English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 December 2008, 19:20   #1
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 38
Posts: 600
A500 (1MB) Baud Rate

Is there someone who transfers files PC to Amiga over 19200 baud rates? Transfer always stops at some point if I select 28800. Buffer size is in maximum value on Workbench 1.3 that I use during transfer.

Transfers takes about 8 mins and I've been pleased to this. Now I try to speed up things. All the tips are welcome.

Software used:

ADF Sender Terminal
Transdisk
Old Fool is offline  
Old 02 December 2008, 19:37   #2
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
there is a package called Hombre ( http://wiki.abime.net/transfer:hombre )
this one has transwarp which will use 115200 baud. i havnt tested my self, not sure how it works
in the download link (buttom of the wiki-page) you find a DOS and an Amiga diskimage ( DOS_Hombre_v0.5_24-08-07.zip / Hombre_v0.5_24-08-07.zip ).
I hope the wiki explains, how to use it. ( maybe the docs archive helps: Docs_v0.5_24-08-07.zip )

Last edited by hit; 02 December 2008 at 19:43.
hit is offline  
Old 02 December 2008, 19:50   #3
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
I remember that i couldn't go beyond 19200 with workbench 1.3 on my tests many years ago. Maybe with the soft suggested by hit you can have more luck.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 02 December 2008, 20:00   #4
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 55
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I use 38400 kb/s on mine A500-68000, A600 and other 68k-unaccelerated systems using the baud bandit package from Aminet.

The "plus" is the package don't show the nag-requester on 68000 machines (only in 020 and up).
rkauer is offline  
Old 02 December 2008, 21:50   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
8n1.device, baudbandit.device and other serial.device replacements should be much faster than standard serial.device.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 December 2008, 22:52   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,742
Also use add44k or a similar bitplane reducing tool to save on dma time.
Jope is offline  
Old 03 December 2008, 08:51   #7
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 38
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
I use 38400 kb/s on mine A500-68000, A600 and other 68k-unaccelerated systems using the baud bandit package from Aminet.

The "plus" is the package don't show the nag-requester on 68000 machines (only in 020 and up).
Cool! Could you please upload this device to the zone? I have heard this replacement before. Can this program file simply used by replacing the serial.device on a renamed baud bandit -> serial.device?
Old Fool is offline  
Old 03 December 2008, 10:13   #8
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 666
I've never heard of the version rkauer is talking about but the baud bandit package is on aminet - http://aminet.net/package/comm/misc/baudbandit1.4b - it is also included with Hombre that hit mentioned above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Fool View Post
Can this program file simply used by replacing the serial.device on a renamed baud bandit -> serial.device?
Most applications allow you to choose which device driver to use but if you have one that doesn't then use QuickFix which is included with Baud Bandit. It works by patching OpenDevice() calls to the standard serial.device thereby forcing programs to use Baud Bandit instead.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 03 December 2008, 17:41   #9
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 55
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
I've never heard of the version rkauer is talking about ...[snip]
What version? I only point to the device. On 020 systems and up, a nag requester appears if you don't register the program.

But on 020 and upper systems new8n1.device is miles better.
rkauer is offline  
Old 03 December 2008, 18:21   #10
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 666
I misunderstood what you meant by "The "plus" is the package don't show the nag-requester on 68000 machines", because of the incorrect grammar I had to guess what you were referring to. This is not meant as a general criticism, normally I can understand exactly what you are talking about.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 03 December 2008, 18:23   #11
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 38
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
I've never heard of the version rkauer is talking about but the baud bandit package is on aminet - http://aminet.net/package/comm/misc/baudbandit1.4b - it is also included with Hombre that hit mentioned above.

Most applications allow you to choose which device driver to use but if you have one that doesn't then use QuickFix which is included with Baud Bandit. It works by patching OpenDevice() calls to the standard serial.device thereby forcing programs to use Baud Bandit instead.
Thanks a lot OddbOd!!

If I remeber right some years ago I actually tried this Baud Bandit device just by renaming it serial.device. Well, it didn't work then but now I add that "QuickFix" line for WB's startup-sequence file. Hmm, must see what kind of "not related to transfer" stuff I delete from the WB disk so the new programs fit in to the 3.5" disk!!
Old Fool is offline  
Old 03 December 2008, 21:29   #12
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 55
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Just never rename the devices. Instead, declare the new "handler" of the serial port into the programs who use it.

@OddbOd: no problem, m8. Just remember that english is not my native language.
rkauer is offline  
Old 04 December 2008, 00:12   #13
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 1,551
Oh geez, I remember the days of using BaudBandit.device with a 14.400 Dialup modem on an A500. I had it set to 38400 (I think it was) so the modem could take advantage of Data compression.

Those were the days !!!!!!!!!!!
whiteb is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 w/ 1MB Chip + 4MB Fast Ram = WHDLoad success rate? Kenan support.Hardware 7 08 May 2013 18:14
A500, 512k or 1MB? :/ Geon106 support.Hardware 3 17 February 2011 22:13
FOR SALE: A500 1MB upgrade and A500+ 1MB upgrade clueless MarketPlace 1 17 March 2010 11:21
Wanted: 1Mb expansion for the A500 Plus Merlin MarketPlace 11 19 January 2008 20:05
The basic A500... and 1Mb memory hamster support.WinUAE 9 17 August 2005 00:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10378 seconds with 15 queries