated how much impact dynamic memory allocation has in proportion to the rest.
BSzili is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 11:46   #32
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 468
@BSzili

is it possible, to implement a option for a volume name?

Actually I get "fritz.box-fritz.nas" as volume name, but cooler would be just "Fritzbox"...
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 14:47   #33
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid
 
mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 45
Posts: 1,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigafreak68k View Post
@BSzili

is it possible, to implement a option for a volume name?

Actually I get "fritz.box-fritz.nas" as volume name, but cooler would be just "Fritzbox"...
That would be nice indeed
I shared a folder on my Win11 PC named shared and I get a:
<ip address>-shared drawer in my Workbench (I put a Disk.info as well).
mfilos is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 15:01   #34
FlynnTheAvatar
Registered User
 
FlynnTheAvatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
That would be nice indeed
I shared a folder on my Win11 PC named shared and I get a:
<ip address>-shared drawer in my Workbench (I put a Disk.info as well).
Yes, there is a "VOLUME" option. Just add it with the desired volume name after the URL.
FlynnTheAvatar is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 16:08   #35
yelworC
Registered User
 
yelworC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 69
I tried this today and it simply works

Thank you for porting this to our good old classic OS3
yelworC is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 16:23   #36
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 468
Another thing:

If I would copy files with special characters (like locales for french and spain), then I get AmigaDOS error 210. With SMBFS I remember I could cooy these files. Are there a option to get this fixed?
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 17:46   #37
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion
 
DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 578
Installed on my A1200 and used it for a few days now. Wrote a few scripts for mount&dismount and added to the DOpus Magellan menu.

Having troubles with special characters in password and filenames it seems. So looking forward for a new version for testing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cg_003.png
Views:	160
Size:	77.6 KB
ID:	77626  
DJBase is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 17:54   #38
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 468
As I said
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 17:54   #39
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigafreak68k View Post
Another thing:

If I would copy files with special characters (like locales for french and spain), then I get AmigaDOS error 210. With SMBFS I remember I could cooy these files. Are there a option to get this fixed?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJBase View Post
Installed on my A1200 and used it for a few days now. Wrote a few scripts for mount&dismount and added to the DOpus Magellan menu.

Having troubles with special characters in password and filenames it seems. So looking forward for a new version for testing.
I haven't tested any files or passwords with international characters yet. If possible, could you give me any examples of file names you had problems with?
BSzili is offline  
Old 02 January 2023, 17:57   #40
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Hi all!

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigafreak68k View Post
Another thing:

If I would copy files with special characters (like locales for french and spain), then I get AmigaDOS error 210. With SMBFS I remember I could cooy these files. Are there a option to get this fixed?
I had this question too: SMBFS handled ASCII 256 and I had contributed some code to handle UTF-8 characters (very crude, but enough to let me play MP3 with UTF-8 names via my network).

Can SMBFS2 handle such files?

Cheers!
tygre is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using PotGo on Mouse Port (Port 0)? Daedalus Coders. System 14 02 March 2016 20:44
Help please - Making Frankenstein os3.0 with os3.5/9 bits Abdabs support.Other 3 27 February 2015 21:51
Serial port, parallel port, and pipe device mount errors Samurai_Crow support.FS-UAE 4 13 March 2014 00:04
ECS. Make OS3.1 look like OS3.9 without loosing speed. lukassid support.Apps 21 19 February 2013 00:13
Sending debug output to the serial port OS3.x NovaCoder Coders. C/C++ 0 18 February 2013 06:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:54.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10304 seconds with 14 queries