English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 April 2021, 10:08   #1
Muzza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 43
Turrican 2 MS-DOS AGA conversion

Hi,

I've shared my work in progress conversion of MS-DOS Turrican 2 in the zone. This is basically the same as the Turrican 2 we know and love, but with more colours.
This is a project I started initially to learn Amiga ASM, although much of it is written in C in the end. I also wanted to create an AGA game - something I couldn't do in AMOS back in the 90s.

It is only the first level, and various features are missing - most notably the bounce weapon does not bounce, there is no mid-level boss and the player cannot die. However most other features are working - even if many require extra polish.

It requires Fast RAM to run at 50hz on an A1200. From testing I found it can run at 50hz on a base A1200 but only if I reduce the number of bitplanes. I may do this eventually, but for now I'd rather get it working without modifications to any of the source artwork. Currently it uses 8 bitplanes.

I've tested on my real A1200 with Blizzard 1220/4 plus various WinUAE configs, but as this is the first thing I've released on the Amiga in the last two decades there may be unknown compatibility problems. Please let me know if it has problems on your machine.


Cheers
Muzza is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 11:17   #2
Lisko
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Avellino, Italy
Posts: 41
Could you please post it here or on eab ftp? I don't have access to the zone
Lisko is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 11:43   #3
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 3,234
cool i will test it
CFOU! is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 11:54   #4
Muzza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 43
Dropbox link here
Muzza is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 12:06   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisko View Post
Could you please post it here or on eab ftp? I don't have access to the zone

http://eab.abime.net/faq.php?faq=vb_...ezone_faq_item
StingRay is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 14:16   #6
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 266
Hi,

Does the game work without Fast (without VBL of course)? Because I just tried without Fast with WinUae and it always crashes (Quickstart A1200).

I have a question regarding the second level part with the ship.

On the OCS version, there is a parallax which is not present on the PC version. Do you think you'll add it ? Thank you for your work.

Last edited by Zarnal; 26 April 2021 at 14:19. Reason: spelling
Zarnal is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 16:01   #7
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 202
Now that's a great project @Muzza
I have made quick test via winuae, and i can say that all is running almost greatly yet.
Prolly the 360 weapon activation need a shorter time pressing the button, and the jumps need a bit of extra work but...
for being a first test release is awesome

congrats, keep it up the good work
kremiso is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 16:31   #8
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 53
Posts: 572
@Muzza

Just tested, runs great on my stock A1200 with 4mb fast RAM! Impressive work.

PS: The game loading after Amiga DOS from floppy shows some garbled graphics, perhaps normal?
modrobert is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 17:08   #9
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 505
No luck with a 060 - stops at grey screen.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 17:12   #10
AMike
Registered User

AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 322
Holy shit, the demo is far better than I expected - I'm really impressed. The game feels 100% like Turrican II - some things are still missing, but I didn't expect that - great work so far.

The only thing I found worse so far is the Turrican sprite. It looks better in the amigaverison and is also better animated there. Please keep working on it

Do you know these tools?
https://github.com/movAX13h/turrican2tools
AMike is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 18:06   #11
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 109
Running perfect on ACA1233-55.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbob42 View Post
No luck with a 060 - stops at grey screen.
It works on 060 via Workbench31_4.slave with NoMMU and NoVBRMove Tooltypes. http://www.whdload.de/apps/Workbench31.html
Aardvark is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 18:42   #12
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 232
Wow! incredible work! I've seen the MSDOS T2 before but not played it, and you've done a great job! I love how different everything looks. It's running smoothly on my A1200/030

You've got the handling down perfectly!
Mixel is online now  
Old 26 April 2021, 21:00   #13
solaris104
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czechia
Posts: 83
Please, support 2 button joystick such as Amiga original :-)
solaris104 is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 21:26   #14
zzbylu
Saberman

zzbylu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kielce/Poland
Posts: 170
and small gameplay:
[ Show youtube player ]
zzbylu is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 22:15   #15
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,496
that's is just great. Which assets did you re-use? graphics? code? sfx?
jotd is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 22:46   #16
skan
Dream Merchant

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utinum
Posts: 437
Holy f*ck! This is beyond cool indeed!
And once again, the proof that 1200 should have come with 2/4MB Fast out of the box...
skan is offline  
Old 27 April 2021, 00:00   #17
tarr
Registered User
tarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 124
Cool expertiment, but it is not 50 fps, as the original Turrican II on the Amiga was, and the PC version of the main sprite is ugly. The real Turrican sprite is the Amiga one :P
tarr is offline  
Old 27 April 2021, 00:08   #18
Muzza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarnal View Post
Does the game work without Fast (without VBL of course)? Because I just tried without Fast with WinUae and it always crashes (Quickstart A1200).
It seems it runs out of chip RAM on a base A1200. It was running a few days ago so it must be a recent addition that has pushed it over the edge.
When I bodge it to use fewer bitplanes the RAM requirements go down of course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarnal View Post
I have a question regarding the second level part with the ship.

On the OCS version, there is a parallax which is not present on the PC version. Do you think you'll add it ? Thank you for your work.
One ship section has a lot of parallax, I've been looking forward to implementing that level, but there are other levels that lack parallax as you say. I'm certainly open to improving over the MS-DOS version where hardware limitations allow.
Muzza is offline  
Old 27 April 2021, 00:11   #19
Muzza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbob42 View Post
No luck with a 060 - stops at grey screen.

Changing my WinUAE config to use an 060 it ran ok for me.

If anyone can point me to a WinUAE 060 setup that does not run, I'll try and find the problem.
Muzza is offline  
Old 27 April 2021, 00:15   #20
Muzza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMike View Post
The only thing I found worse so far is the Turrican sprite. It looks better in the amigaverison and is also better animated there. Please keep working on it

Do you know these tools?
https://github.com/movAX13h/turrican2tools

I completely predicted the Turrican sprite would get complaints , and I've seen several comments about it already! I agree it is worse, I was thinking I would add an option in the menu screen to use the Amiga sprite. They're both 16 colours.


And yes those tools were very useful in getting the artwork and extracting map data. I will need to credit the authors in a future version.
Muzza is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which ECS to AGA conversion worth playing? superturrican2 support.Games 8 16 December 2018 23:03
turrican,lotus etc aga version ??? why never done ? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 6 24 July 2013 12:22
Best way to play Turrican 2 PC dos buckrogers Retrogaming General Discussion 17 24 October 2005 12:25
Turrican 2 AGA+HD fixed Ollibolli request.Old Rare Games 17 24 September 2002 04:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11108 seconds with 14 queries