English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2010, 21:29   #1
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 684
CD Rom Drive

Hi All


I have one of those Squirrel SCSI Cables and and the Squirrel software from HiSoft.

What type of CD Rom drive do I need to get hold of ?


Thanks....
Washac is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 21:40   #2
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 53
Posts: 2,695
Don't know where in the world you are but you need something like this one here shown on ebay...
Peter is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 22:04   #3
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
Don't know where in the world you are but you need something like this one here shown on ebay...
Hi Ya

Now added my location

So basicllay any SCSI external Rom Drive ?
Washac is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 22:07   #4
dabone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chattanooga TN, USA
Posts: 108
You need SCSI-I 50 Pin Centronics female for the connector.
Also you need a way to terminate the bus. (External preferred).


http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SCSI-EXTERNAL-...item19b98321b5

Here's a cheap buy it now on ebay.co.uk


later,
dabone
dabone is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 22:32   #5
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 684
Hi

Thanks for the replies so far

So far I have the HiSoft Squirrel software and the cable setup pictured, so now Just need the External SCSI Drive, correct.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image004.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	361.7 KB
ID:	24227  
Washac is offline  
Old 09 February 2010, 02:01   #6
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,107
On my A3000 I'm using Panasonic KXL external drive, nice slim design, you can find it cheap on EBAY. The SCSI connector is HD50, so you need a converter CN50-HD50 (Centronics to High Density). One minus, reads CDRs fine but CDRW not so good.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 09 February 2010, 10:28   #7
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
On my A3000 I'm using Panasonic KXL external drive, nice slim design, you can find it cheap on EBAY. The SCSI connector is HD50, so you need a converter CN50-HD50 (Centronics to High Density). One minus, reads CDRs fine but CDRW not so good.
Hi


Thanks, shame about the CDRW I was going to use the drive to move stuff between my Mac and the Amiga, time for another post me thinks.
Washac is offline  
Old 09 February 2010, 10:57   #8
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 53
Posts: 3,556
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
???? in your picture you have the centronics to 50 pin converter so you just need a scsi drive and probably a power supply and your good to go

nice link dabone that should sort you out Washac
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 09 February 2010, 11:03   #9
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
???? in your picture you have the centronics to 50 pin converter so you just need a scsi drive and probably a power supply and your good to go

nice link dabone that should sort you out Washac
Hi


Just bought it

Nice to have some time off work tinker about all day
Washac is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playing T-Zero without CD-ROM drive Nostromo support.Games 2 15 November 2010 13:45
Can I use this to connect a CD-ROM drive? BlueAchenar support.Hardware 14 11 October 2008 23:32
Help installing a cd-rom drive ragnorok support.Hardware 24 03 May 2008 14:48
id like a cd rom drive plz polybius MarketPlace 2 08 September 2006 02:06
help with cd rom drive on A1200 technium support.Hardware 10 18 June 2006 23:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08754 seconds with 16 queries