English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 12 April 2010, 23:19   #1
Info-Seeker

Can anyone burn me a GuruRom for my GVP?

Hey guys,

I need the latest GuruRom for GVP (6.14) burned to a prom for my accelerator. I would greatly appreciate any help with this...

It's a 27256 or 27512.

I wouldn't mind figuring out how to do it myself either. I can score a willem programmer on ebay for pretty cheap, but I have never used 1 before.

Thanks!!

Info-Seeker
Old 12 April 2010, 23:33   #2
Photon

I think you also need the PCB it came on? If it's from Babel making it harder to copy or if it actually has some hardware on it that makes it faster, I don't know.
Old 12 April 2010, 23:37   #3
Info-Seeker

Yep, Thanks Photon. I actually already have 1 here, but it is very old, a v1.10. So I have the little board and everything, I just need to update the prom to the latest version so I can have 64bit drive support.

Thanks for lookin out for me though, very much appreciated!

Info-Seeker
Old 13 April 2010, 02:34   #4
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits

Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
as I`ve just acquired a GVP HC+8 II rev 2, scsi + ram card, for my A4000. Its rom is 4.13
what is the biggist HDD I can use ? and what are my options for a newer rom ? as the GuruRom needs a PCB as I have just read is it easy to make or to get ?
Old 13 April 2010, 03:01   #5
coze
hastala vista winny vista

Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
it's not just a pcb. there's a small gal on it which performs an unknown function. it's a copy protection scheme by ralph babel. you can't get it made or or make one yourself. you have to buy an original.
Old 13 April 2010, 03:13   #6
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits

Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
thanks coze, so thats the GuruRom question sorted, sorta guessed it be something like that

Now whats latest version of the GVP rom and what size HDD can it handle ??
Old 13 April 2010, 05:27   #7