English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2008, 02:36   #1
edccorp
 
Posts: n/a
1.5.2 flickering in full screen with radeon 4870 x2

With Ati Radeon 4870 X2 (Latest Catalyst 8.8) and Winuae 1.5.2 in Windows Vista X64 I'm getting flickering when display mode is seted to full screen or to full screen + vsync, in windowed mode everything is working ok. Before 4870x2 i had 4870 and everything has worked ok. Flickering frequency is about 10Hz.
 
Old 14 September 2008, 12:41   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,098
I can only guess: "driver bug".

You can try leaked betas (someone says they are much better than official 8.8, some says they are crap. I belong to "much better" category, "normal" 4870 here)

key word: "8.53-080820" (those betas that begin with 8.54 are OLDER!)

Hmm.. Perhaps Direct3D filter + fullscreen works better?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 September 2008, 17:56   #3
edccorp
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Toni! D3D works ok, flickering is gone but when i press F12 winuae menu doesn't appear. When F12 is pressed i get windows pointer and after that must go alt+tab to see menu, than clik on winuae in taskbar to get winuae back. Also in filters i can't see option for v/h centering and correct aspect ratio i had to do that manually.
 
Old 19 September 2008, 13:05   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by edccorp View Post
Thanks Toni! D3D works ok, flickering is gone but when i press F12 winuae menu doesn't appear. When F12 is pressed i get windows pointer and after that must go alt+tab to see menu, than clik on winuae in taskbar to get winuae back. Also in filters i can't see option for v/h centering and correct aspect ratio i had to do that manually.
D3D fullscreen + Windows GUI elements simultaneously on screen = problems. Support was completely removed in DX8, it was reintroduced in DX9 but it seems to be quite flaky.. (some older ATI drivers for example had weird smearing effect.. it was ~2 years ago)

Try "full-window" instead of fullscreen, it is good workaround except if you really need to change "real" resolution.
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen flickering when using pcmcia slot viddi support.Hardware 35 23 January 2014 18:12
Flickering Screen on Boot Screens??? fatboy support.Hardware 2 17 August 2013 20:54
Black screen in full screen but not full window Winuae all versions Mixter support.WinUAE 18 30 June 2013 01:45
On the fly full screen <-> full window switching NewDeli request.UAE Wishlist 19 22 May 2010 18:40
b/w flickering screen when using 2MB PCMCIA SRAM card Overdoc support.Hardware 2 27 October 2009 18:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06885 seconds with 15 queries