English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 January 2020, 23:51   #1
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere
 
Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 50
Posts: 8,986
Feature Request.....

Right, I think i've asked this before, but I can't remember, but it bugs me its not a feature, so I feel compelled to ask again, because if it was implemented, it would be useful and it wouldn't affect real Amigas in any way.

So, I like WinUAE, it helps with my development of projects, I do everything on a crappy old Compaq Laptop, I use it as a portable Amiga so I can do whatever I need wherever I want.

I use it daily, all the time.

OK, so WinUAE is great (did I tell Toni how great it is?), but it could be greater.

When I use Devpac, if I assemble without CYCLE EXACT ticked, it speeds up assembling of large projects by quite a big margin.

It speeds up things so much, that I don't want to lose that, but, before I run my assembled program, I must hit F12, go and tick CYCLE EXACT so that the program runs as its supposed to.

And then when I exit the program, hit F12 again, tick CYCLE EXACT off, and carry on.

I wouldn't bother, but not having cycle exact ticked when assembling really does speed up the process, whats the point in having this extra PC power if I can't use it better?

So, after that ramble, here is my feature request:

I would like it if we were as programmers able to affect some of the GUI options in WinUAE from WITHIN the Amiga environment without having to hit F12 and tick boxes.

Here is my proposal.

1). Set aside a small ram space within WinUAE that doesn't exist on a real Amiga, literally 1K would probably do.
2). In Devpac I could do this:

start:
move.w #-1,$dffa00 ;Enable CYCLE EXACT
movem.l d0-d7/a0-a6,-(a7)
bsr my_code
lmb:
btst #6,$bfe001
bne.s lmb
bsr closedown
movem.l (a7)+,d0-d7/a0-a6
moveq #0,d0
clr.w $dffa00 ;Disable CYCLE EXACT
rts

Could just be a word, each word represents a different useful function to be able to toggle on or off, for instance:

$dffa00 = Cycle Exact on/off
$dffa02 = Fastest possible on/off
$dffa04 = Joystick none/on
$dffa06 = etc, etc.

i know the answer is probably no, but if you don't ask you don't get, and I personally would find it useful, don't know about other people?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 08:54   #2
thomas
Registered User
 
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,985
What's wrong with uae-configuration? It's a bit more complicated than what you suggest but it already exists and is a generic future-proof solution. Source code is included.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 11:08   #3
fatbob_gb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Preston UK
Posts: 72
The uae-configuration way of doing this was previously dicussed here
fatbob_gb is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 12:06   #4
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,468
Hi Phill, is already possible via code.
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1346694&postcount=7
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature request Galahad/FLT request.UAE Wishlist 4 21 February 2019 23:04
Feature request TenLeftFingers support.FS-UAE 12 08 April 2014 20:41
Feature request Galahad/FLT support.WinUAE 5 12 February 2013 19:38
Feature Request Npl request.UAE Wishlist 5 02 August 2004 21:43
Feature request Fackamato support.WinUAE 48 26 February 2004 17:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:35.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14762 seconds with 13 queries