English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 June 2017, 18:26   #1
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
AsmOne and/or AsmTwo

I recently came across this excellent asm/hardware tutorial series by Photon of Scoopex: [ Show youtube player ]
I found this so inspiring, I decided to have a go at following it along and playing with it.

So first of all, I need an assembler, preferably something similar to what is used in the tutorial. Two candidates come to mind:

1. AsmOne -- v 1.48, as obtained from here: http://aminet.net/dev/asm/ASM-One.lha
I managed to install and run this, and the first example (wait for mouse) even seems to work, but the UI is very unstable/erratic. The results of certain commands (eg assemble) briefly appear on screen and the disappear. I've even got a yellow/recoverable alert when going into/out of the editor.

2. AsmTwo -- v 0.96r, as obtained from here: http://coppershade.org/file/AsmTwo.zip
This comes with 2 files, 1 of which is the readme. The other file (AsmTwo) is not executable, wether I try to launch it from the workbench or from the shell.

Am I doing something wrong here?
I probably should mention I'm running this on an A1200, 68EC030 @ 50 MHz, 16 Mb fast, OS 3.1, ROM 3.X.
TIA for any tips!
guy lateur is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 18:44   #2
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Oh, and btw, regarding the weird UI behaviour of AsmOne: both my workbench screen mode and the AsmOne screen mode are set to Pal - High Res (724 x 282).
guy lateur is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 20:00   #3
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
1. AsmOne -- v 1.48, as obtained from here: http://aminet.net/dev/asm/ASM-One.lha
I managed to install and run this, and the first example (wait for mouse) even seems to work, but the UI is very unstable/erratic. The results of certain commands (eg assemble) briefly appear on screen and the disappear. I've even got a yellow/recoverable alert when going into/out of the editor.
Try ASM-Pro.


Quote:
2. AsmTwo -- v 0.96r, as obtained from here: http://coppershade.org/file/AsmTwo.zip
This comes with 2 files, 1 of which is the readme. The other file (AsmTwo) is not executable, wether I try to launch it from the workbench or from the shell.
The "E" flag is not set, open a shell and type "protect PathToAsmTwo RWED" to set the required flags. Replace "PathToAsmTwo" with the full path of your AsmTwo file.
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 20:19   #4
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
The "E" flag is not set, open a shell and type "protect PathToAsmTwo RWED" to set the required flags. Replace "PathToAsmTwo" with the full path of your AsmTwo file.
Fantastic advice, StingRay, thank you very much, AsmTwo works now!

Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Try ASM-Pro.
Is there any reason to still do that, you think? I mean, now that we've got AsmTwo working?
guy lateur is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 20:23   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
Is there any reason to still do that, you think? I mean, now that we've got AsmTwo working?
If you're happy with AsmTwo then simply use that. It doesn't support 68020+ opcodes though which would be one reason for using AsmPro.
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 20:32   #6
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
If you're happy with AsmTwo then simply use that. It doesn't support 68020+ opcodes though which would be one reason for using AsmPro.
Ok, I see. I'd like to target the (unaccelerated, yet AGA enabled) A1200. Do I need 68020+ opcodes for that?

I might still try out AsmPro, btw, while I'm at it..
guy lateur is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 20:34   #7
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
Do I need 68020+ opcodes for that?
Not necessarily but it sure makes sense to use 68020+ code on a 020 machine, especially table access is much more convenient (add.w d0,d0 move.w (a0,d0.w),d0 vs. move (a0,d0.w*2),d0 f.e.).
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 20:52   #8
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Not necessarily but it sure makes sense to use 68020+ code on a 020 machine, especially table access is much more convenient (add.w d0,d0 move.w (a0,d0.w),d0 vs. move (a0,d0.w*2),d0 f.e.).
Alright, I've installed AsmPro and everything seems to work as expected, so I'll use that. Tbh, though, I have no idea what you mean by those table access examples. But hey, never mind, let's carry on!
guy lateur is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 23:01   #9
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
Tbh, though, I have no idea what you mean by those table access examples.
Then you don't need any 68020+ support in your Assembler yet.
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 23:11   #10
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Then you don't need any 68020+ support in your Assembler yet.
Well hurray for that!

