English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

Old 19 August 2010, 05:10   #1
radical7dreamer

Amiga key?

Greetings, I am pretty new to the amiga but I alm currently learning deluxe paint. I have a (dumb?) question, what is the Amiga key in win UAE?
I have tried alt, ctlr, windows, insert, home, but to no avail. How can that be? Can someody please help me? Thank you

Old 19 August 2010, 06:57   #2
antonvaltaz

Do you have two Windows keys on your keyboard? If so, Left Windows should be mapped to Left Amiga and Right Windows to Right Amiga.
Old 19 August 2010, 09:48   #3
thomas

The right menu key is also mapped to the right Amiga key (in case the right Windows key is missing). Also Isrt and Pos1 keys are mapped to left and right Amiga keys.

Also check the game ports settings in WinUAE. If one of the ports is set to joystick emulation, the keys used for the joystick do not work as keyboard keys. Set the game port to "none" to get all keyboard keys working.
Old 19 August 2010, 15:24   #4
lilalurl
Global Moderator

Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Ofc, the most important thing is that you can remap these keys to anyone you want.

Open the configuration menu of Winuae, go the Input panel. In the left drop down box select Configuration #whatever you like rather than Compatibility mode. Then in the right drop down box select Keyboard.

Then remap any keys to whatever you want (in the list Amiga keys are 0x66 and 0x67).
You can even bind some Winuae actions (take screenshot, turbo mode) this way.

Also, technically, you can bind any keys to your mouse, but this is only useful if it has more than 2 buttons.
Old 19 August 2010, 17:13   #5
UncleSpam

I have mapped the Right-Ctrl key on my laptop to R-Amiga. That particular keyboard has no right Win-key nor the menu key.

Also, the Amiga never had a second (right) Ctrl key, so it works out well.

- Bogdan
Old 19 August 2010, 18:31   #6
radical7dreamer