English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2021, 01:43   #1
cloverskull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 322
Compiling FS-UAE for Apple Silicon

Hi Frode,

I'm trying to compile FS-UAE following the instructions here. My architecture is Apple Silicon.

After installing the dependencies with brew, I received errors because the SDL2 libs are in a different place. What I had to do to circumvent this was do the following for the `./configure` portion:

Code:
SDL2_CFLAGS=/opt/homebrew/include/SDL2 SDL2_LIBS=/opt/homebrew/lib ./configure
This got me quite a bit farther along but then it failed with an error I can't work past:

Code:
ld: can't map file, errno=22 file '/opt/homebrew/include/SDL2' for architecture arm64
clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
make: *** [gen/genlinetoscr] Error 1
Any thoughts where to go from here?

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 08 March 2021 at 08:48. Reason: Changed title
cloverskull is offline  
Old 08 March 2021, 08:46   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
/opt/homebrew/include/SDL2
is not a valid compiler argument (and neither is
/opt/homebrew/lib
a valid link argument). If you want do it this way, you need to use
SDL2_CFLAGS="-I/opt/homebrew/include/SDL2"
(etc).

However, this is not the best way to do that. Instead, you can probably do
Code:
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/opt/homebrew/lib/pkgconfig
before running configure, so that the `pkg-config` program finds your SDL2 installation and spits out the correct compiler and linker option for you.

(Perhaps also try referring to the Homebrew docs for other tips about how to use Homebrew libraries when compiling other software? I'm assuming that exists...)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 08 March 2021, 09:26   #3
cloverskull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 322
There's something wonky with the Apple Silicon implementation of brew and clearly there need to be some kinks worked out. Eventually I did get it to build. I also did a brief test to see if it would launch and that was successful. I didn't do any real end to end tests or anything

I'm currently in the process of trying to get fs-uae-launcher to build - it's worth mentioning I can't get pyqt5 to install via pip3 and had to use brew to install it.

Also, in spite of having installed pillow, I had to pip3 install image to get fs-uae-launcher to compile.

Finally, I'm having problems launching fs-uae from fs-uae-launcher. I'm in ~/Development, and I have ~/Development/fs-uae/ as well as ~/Development/fs-uae-launcher/. When I'm in ~/Development and launch fs-uae-launcher by typing `fs-uae-launcher/fs-uae-launcher` it does launch, but then when I click "Start" to launch an instance of fs-uae, I get the following error:

Task: RunnerTask
Error: Exception
Message: Could not install file 891E9A54.rom:
Did not find file with SHA-1 checksum 891e9a547772fe0c6c19b610baf8bc4ea7fcb785

The log file may contain more details.

I haven't had much of a chance to delve into log files, it's after midnight here and I need to be up in less than eight hours. But if you have any pointers, let me know
cloverskull is offline  
Old 08 March 2021, 20:16   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
Also, in spite of having installed pillow, I had to pip3 install image to get fs-uae-launcher to compile.
https://pypi.org/project/image/ seems to be something else. I assume this just had the side-effect of installing pillow as a dependency...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
Task: RunnerTask
Error: Exception
Message: Could not install file 891E9A54.rom:
Did not find file with SHA-1 checksum 891e9a547772fe0c6c19b610baf8bc4ea7fcb785

The log file may contain more details.

I haven't had much of a chance to delve into log files, it's after midnight here and I need to be up in less than eight hours. But if you have any pointers, let me know
This is simply a message about the default kickstart file not being found. FS-UAE itself automatically chooses the internal kickstart replacement in this case. Right now, the Launcher requires the kickstart, and the error message is simply not very friendly at the moment
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 08 March 2021, 20:50   #5
Eisengrim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: St. Augustine
Posts: 4
I managed to compile FS-UAE with the SDL workarounds, but when I compile FS-UAE Launcher I can't get past a "mach-o but wrong architecture" error. My installed Python is 3.8.5 despite installing 3.9.1, maybe that has something to do with it.
Eisengrim is offline  
Old 08 March 2021, 21:50   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eisengrim View Post
My installed Python is 3.8.5 despite installing 3.9.1, maybe that has something to do with it.
That is a very reasonable assumption. You should definitively run that 3.9.1 version that supports Apple silicon...

(You need to uninstall 3.8.5, or manipulate the PATH, or invoke 3.9.1 by absolute path, or something similar to ensure you're running the version you're interested in running...)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 09 March 2021, 20:09   #7
cloverskull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
This is simply a message about the default kickstart file not being found. FS-UAE itself automatically chooses the internal kickstart replacement in this case. Right now, the Launcher requires the kickstart, and the error message is simply not very friendly at the moment
Gotcha.

Where shall I put the kickstart to at least work around this quickly? I haven't had much time to iterate here sadly.

One interesting point is that building the application package will be different; everything now needs to be signed by the publisher so there's no running homebrew applications or independently created applications via app icons unless you change security settings from the Apple equivalent of a BIOS menu :P For better or worse this is now the world we're in so I guess we'll have to figure out how to work with this.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 12 March 2021, 12:10   #8
Jason H
Registered User
 
Jason H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
...Eventually I did get it to build.
Despite installing all dependencies, I failed to build a Universal Binary of FS-UAE myself. Care to share your's? Cheers.
Jason H is offline  
Old 12 March 2021, 17:37   #9
cloverskull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 322
I’m happy to do so Sunday evening (USA California time) as I’m currently on a little vacation and not near my computer

I can share fs-uae as well as fs-uae-launcher, however, I did not get the full app package to build so these will have to be launched from CLI.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 12 March 2021, 19:23   #10
Jason H
Registered User
 
Jason H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 109
Brilliant!
Jason H is offline  
Old 15 March 2021, 16:57   #11
cloverskull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 322
Thanks for waiting - here's a link for ya:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...R8?usp=sharing
cloverskull is offline  
Old 26 March 2021, 23:06   #12
cloverskull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 322
@Jason_H - did you test this out?
cloverskull is offline  
Old 27 March 2021, 18:03   #13
Jason H
Registered User
 
Jason H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
@Jason_H - did you test this out?
Hi - yeh, thanks for the uploads. I managed to run it once, but after that it fails to load for me again.. Not sure what's gone wrong. I was looking to see if it picked up my joystick attached to my Mac, but it didn't.
Jason H is offline  
Old 15 April 2021, 20:37   #14
Jason H
Registered User
 
Jason H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
@Jason_H - did you test this out?
I did not give up on this... I managed to get FS-UAE running in the end and finally able to confirm my USB controller (iBUFFALO Gamepad) working under Mac Silicon!

Thanks again cloversull.
Jason H is offline  
Old 16 April 2021, 17:44   #15
cloverskull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 322
Oh, nice! I haven't touched it in a while. I'll mess with it more this weekend.
cloverskull is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE Joystick Support (Apple Silicon) Jason H support.FS-UAE 10 18 May 2021 22:15
Silicon Dreams Kodoichi request.Old Rare Games 8 12 March 2015 04:27
Silicon Dreams Si-Pie request.Old Rare Games 3 11 September 2008 00:36
Silicon Dreams anywhere? rockersuke request.Old Rare Games 0 18 February 2007 20:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:44.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09127 seconds with 13 queries