Still going to go with AsmPro, though, for now; you never know, right..
guy lateur is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 20:29   #11
th4t1guy
Registered User
 
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 683
There is also release of Asm-One that is more recent: https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=64628
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 22:27   #12
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
you never know, right..
Once you get the hang of it, you'll surely switch to something better than AsmOne/Two/Pro
Thorham is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 22:37   #13
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
There is also release of Asm-One that is more recent: https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=64628
Ok thanks, I'll check that out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Once you get the hang of it, you'll surely switch to something better than AsmOne/Two/Pro
What do you mean? AsmThree? Come on, just name it!
guy lateur is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 00:04   #14
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
What do you mean? AsmThree? Come on, just name it!
Don't listen to Thorham's Asm-One bashing yet. ASM-One/Pro have several flaws and some quite annoying bugs but they are fine for the beginning as they are very easy to use.

Once you started coding some projects you'll find out yourself if ASM-One/Pro is sufficient for you or not. And in the latter case you'll easily find quite a few alternatives (vasm, BarFly, Devpac etc.).
StingRay is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 00:09   #15
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Once you started coding some projects you'll find out yourself if ASM-One/Pro is sufficient for you or not. And in the latter case you'll easily find quite a few alternatives (vasm, BarFly, Devpac etc.).
Ok thanks, that's a little clearer, albeit still somewhat mysterious..
I even remember Devpac being all the rage at some point, back in the day..
guy lateur is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 06:03   #16
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
What do you mean? AsmThree? Come on, just name it!
Barfly and PhxAss. They're better for bigger projects (more powerful and much faster), but they're not integrated like AsmOne/Two/Pro. However, like StingRay said, AsmOne/Two/Pro are great for learning, and also for quick tests, etc.
Thorham is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 20:41   #17
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Barfly and PhxAss. They're better for bigger projects (more powerful and much faster), but they're not integrated like AsmOne/Two/Pro. However, like StingRay said, AsmOne/Two/Pro are great for learning, and also for quick tests, etc.
Thanks, got it (I think). I assume that by 'not integrated' you mean you have your editor, assembler, linker, debugger and so on, all as separate packages, and you kind of roll them into your development process as desired. Right?

I'll definitely be fine with the easy/integrated environment for quite some time. This is my first proper go at amiga assembler coding (not counting that improper one about 30 years ago), so I'd like to focus on the code and the harware for now. There's plenty more stuff I need to understand first if I ever want to do anything decent with this..
guy lateur is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 23:32   #18
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Don't listen to Thorham's Asm-One bashing yet. ASM-One/Pro have several flaws and some quite annoying bugs but they are fine for the beginning as they are very easy to use.

Once you started coding some projects you'll find out yourself if ASM-One/Pro is sufficient for you or not. And in the latter case you'll easily find quite a few alternatives (vasm, BarFly, Devpac etc.).
Can you please list its flaws and bugs?

Thanks
Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 00:43   #19
guy lateur
Registered User
 
guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamelito View Post
Can you please list its flaws and bugs?
Motion seconded!

Well, you don't have to list them all, but what would your biggest problem/beef with it?

Last edited by guy lateur; 29 June 2017 at 00:49.
guy lateur is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 07:58   #20
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamelito View Post
Can you please list its flaws and bugs?
Too many to list!

Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
Well, you don't have to list them all, but what would your biggest problem/beef with it?
I don't actually have a problem working with AsmPro hence I'm using it for almost all of my projects. Most annoying bug is the crash that can happen randomly when jumping to the top of the source, for some reason ASM-Pro doesn't find the correct line ending and freezes. Nothing that couldn't be solved with the aid of an external debugger though. Other than that the incomplete 68020+ support is sometimes somewhat annoying as well (ASM-One is much better in this regard than ASM-Pro!) and there are lots of other (not so) small problems.

Despite the bugs it's still fun to work with Asm-One and its incarnations as they allow a very fast workflow as everything needed is there, debugger, assembler, editor. Esc/a/j FTW!
StingRay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AsmOne installation lunecat Coders. General 1 19 September 2015 00:05
Linker to use with AsmOne (68000) nandius_c Coders. Asm / Hardware 10 10 December 2014 11:53
Playing around with AsmOne on Winuae.. jimmy2x2x Coders. Asm / Hardware 13 18 November 2014 18:22
AsmOne: Undefined symbol copse Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 02 April 2012 01:41
AsmOne even directive...? pmc Coders. General 30 04 December 2009 09:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:59.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17169 seconds with 14 queries