English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 April 2020, 16:42   #1
PDrill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Finland
Posts: 75
Furia jumpers

Got mine today, but I just can't find any info about the jumpers on it. They (mostly the RAM WAIT) have been mentioned many times also in this forum, but what do they really do and when and what for should they be used?

The other one is, like said, RAM WAIT and the options are on or off.

And the other is on the other side of the board and it has 3 pins so it has 3 options, position 1, position 2 and the jumper removed completely.
PDrill is offline  
Old 07 April 2020, 08:21   #2
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 95
RAMWAIT - Open 1-WaitState, memory slow. Close Zero-WaitState, memory fast.
Bottom Jumper, power supply of DRAM. This setting must not be changed, otherwise the DRAM chips will be damaged.
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 13 April 2020, 09:53   #3
PDrill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Finland
Posts: 75
My A600 is still on the way so I haven't been able to try it yet, but while waiting and just to be sure, is this the correct position?



I must say, sounds very strange to have a jumper which can damage the device and not have any kind of documentation or even a note printed on the PCB :-/
PDrill is offline  
Old 13 April 2020, 11:20   #4
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 335
Why would you want to mess around with the jumpers anyway ?

When my Furia came I just plugged it in and that was it....job done ?
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 13 April 2020, 11:42   #5
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 95
this is a factory setting, not user settings.
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 13 April 2020, 18:37   #6
PDrill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Finland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark sealey View Post
Why would you want to mess around with the jumpers anyway ?
Well first of all, I like to know my stuff. Second is that I've read ~all Furia threads here and there and in some cases there has been discussion about the RAM juper so I was also looking for info what it does and when to try it. Third is that I removed the unknown jumper to look under it to see if something was printed there as is the case with the RAM jumper, and learning from here that wrong position is lethal, I wanted to be sure that I replaced it corretcly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark sealey View Post
When my Furia came I just plugged it in and that was it....job done ?
My A600 is still on it's way back so I haven't been able to test it, so fourth reason for my original question was that maybe it is/they are something to fiddle with in case everything doesn't go so smooth.

I - like propably most people here - am at that age that I have played with PC mainboards long before Plug & Play so testing different configurations (jumpers in this case) in case of a problem has been normal. And I'm happy to have asked this and I can make a Dymo-print next to it to remind me not to ever touch the other one even if it doesn't work.

Hope my answer satisfies your interest.
PDrill is offline  
Old 21 September 2020, 20:21   #7
Jolabandola
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Nordmaling/Sweden
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by PDrill View Post
My A600 is still on the way so I haven't been able to try it yet, but while waiting and just to be sure, is this the correct position?



I must say, sounds very strange to have a jumper which can damage the device and not have any kind of documentation or even a note printed on the PCB :-/
I just got my Furia back from Lotharek and im having problems getting it to work. I see that the jumper on the underside is in the opposite setting on mine. The middle and left pin is where my jumper is. Is that wrong or right?
Jolabandola is offline  
Old 23 September 2020, 12:41   #8
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 95
Memory DRAM VCC 5V or 3V3, did I satisfy your curiosity? :-)
Boboo_SK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3000T jumpers... BinoX support.Hardware 31 26 May 2020 14:51
Amiga 600 Furia - DAT Memory performance and some tips for Furia users Nibbler Hardware pics 10 10 April 2019 22:45
FPU VS jumpers Lord Aga support.Hardware 30 29 June 2018 15:00
Base Jumpers Graham Humphrey request.Old Rare Games 22 16 July 2009 20:51
Base Jumpers CD³² MethodGit request.Old Rare Games 4 22 January 2002 05:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07971 seconds with 13 queries