English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 April 2007, 14:53   #1
TrickyTrix
 
Posts: n/a
Super Eagle, Super 2XSaI i 2XSaI filters arent working or I did something wrong???

I`m using WinUAE 1.4.1 and when I set some of those filters nothing happends. Picture stays the same with blocky pixels. When I press F12 in game I can see that Filter is enabled but it`s saying Null Filter, doesn`t matter that I selected some of the filters metioned above before. What`s the problem?
 
Old 01 April 2007, 15:18   #2
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 2,251
Those filters only work in 16bit screen modes, I guess your desktop is in something other than that which is why the filters aren't working when WinUAE is running in a window
Ian is offline  
Old 01 April 2007, 23:03   #3
TrickyTrix
 
Posts: n/a
Oh it`s fullscreen allright. But I set it to 16bit anyway. It looks like it`s working because picture streches and sound starts to go slow but it still looks awful. I made a screenshot from Dosbox (with SWOS game) with Super 2XSaI turned on and from WinUAE with Super 2XSaI turned on. On the left is Dosbox, on the right is WinUAE. What`s wrong?
 
Old 06 April 2007, 16:01   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,829
Enable lores and disable doubling. You are running lores game which UAE doubles and then the filter doubles it again. ("faq": those filters are designed for 8-bit consoles which had 300x200 or so max resolution, Amiga hires resolutions require too much CPU power)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 April 2007, 20:54   #5
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,696
I have the same problem since version 1.4 public beta 2 (30.03.07), fullscreen windowed same results. but with older versions no problem.
test has been made with default config and new installation.

Last edited by turrican3; 07 April 2007 at 13:04.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 07 April 2007, 14:48   #6
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,696
every time i launch winuae with a filter, it launches the emulation but comes back to null filter, no 2xsai ect...
However i used fullscreen, 16 bits ect...
And i repeat with the version 1.4.1 no problem, i can use all filters.
what's wrong?????

Last edited by turrican3; 08 April 2007 at 11:34.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 07 April 2007, 18:53   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,829
It was copy/paste error in 1.4.2b2..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 April 2007, 00:07   #8
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,696
thank you toni,
but i have the same problem with 1.4 beta 4..
And i don't know why?????
If you want logs from beta 4 tell me????

And again thank you very much for the fast replies, i'm impressed.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 08 April 2007, 00:13   #9
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 46
Posts: 757
Hmm i tried Beta 4, it's still there...
Ultron is offline  
Old 08 April 2007, 10:46   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,829
When did I say it was fixed in beta4?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 April 2007, 11:33   #11
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,696
thanks toni,
sorry for the mistake
turrican3 is offline  
Old 09 April 2007, 02:23   #12
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,696
it' s fixed in the beta 5,
thanks toni
turrican3 is offline  
Old 10 April 2007, 18:30   #13
TrickyTrix
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
Enable lores and disable doubling. You are running lores game which UAE doubles and then the filter doubles it again.
In that case I won`t have it on whole screen.
Tell me why the same game in fullscreen looks much better in DosBox then in WinUAE with same filters used and same resolution used (I`m using WinUAE 1420b6 and filters ARE working)?
 
Old 10 April 2007, 18:41   #14
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,696
when i said it fixed in the beta 5, i just wanna said than it don't go to null filter when you select 2xsai ect...
for the rest i don't know,sorry
turrican3 is offline  
Old 10 April 2007, 22:06   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrickyTrix
In that case I won`t have it on whole screen.
Tell me why the same game in fullscreen looks much better in DosBox then in WinUAE with same filters used and same resolution used (I`m using WinUAE 1420b6 and filters ARE working)?
I don't know? More colors? Different palette? Different filter implementation? I don't really care
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 April 2007, 22:59   #16
TrickyTrix
 
Posts: n/a
You should care because those filters aren`t implemented right in WinUAE. The best SNES (ZSNES), MegaDrive (Gens), DOS (DosBox) and even NES (FCE Ultra) emulators have those filters implemented and in all of them stretched fullscreen ingame picture looks better than picture from WinUAE.
I`m not an expert but I would say that that emulators first stretch the picture and then filters them and WinUAE first filters the small picture (in low res) and than stretches it.
 
Old 10 April 2007, 23:24   #17
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 46
Posts: 757
In a sense, in SaI and SuperSaI et all actually the filter doubles the screen, the filter itself is a way of doubling. I'll try to compare WinUAE to DosBOX, it's possible that DosBOX is using other accumulated filters that make it look more like a real TV\old monitor that WinUAE doesn't; admitedly by the picture posted above thread the DOSbox does look better - But it doesn't like the SaI stuff, I'll try to check myself.
Ultron is offline  
Old 11 April 2007, 02:34   #18
TrickyTrix
 
Posts: n/a
I`ve tested "Sensible Soccer - International Edition" in ZSNES 1.51 (2xSAI Engine turned on) and in Gens 1.14 (2xSAI (Kreed) turned on). They look the same and here is picture taken in ZSNES
Ingame pictures from WinUAE looks much too blocky compared to all these pictures taken from emulators for other gaming systems and I guess that that confirms that something is not implemented right with those filters for WinUAE.
 
Old 12 April 2007, 00:43   #19
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 2,251
I believe there is something wrong with the filters too after some investigation.

I have attached two pictures, one from Kega using super2xsai and one from WinUAE

I used the Megadrive version as it is as "limited" as the amiga version. The SNES version looks better than the Amiga version anyway so it's not a fair comparison.

If I had to guess what was wrong with it (knowing nothing about the filter or how it works), through a bit of testing it seems the filter is only applied properly (or should that be makes a noteable difference) when 2x is set on both the horizontal and verticle adjuster bars. But then it's effectively 4x the size due the inbuilt 2x in the filter. which is too big to really make a comparison with as Kega only does up to 3x the original size.

Still, I am counting the days until HQ2x and HQ3x are included anyway so I cannot say I'm really fussed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WinUAE_Super2xSai.png
Views:	503
Size:	31.1 KB
ID:	13652   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kega_Super2xSai.png
Views:	450
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	13653  
Ian is offline  
Old 12 April 2007, 08:03   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,829
But scale2x does work?
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EAB/Lemon Super League 2010: Round 10 - Super Hang-On Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 38 12 September 2010 01:20
Super Street Fighter 2 - wrong palette in final version! viddi support.Games 43 31 October 2008 19:45
EAB/Lemon Super League 2008: Round 1 - Super Stardust Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 102 10 February 2008 01:06
2xSAI render to WinUAE? Possible? Tolismlf support.WinUAE 12 21 December 2004 13:39
Wrong Ultimate Super Skidmarks screenshot XoreX HOL data problems 3 04 October 2004 22:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11877 seconds with 16 queries