English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Creation > Graphics > Graphics. Tutorials

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2021, 00:02   #1
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,187
ECS/OCS Palette on AGA Computer

So I have realised that a non-AGA machine only has RGB values 0-15 and and AGA machine has 0-256.

Is there anyway on Personal Paint or Deluxe Paint to use the OCS/ECS palette?

Or should I just use DPaint 3?
Havie is offline  
Old 08 February 2021, 00:13   #2
a/b
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: europe
Posts: 460
If you don't mind taking care of the palette, you should be fine. Just set your color RGB components to $00, $11, ..., $ee, $ff instead of $00, $01, .., $fe, $ff (both nibbles must be the same) and you'll have OCS/ECS colors.
a/b is offline  
Old 08 February 2021, 00:15   #3
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,969
Also an option: DPaint IV came in both AGA and ECS versions, so you could try the ECS version of that.
roondar is offline  
Old 08 February 2021, 00:48   #4
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 765
You can force it by holding both mouse buttons on startup and selecting original or enhanced under display options. Dpaint and Ppaint will use the 4096 colours then.
Coagulus is offline  
Old 08 February 2021, 01:23   #5
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 38
Posts: 886
Ingenious! Why I never thought of that...
Cobe is offline  
Old 08 February 2021, 10:03   #6
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,187
Thanks guys, very helpful. Out of all the things when programming the Amiga, I find palettes the most confusing!
Havie is offline  
Old 08 February 2021, 14:54   #7
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 43
Posts: 6,513
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
For this purpose I have both Dpaint4.03 and 4.6 AGA installed in my Amiga.
Predseda is offline  
Old 08 February 2021, 16:50   #8
arcanist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 38
Posts: 323
Personal Paint has options REDBITS, GREENBITS, BLUEBITS in the Startup_1.set file which can be set to 4,4,4 for OCS mode.
arcanist is online now  
Old 08 February 2021, 17:29   #9
Master484
Registered User
Master484's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Vaasa, Finland
Posts: 462
Here is an OCS RGB conversion table that I myself use:

OCS values (0-15) on the left, and normal RGB (0-255) values on the right.

0 = 0
1 = 17
2 = 34
3 = 51
4 = 68
5 = 85
6 = 102
7 = 119
8 = 136
9 = 153
10 = 170
11 = 187
12 = 204
13 = 221
14 = 238
15 = 255

Just make sure that the RGB values of your palette are set to those, and you can use any paint program to make OCS graphics.
Master484 is offline  
Old 10 February 2021, 10:53   #10
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,299
It may or may not be a help, but I wrote a palette editor a while back for helping with palette shuffling, arranging, merging etc. It has an option to round any palette to 12 bits, which will give you OCS/ECS values, and gives you some hints about pens (e.g. sprite pen banks). It called PaletteEd, needs AGA to run, and you can find it here and on Aminet.

Daedalus is online now  
Old 10 February 2021, 12:05   #11
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,187
Thanks - looks really helpful and I like your website, I have never been happy with the layout on mine.

I finally tore myself away from SF2 and went back to Invaders and added a new background choice but struggles with the colours until I used Master's conversion chart!

Also, on WinUAE (I may be wrong) but I couldn't get the the early boot menu up but just chose OCS instead of AGA and still booted into my workbench and had the limited palette colour choice.

So both methods work well.

Need to rework the RGB statements in my game to work on 0-15 instead of 0-255 and then all should be good.

I guess when using a non-AGA game on an AGA computer, the Amiga automatically corrects the colour values otherwise the games would be very dark! Never ever thought about this before...
Havie is offline  
Old 10 February 2021, 12:33   #12
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,299
Cool In software terms, internal RGB values are always 8-bit anyway with the 4 MSBs being used for the 4-bit colour registers, and IIRC the development docs recommend that you should save palettes as the same 4-bit value repeated for compatibility with future systems. This gives full compatibility in both directions, and even if the same 4 bits aren't repeated, you only get a small dip in intensity when loaded into 8-bit registers.

