English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 August 2021, 08:47   #881
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Where exactly in Aladdin? First game screen? Even when not moving joystick?
When the game loads you first see the Disney screen followed by Please wait loading. Now there are pops and cracks in the sound up to and including the main title screen.

This started around beta 5 I think.
Viceroy is offline  
Old 12 August 2021, 11:20   #882
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viceroy View Post
When the game loads you first see the Disney screen followed by Please wait loading. Now there are pops and cracks in the sound up to and including the main title screen.

This started around beta 5 I think.
Exact beta please. Early betas don't even have any major changes which makes this strange..

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Yes, that's what I thought. For now, I will stick to the 32-bit version. Thanks.

BTW. I wonder if there would be possible to exist two .ini files in the same folder: winuae.ini - for 32-bit version and winuae64.ini - for 64-bit version (in portable mode)
EDIT: first ini check is <name of executable>.ini, so if you have winuae64.exe, winuae64.ini is attempted first.

Only if you add -ini <name of file.ini> to command line.

This won't change because winuae.ini is meant to be shared if same directory has multiple winuae executables. (for example 32-bit and 64-bit).

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 12 August 2021 at 14:38.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 August 2021, 21:10   #883
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Exact beta please. Early betas don't even have any major changes which makes this strange..



EDIT: first ini check is <name of executable>.ini, so if you have winuae64.exe, winuae64.ini is attempted first.

Only if you add -ini <name of file.ini> to command line.

This won't change because winuae.ini is meant to be shared if same directory has multiple winuae executables. (for example 32-bit and 64-bit).
These pops / cracks in some games e.g:

... Alien Storm (1991)(U.S. Gold)[cr VF][t +6 LGD].adf [in cracktro but more so in trainer]
... Aladdin [AGA]

Start from beta 9 and continue to the latest beta. Pretty standard sound settings and using Direct X9.

Do you require logs or?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail_Untitled.png
Views:	102
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	72866  

Last edited by Viceroy; 13 August 2021 at 19:50.
Viceroy is offline  
Old 15 August 2021, 17:14   #884
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viceroy View Post
Start from beta 9 and continue to the latest beta. Pretty standard sound settings and using Direct X9.
It really sounds like power saving issue (or throttling) because only change in b9 is slight adjustment when it waits when there is nothing to do. I'll upload version with this change reverted later to confirm it.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 August 2021, 18:58   #885
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,039
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...uae_4900b30.7z
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...e64_4900b30.7z

Beta 30:

- BEAMCON0 LOLDIS modification was ignored unless display setup needed reinitialization (programmed refresh rate change etc..)
- Programmed VBLANK (BEAMCON0 bit 12) didn't blank lines after VBSTRT in some situations.
- Fixed scanline offset if resolution and BPLCON1 was changed during same scanline.
- Sprite horizontal wrap around support was only partially implemented.
- Horizontal display window (DIWSTRT/DIWSTOP) didn't support some wrap around/start larger than stop conditions correctly.
- Borderblank glitch emulation improved. If HDIW is open before first BPL1DAT access, there is 1.5 lores pixel COLOR00 gap between borderblank and first bitplane pixel.
- Reset didn't clear CIA-A/B B data port/direction.
- Bitplane first refresh slot conflict (strobe signal) was not reported and didn't trigger simulated conflict corrupted graphics.
- Added A590/A2091 v4.4 ROMs to ROM scanner. Probably original release version because ROMs had labels 390388-01 and 390389-01.
- If on the fly (emulation has already been started) Quickstart model or model specific change modifies expansion devices, force internal "Restart"-button press. Without it not all expansion devices initialize correctly.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 August 2021, 19:48   #886
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It really sounds like power saving issue (or throttling) because only change in b9 is slight adjustment when it waits when there is nothing to do. I'll upload version with this change reverted later to confirm it.
Well done Toni ;-)
Viceroy is offline  
Old 15 August 2021, 20:00   #887
alanwall
Registered User
alanwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eugene,Oregon,USA
Posts: 49
beta 29

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
WinUAE 4.4.0 beta series. "4.4.0" is not guaranteed, it could be even 4.9.0 (with 5.0.0 having 68020 updates. I don't know yet)

This thread is only for 4.4.0 beta introduced bugs or features. Always test with 4.3.0 first! Problem exists in 4.3.0 or older: do not post in this thread!

