English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 May 2007, 21:23   #1
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 47
Posts: 5,322
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
EDO RAM Voltages

Guys will the 5V edo ram I use on my BPPC 040 still work after the 040 is changed to an 060?

ta.
DDNI is offline  
Old 07 May 2007, 21:42   #2
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 70
Posts: 681
i have used my EDO mem in all my blizzards 030/040/060/ bppc 060
no problem :-)
twizzle is offline  
Old 07 May 2007, 22:26   #3
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 47
Posts: 5,322
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Ta twizzle, its not the EDO part that concerns me. I have a nagging feeling that for the 060 to be fitted the board voltage must be 3.3v...

This may mean my 5v RAM wont work...

Someone tell me that I am wrong......
DDNI is offline  
Old 08 May 2007, 01:40   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
@DDNI
the voltage shift from 5v to 3.3v (by the regulator) only referes to the core of voltage of the processor not the memory..

baring very rare timming issues (wich is about as likely as ACT deliveing an amiga) your 5v edo will work perfectly fine like mine does
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 16:26   #5
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 999
Do 3.3V EDOs also work in amiga accelerators?
Calgor is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 18:31   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,607
You probably can't find a 3.3V EDO SIMM, only DIMMs.

So no, a 3.3V DIMM will not fit any Amiga accelerator, as they don't take DIMMs.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 18:39   #7
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 999
@ Jope

Actually, it is advertised on many places on the net. For example on page 3 of this document everything (SIMM/SO DIMM DRAM etc) seems to be available in both 3.3V and 5V:

http://www.smartmodulartech.com/bina...elOverview.pdf
Calgor is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 18:43   #8
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 999
I read somewhere that the 3.3V and 5V SIMMs have different position of the notches in their slot, but can't find the reference anywhere - so I could check what my accelerators might support (possibly both!). It had a picture showing the notch positions.

EDIT: I may have been wrong about the different notch position, as there seems to be many anecdotes on the net on ppl inserting 3.3V in 5V slots, and also many IBMPC motherboards specifically documenting that they support both 3.3V and 5V simms. It could be that a 3.3V SIMM will work in a 5V slot but could get damaged by too much voltage being applied if the slot is only designed for 5V.

Last edited by Calgor; 18 May 2007 at 20:15.
Calgor is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 19:12   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,607
Hmm, interesting. Hope you find the reference.. I've got a lot of SIMMs (I mean a cardboard box full) but no 3.3V ones. :-)
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double sided edo ram & blizzard 1230 hardwir3d Hardware mods 3 28 December 2012 13:00
A1200 crashes using EDO RAM hardwir3d support.Hardware 9 17 April 2010 14:09
Blizzard 1230 and EDO RAM? gizmomelb support.Hardware 4 21 February 2006 22:13
EDO RAM on a MicroRobotics MBX 1230XA BooTMaker support.Hardware 2 14 February 2003 15:14
EDO RAM question oldpx support.Hardware 16 12 March 2002 22:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08052 seconds with 15 queries