English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2008, 04:26   #1
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,896
1024x600 with e-uae on linux?

I would very much like to get 1024x600 mode on my eeepc-902 - screenmode only shows 800x600 as highest mode. I tried to replace occurances of 768 with 600 on obvious places in the code, and then 1024x600 shows up as mode in screen requsters, but trying to open them ends in:

Code:
X Error of failed request:  BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  145 (MIT-SHM)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  3 (X_ShmPutImage)
  Value in failed request:  0x400
  Serial number of failed request:  1340
  Current serial number in output stream:  1340
This is with e-uae-0.8.29 from 20080820.

Help?
kolla is offline  
Old 18 October 2008, 12:02   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 3,747
X server does not understand that resolution. You must put a custom modeline in xorg.conf.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 18 October 2008, 17:48   #3
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
X server does not understand that resolution. You must put a custom modeline in xorg.conf.
That would be odd, since my X11 desktop runs on 1024x600 just fine, it's what I use all day. I thought the days of modlines were long gone, really.
kolla is offline  
Old 26 October 2008, 13:22   #4
Jerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 207
Are you trying picasso or native modes and what backend do you use. The SDL backend
seems to probe available resolutions for me as some of those lines indicate:

...
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 700x525.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 640x512
...

Probably you could check your commandline. Also I recommend a look at either the -O switch (From cmd-line.txt):

-O
The format to use is: "width:height:modifiers", where modifiers are: l:
Treat display as lo-res, x: Center display horizontally, y: Center display
vertically, d: double line, a: fullscreen Amiga, p: fullscreen Picasso96,
c: Correct aspect ratio

Or the display options that can be set from a configfile (from configuration.txt):
gfx_width_windowed=<n> (default=720)
gfx_height_windowed=<n> (default=568)
gfx_width_fullscreen=<n> (default=800)
gfx_height_fullscreen=<n> (defaullt=600)

Note that it will be somewhat difficult to get proper display on such odd resolutions since there is no scaler support (yet?)...
Jerry is offline  
Old 29 October 2008, 00:38   #5
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,896
Thanks - your reply got me to try SDL instead of X11, and then it works fine

It's a tad slower I think, but I can live with that.
kolla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G-FS-UAE (GUI/Frontend for Linux FS-UAE) Speedvicio support.FS-UAE 12 05 November 2012 20:14
E-UAE on Linux :) digit01 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 23 05 May 2009 14:39
Can I use linux command under UAE? BiL0 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 26 May 2006 18:16
UAE, Linux and mice Error support.OtherUAE 4 24 May 2004 11:45
WinUAE vs Linux UAE? kckelleher support.WinUAE 0 04 May 2002 23:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10670 seconds with 13 queries