English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 24 April 2016, 18:34   #1
MangoAmiga

Help please AMIGA CD32 Problem!

Hi
Im new to the Amiga CD32 scene, havent really heard of it until recently after growing somewhat tired of my other consoles i started exploring other avenues, so after reading extensively of a dedicated Amiga games console which played CDs not floppy discs i was overly excited . I previously toyed with the idea of buying another A500 but the space all of the hardware takes up put me off, then i see the CD32 and i thought thats just the ticket, small(ish) decent library (from what ive read) and a port for A1200 if i ever wanted, Excellent!.....

So i bought one recently, i was told it was working but hadnt been switched on for 10+ years. So once i hooked it up to the TV and plugged it in, 1st thing i noticed was a very Dim Green power led. The blank picture shifted on the TV so i knew it was receiving a signal of sorts. CD wouldnt spin/load.
I switched it off checked power supply was firmly in and switched back on - No dimly lit Green power led anymore! no lights at all.

After searching around for answers i found out a usual repair on these is bad caps near the power supply so i set about changing them, they were indeed bulging at the top. And apparently facing the 'wrong way'.

After i soldered some new ones in, switched it on, nothing! no Green power led or anything. Can anyone please advise of the next step i should take as im itching to play some Amiga games ever since i had a A500 20 years ago!

Sam

Old 24 April 2016, 18:41   #2
jotd
This cat is no more

Hi,

Just to say that with CD32load & all unofficial compilations, the CD32 is beginning to become the best integrated and cheapest gaming machine, before the A500 and even the A1200 because of its compact design. So good choice, unless you want to play adventure games where keyboard and/or gamesave matter.