English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

Old 15 September 2014, 07:53   #1
mags

Clockport can be used like RPI GPIO port?

Hello amiga community.

I am an amiga user since 1989 (big gap between 1994 and 2006). Now I have a big collection, but I consider myself as a complete beginner.

Recently I come up with Raspberry Pi (RPI) and I am impressed with all the hardware experiments you can do using its GPIO port (I guess they are easy hardware experiments and in most of them you don't need much computing power). I was wondering if it is possible to use Amiga 1200 clock port like the RPI GPIO port, or they are totally different ports?

It is possible to adapt RPI experiments (using some special crafted hardware + software) to perform in amiga 1200? I think that may open a whole new universe of possibilities for amiga enthusiasts.

any comments?

thanks.

Old 15 September 2014, 08:45   #2
Jope
-

The clock port is memory mapped io, you need address decoding and a chip that provides you a register you can write to in order to be able to use it as GPIO.

If you want a pre-provided TTL GPIO port, use the printer port, like everyone on every computer did in the 80s/90s.

8-bit C= users used the user port for the same purpose.
Old 15 September 2014, 09:06   #3
mags

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The clock port is memory mapped io, you need address decoding and a chip that provides you a register you can write to in order to be able to use it as GPIO.

If you want a pre-provided TTL GPIO port, use the printer port, like everyone on every computer did in the 80s/90s.

8-bit C= users used the user port for the same purpose.
Thanks, I see.

So you say it is possible to replicate or at least do equivalent hardware projects as for the RPI using the printer port?

Old 15 September 2014, 12:03   #4
Jope
-

Sure, just bitbang away.

Be careful though, it's very easy to burn your CIA, unless of course you add a buffer chip along the line.