When coding in Blitz, there are separate commands for modifying OCS and AGA palette entries. RGB takes 0-15 values and AGARGB takes 0-255 values.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 10 February 2021, 15:41   #13
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Cool In software terms, internal RGB values are always 8-bit anyway with the 4 MSBs being used for the 4-bit colour registers, and IIRC the development docs recommend that you should save palettes as the same 4-bit value repeated for compatibility with future systems. This gives full compatibility in both directions, and even if the same 4 bits aren't repeated, you only get a small dip in intensity when loaded into 8-bit registers.

When coding in Blitz, there are separate commands for modifying OCS and AGA palette entries. RGB takes 0-15 values and AGARGB takes 0-255 values.
Not in my game which might explain why my RGB colours were just not working!
Havie is offline  
Old 11 February 2021, 13:34   #14
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,187
All sorted and with a bit a reorganisation of the code - all is good!

Probably my favourite method is the Master484 table as this is simples for my simples brain!
Havie is offline  
Old 11 February 2021, 13:36   #15
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
It may or may not be a help, but I wrote a palette editor a while back for helping with palette shuffling, arranging, merging etc. It has an option to round any palette to 12 bits, which will give you OCS/ECS values, and gives you some hints about pens (e.g. sprite pen banks). It called PaletteEd, needs AGA to run, and you can find it here and on Aminet.

So I converted some SF2 sprites (must not do, must not do) and they looked pretty good. Problem is that the black is mapped to colour 0 (I used PPaint) - is there anyway to avoid this or can I use you program to get round this? Just thinking of future projects - would take a long time to recolour all the black to a different non-transparent index by hand?
Havie is offline  
Old 11 February 2021, 14:12   #16
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,299
Remapping like that is best done in PPaint I'd say. Usually, colour 0 is set to a colour far away from every other colour in use, so something like full magenta (255-0-255). Then another pen is used for black. If the black from the characters is already lost to the background then it'll have to be redone, but if it's still there and separate from the background, these are the steps I would do to move it:

- Set colour 0 to magenta
- Set another pen of your choosing to black (ideally one not already in use)
- Choose Colour->Remap from the PPaint menus. Your blacks (including the background) will be restored
- Floodfill the background to colour 0 again.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 11 February 2021, 16:41   #17
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Remapping like that is best done in PPaint I'd say. Usually, colour 0 is set to a colour far away from every other colour in use, so something like full magenta (255-0-255). Then another pen is used for black. If the black from the characters is already lost to the background then it'll have to be redone, but if it's still there and separate from the background, these are the steps I would do to move it:

- Set colour 0 to magenta
- Set another pen of your choosing to black (ideally one not already in use)
- Choose Colour->Remap from the PPaint menus. Your blacks (including the background) will be restored
- Floodfill the background to colour 0 again.
Thanks - will have a play now that Space Invaders is done(ish).
Havie is offline  
Old 12 February 2021, 02:30   #18
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
For this purpose I have both Dpaint4.03 and 4.6 AGA installed in my Amiga.
Cool, I'd love to try DPaint 4.03! Can someone put it in the Zone to try out?
Photon is offline  
Old 12 February 2021, 14:09   #20
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,954
No go I'm afraid, DPAINTV4.DMS actually contains DPAINT V Extras (i.e. filename means DPaint 5, disk 4) and DPaintIV.zip has v4.0, not 4.03.

I should probably just find my boxed DPaint 4 and check which version it is :P It's just that 4.03 seems like some hotfix released after.
Photon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To AGA or to OCS/ECS... bitter Coders. Asm / Hardware 6 02 December 2018 07:06
Possible ocs/ecs chipset bug? (palette flicker) ED-209 support.WinUAE 24 02 December 2017 14:28
AGA first or OCS/ECS? Spec-Chum Coders. General 18 29 December 2016 16:46
PacMan '96 - AGA or OCS/ECS? liviux76 support.Games 32 19 November 2016 18:50
ecs ocs games on aga memothejanitor support.Apps 4 16 June 2007 04:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.22045 seconds with 16 queries