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_4400b1.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_4400b1.7z

I still don't have all features and updates ready but it probably is still good idea to start new beta series because there has been lots of under the hood changes.

Anyway, most importantly is to simply test if there is regressions.

Still to do (for example):
- new UAE AHI driver (soon)
- FPU CPU tester support and validation (partially done).
- Possible 68020 cycle-accurate updates but this probably happens after this version is out. (I found some small details that might help)

Change log in next post (20000 character limit)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...uae_4900b29.7z
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...e64_4900b29.7z

Chipset updates are almost done. Really. At least I hope. If there was some other updates I delayed until chipset update is done, now it is time to remind me

(FloppyDriveBridge thing does not need reminding. It will probably happen.)

Beta 29:

- b28 copper update was wrong. Second attempt. (Hotbleeps etc. This time without breaking others.)
- Sprite fix, sprite DMA does not start if frame's initial SPRxPOS/SPRxCTL fill loads vertical start position that matches current vertical position.
- Added bsdsocket IoctlSocket SIOCIFADDR, SIOCIFFLAGS, SIOCIFBRDADDR, SIOCIFCONF, SIOCIFNETMASK, SIOCIFMETRIC and SIOCIFMTU support. Read-only.
- Fixed uaegfx indirect mode BlitTemplate() harmless one byte buffer out of bounds read.
- VPOSW register access always clears LOL bit (if it was set = NTSC long line). It can't be set to one by writing to VPOSW.
- NTSC long/short line order was wrong after horizontal wrap around.
Toni, I have had 2 crashes with this beta. Both when I had DirOpus4 and AmigaAmp open but neither doing an work. And the Matrix screensaver, part of Amikit, was running. Have attached both dmps

Last edited by alanwall; 15 August 2021 at 20:02. Reason: left out attachment
alanwall is offline  
Old 15 August 2021, 20:56   #888
BlackByte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: German
Posts: 42
Hello Toni, with version 4.90 b30 my 4.1 config still crashes.
Maybe someone has a working config file for OS4.1 that I could test.

Thank you
BlackByte is offline  
Old 15 August 2021, 21:08   #889
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackByte View Post
Hello Toni, with version 4.90 b30 my 4.1 config still crashes.
Maybe someone has a working config file for OS4.1 that I could test.

Thank you
Working fine here!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4.1.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	123.3 KB
ID:	72899  
Attached Files
File Type: uae Amiga_OS4.1_FE_1.uae (12.0 KB, 47 views)
Viceroy is offline  
Old 15 August 2021, 21:51   #890
BlackByte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: German
Posts: 42
Hello, I still crash after the pink picture.
I'm starting to think it's my system.
AMD 5800x
Radeon RX6800XT
32GB 3600MHz Ram

@Viceroy
Thanks for the Config File
BlackByte is offline  
Old 15 August 2021, 22:00   #891
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackByte View Post
Hello, I still crash after the pink picture.
I'm starting to think it's my system.
AMD 5800x
Radeon RX6800XT
32GB 3600MHz Ram

@Viceroy
Thanks for the Config File
No problem ;-)
Viceroy is offline  
Old 16 August 2021, 08:49   #892
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanwall View Post
Toni, I have had 2 crashes with this beta. Both when I had DirOpus4 and AmigaAmp open but neither doing an work. And the Matrix screensaver, part of Amikit, was running. Have attached both dmps
Can you repeat it with latest beta? (and don't rename executable names, please )
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 August 2021, 17:31   #893
alanwall
Registered User
alanwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eugene,Oregon,USA
Posts: 49
Yes, beta 30 also does it. There were 2 prior betas that had the same problem, but ignored
them as no big problem. This is the first time that 2 betas in a row had this show up
alanwall is offline  
Old 16 August 2021, 19:01   #894
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanwall View Post
Yes, beta 30 also does it. There were 2 prior betas that had the same problem, but ignored
them as no big problem. This is the first time that 2 betas in a row had this show up
Include dump from b30. Without renaming winuae64.exe
Does 32-bit also crash? If it does, attach dump from it too.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 August 2021, 14:36   #895
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,786
Dumps, b30 random crashes just leaving PC in idle (2+ hours). Clean OS3.2 fresh install, nothing nasty launched, just OS tools like SYS:Tools/TextEdit.
https://gofile.io/d/qbfb9G

