English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2021, 19:10   #1
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,084
BlueSCSI to SD

This popped up in my Twitter feed. Classic Mac SCSI but might work with an Amiga.
https://gumroad.com/l/bluescsi-1b

1024KB/sec seems a bit slow?
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 05 March 2021, 19:22   #2
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 499
I think that level of performance is comparable to the v5 SCSI2SD. It's a bit cheaper, too, but compatibility seems to be low even among the Mac family. I'd pass, personally, but maybe there's someone here who could use it in a vintage Mac it if it doesn't work in an Amiga...
Matt_H is offline  
Old 18 March 2021, 02:09   #3
erichelgeson
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 2
I'm the creator of BlueSCSI (derived from ArdSCSino) - happy to answer any questions. I've never used a Amiga but besides the vendor ID set to something the Mac disk utility will format - there shouldn't be any issues in other SCSI devices of the same era.

Compatibility listed is just my personal machines or users reports, but should work in any 040 or slower machine except the Plus (which predates the scsi standard so does a few 'odd' things, of which I'm attempting to sort out) - It's really meant for those early scsi1 machines.

While it is slower the seek time is 1ms. Large copies will be slower, but it feels faster during "normal" usage. I have a SCSI2SD 5.1 and this is a bit faster. I also have a SCSI2SD v6 - but that is quite a bit faster (and quite a bit more expensive)

Another project I contribute to is RaSCSI - which has been around for a while but has another resurgence due to classic mac enthusiasts. Can do quite a bit more (CD, ethernet, etc.) I see there are a few older threads but might be worth looking into again as well.

It's a fun little kit to assemble and it's all open. If anyone does get this working on a Amega I'd be happy to list it on the site/github.
erichelgeson is offline  
Old 18 March 2021, 03:29   #4
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 423
Cool project - will certainly be a game changer and especially handy for giving SCSI back to older systems on the cheap.

Will the gerbers be available from somewhere eventually? Never fun to pay for one shipped from the U.S. to Australia when I can order 10 directly from China for less in total. Oh - I think I found them?: https://github.com/erichelgeson/blue...e/master/kicad
dalek is offline  
Old 18 March 2021, 14:43   #5
erichelgeson
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 2
They are here - https://github.com/erichelgeson/bluepill_scsi - (i need to combine the repos at some point) - I only ship kits to US and CA since international shipping is so costly. I do have someone in the UK selling a few too.
erichelgeson is offline  
Old 21 March 2021, 23:25   #6
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 423
Thanks, I've ordered some and will give it a crack on a few Amiga SCSI controllers
dalek is offline  
Old 22 March 2021, 14:48   #7
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalek View Post
Thanks, I've ordered some and will give it a crack on a few Amiga SCSI controllers
Please let us know how it goes. It would be good to have an additional modern SCSI option.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 05 May 2021, 05:36   #8
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 423
I built two, one with a clone bluepill one with a genuine bluepill (both pass greaseweazle's blinky test). Same behavior on both:

* A2091 v6.6 ROM: WD33C93A-PL SCSI Chip: identifies okay, seems to read okay but hangs when trying to write / partition the disk with hdtoolbox

* GVP SCSI on 030 Combo v4.15 ROM (and tried guru rom) : AM33C93A SCSI Chip: identifies okay, seems to read okay but hangs when trying to write / partition the disk with hdtoolbox (same symptoms as A2091)

* ICD AdSCSI 2000 Rom 4.21: L5380PC-2: seems to work okay sometimes - can actually write the RDB with hdtoolbox but I couldn't get autoboot working (more testing needed)

Tried different SD cards but that's not the issue, as the log gets written just fine on all of them.

Here's the last few lines of SCSI Snoop with A2091 6.6 roms. The write seems to hang and the led on bluescsi stays lit:

Code:
READ CAPACITY   25 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
IOReq 00249c10 returned. Result 00.
Data in:00 10 00 00 00 00 02 00 
IOReq 002425a0 HD_SCSICMD(write,sense on,cmdlen=6,len=00000000)
TEST UNIT READY 00 00 00 00 00 00 
IOReq 002425a0 returned. Result 00.
IOReq 002425a0 HD_SCSICMD(read,sense on,cmdlen=6,len=00000024)
INQUIRY         12 00 00 00 24 00 
IOReq 002425a0 returned. Result 00.
Data in:00 00 01 01 1f 00 00 00 51 55 41 4e 54 55 4d 20 
46 49 52 45 42 41 4c 4c 31 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 
31 2e 30 20 
IOReq 002425a0 HD_SCSICMD(read,sense on,cmdlen=6,len=000000fe)
MODE SENSE(6)   1a 00 3f 00 fe 00 
IOReq 002425a0 returned. Result 00.
Data in:3b 00 00 08 00 10 00 00 00 00 02 00 03 16 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 3f 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 04 16 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
IOReq 002425a0 HD_SCSICMD(read,sense on,cmdlen=10,len=00000008)
READ CAPACITY   25 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
IOReq 002425a0 returned. Result 00.
Data in:00 10 00 00 00 00 02 00 
IOReq 002425a0 CMD_WRITElen=00000200 data=002497a4 offset=00000000
Data out:52 44 53 4b 00 00 00 40 fd 16 c6 a6 00 00 00 07 
00 00 02 00 00 00 00 17 ff ff ff ff 00 00 00 01 
00 00 00 03 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff 
ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ...
00000200 bytes total
So looks promising maybe with some changes to timings.
dalek is offline  
Old 05 May 2021, 13:36   #9
TheGouldFish
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 4
I've been messing around with one today as well, but using the HD8+ on an Amiga 500+ and having similar issues.
FaaastPrep crashes when trying to work out the drive, and HDToolBox hangs when writing out the partition info.
TheGouldFish is offline  
Old 05 May 2021, 14:58   #10
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,010
I have used the original ArdSCSIno (for STM32) on my A3000, and it certainly was possible to partition the drive and run DiskSpeed on it. I did at first have a pirate Bluepill on which it ran slower than a floppy drive, though, before I replaced it with a better one.
idrougge is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 23:56   #11
TheGouldFish
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Did some poking around the code today and worked out a single line fix that worked for me.
adding a:
delayMicroseconds(35);
just above the:
LOG("Command:");

allowed me to partition, format, copy Workbench and boot off the bluescsi.
This was on a GVP HD8+.

I've been chatting in their discord so hopefully we can work up a real fix that doesn't need magic numbers.
but it might be worth trying to see if it fixes other Amiga SCSI controllers.
TheGouldFish is offline  
Old 07 May 2021, 10:46   #12
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 423
Hmmm doesn't fix it for my A2091 - still hangs in the same place. I tried a bunch of variations of delays (eg 25, 30, 40, 45, 50 etc) but no luck.

When turning on serial debugging, timing breaks even harder and it fails to read as well. (I was using the uart the via usb port, even tried 115200bps).

I'm guessing it's hanging in writeHandshake so will do some more playing around with it.

EDIT: yes, hangs in the loop:
while(!m_isBusReset && !SCSI_IN(vACK));

verified by setting the LED on just before and clearing it just after

Last edited by dalek; 07 May 2021 at 10:52.
dalek is offline  
Old 07 May 2021, 12:42   #13
TheGouldFish
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 4
So 35 was working for a 52mb drive (with buffers 30), but when I tried a 500mb drive with 60buffers I needed to increase the delay to 100.

I'll forward on your findings to the discord as well, so hopefully they can trackdown where the issue is.
TheGouldFish is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08813 seconds with 12 queries