Last edited by hexaae; 19 August 2021 at 14:43.
hexaae is offline  
Old 19 August 2021, 18:06   #896
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Dumps, b30 random crashes just leaving PC in idle (2+ hours). Clean OS3.2 fresh install, nothing nasty launched, just OS tools like SYS:Tools/TextEdit.
https://gofile.io/d/qbfb9G
Amiga screen mode had changed. Did some screensaver or something like that start?
(It crashes because sprite buffer size was strange)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 August 2021, 23:30   #897
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Amiga screen mode had changed. Did some screensaver or something like that start?
(It crashes because sprite buffer size was strange)
Yep, there was the OS screen blanker (Moiré, Bezier curves) running in idle... with these settings:




(BTW, I've always had a doubt... Should I tick 'Do not set MMU' in PVS or has no influence with WinUAE Z3 RTG?)

Last edited by hexaae; 19 August 2021 at 23:54.
hexaae is offline  
Old 21 August 2021, 00:18   #898
alanwall
Registered User
alanwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eugene,Oregon,USA
Posts: 49
Not sure what happened but beta 30 does not have the problem now ?
Any way, I was not able to boot when starting from beta30-64, it just took me to the Aros
boot screen. I am using AmiKit XE so that may be it ?
Attached is part of the dmp file I have ?'s about
Attached Files
File Type: zip Toni-pdb.zip (4.8 KB, 34 views)
alanwall is offline  
Old 21 August 2021, 10:15   #899
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,786
Another crash (sprites issue again?): https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApMUGr0cuN39gf81...yWAag?e=vaS5bC

This time I was working with PPaint 7.3c + http://m68k.aminet.net/package/gfx/ppaint/pio_icon for some hours creating Color Icons and switching back & forth to Windows desktop too through a shared DOWNLOAD: dir... Just Delitracker playing mods in background and nothing nasty launched before (games, demos). I use Workbench resolutions in full window mode (latest commercial P96 3.1.1), and native in full screen.
All of a sudden WinUAE crashed after 1-2 hours. WB, PPaint running, Delitracker was still playing music 'till emu stopped... everything was working fine without video/audio glitches or alerts...

P.S.
I'm using icon.library (TC020, for true color screens) by Peter Keunecke in my environment.

Last edited by hexaae; 21 August 2021 at 15:19.
hexaae is offline  
Old 22 August 2021, 15:47   #900
mcbpete
Zone Friend
mcbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, England
Age: 39
Posts: 217
Send a message via MSN to mcbpete Send a message via Yahoo to mcbpete
Definitely not a show stopper but just updated to b30 from a much older 4.5/4.9 beta and noticed some slight garbage graphics on the right of the screen when running in fullscreen. Downloaded earlier betas to place when it started and b20 seemed to be the last version without this glitch on the right hand side (b21 I was unable to download due to it flagging my virus scanner but from b22 onwards it displays like this):





Alt-Tabbing away and then back to UAE seems to clear it however. Running in direct 3d11/Hardware d3d11 on an nVidia rtx2080

Here's the logs and config used (seems to happen regardless of using a d3d filter): http://www.ilovecubus.co.uk/pete/winuaelogs.zip

Last edited by mcbpete; 22 August 2021 at 16:01.
mcbpete is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Mad-Matt
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 4.0.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 64 15 July 2018 12:03
WinUAE 3.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 166 07 March 2018 22:48
WinUAE 3.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 385 08 November 2015 23:06
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 10:22
WinUAE 2.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 119 28 June 2010 02:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.18452 seconds with 14 queries