English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2009, 19:43   #1
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,517
Will this slim CD drive work?

All I have is this picture:



What do you think?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 20:38   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,894
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
All I have is this picture:



What do you think?
I cant see why it wouldnt. Is it taking its power from the IDE connector?
FOL is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:25   #3
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 59
Posts: 1,163
Maybe....

That backplate has a 50-pin connector, so it's a most likely to be a SCSI drive; is that what you need for your project? Has it come from an Apple machine?

Thinking about it, it could also be a from a Compaq machine, as they used 50 pin connectors which were IDE plus power and audio, all on the same ribbon cable.

It may be possible to change it to a 40-pin IDE connector, as long as there is a JAE connector behind the backplate.

Do you know the make and model of the drive?
Merlin is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:37   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,894
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin View Post
Maybe....

That backplate has a 50-pin connector, so it's a most likely to be a SCSI drive; is that what you need for your project? Has it come from an Apple machine?

Thinking about it, it could also be a from a Compaq machine, as they used 50 pin connectors which were IDE plus power and audio, all on the same ribbon cable.

It may be possible to change it to a 40-pin IDE connector, as long as there is a JAE connector behind the backplate.

Do you know the make and model of the drive?
Thats what I was wondering, cause mine had an E-IDE back board. So I replaced it with a 40 Pin IDE back board. Fitted snug in my A1200 then, .
This will only work as you say, if it has a JAE connector.
FOL is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:39   #5
JACK98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 420
so sorry for hijacking this thread.But was thinking same earlier,i have 2 old internal pc drives*well used to be internal lol*.They are ide drives.could i just run a ribbon from A1200 pcmia slot n plug it into the cd drive?.

Last edited by JACK98; 15 November 2013 at 19:51.
JACK98 is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:55   #6
tone007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 29
That drive looks alot like a slotloader I pulled out of an old iMac. Mine was IDE, standard JAE connector behind the 50 pin adapter board.

Issue, though, the connector was either on the wrong side or upside down (I forget which) so I had to hook up the adapter I got from eBay the other way around. Hung off the drive a couple of inches.

Looking closely, seems there's an Apple on it. Might give you the same kind of trouble.
tone007 is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 00:12   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,894
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by JACK98 View Post
so sorry for hijacking this thread,but was thinking same earlier,i have 2 old internal pc drives*well used to be internal lol*,they are ide drives,could i just run a ribbon from A1200 pcmia slot n plug it into the cd drive?
No, you could use a scsi connector and connect a scsi cdrom drive from pcmcia slot.

Other option is to buy a 4 way ide interface and connect it that way.
FOL is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 09:15   #8
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 59
Posts: 1,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by tone007 View Post
Looking closely, seems there's an Apple on it. Might give you the same kind of trouble.
Yes, I spotted that as well, hence my comment. I wasn't 100% certain though.
Merlin is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 21:07   #9
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin View Post
Has it come from an Apple machine?
It is indeed a slot loader off an iMac!
Should be IDE.
Do you guys think I could use it, then? it's very cheap, and I'd get two. One could be for someone else
Akira is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 21:56   #10
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 59
Posts: 1,163
Okerly Dokerly, put me down for the other one please, I quite fancy a slot loading A600...

Thanks. Let me know the damage via PM and I will square up with you.

To correctly identify that drive with next to nothing to go on.

We iz all da l33tn3ss ya know....

M
Merlin is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 22:06   #11
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,517
I'll mesage you man, but I am in the US? Shipipng will be a bit of a shithead...
Akira is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 23:35   #12
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 59
Posts: 1,163
Erm, I hadn't considered that. If the postage is going to be a killer, I'll leave it.
Merlin is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a cd/dvd slim drive inside a A1200? daro2096 Hardware mods 9 10 February 2013 04:02
FT: Slim 128mb simm for slim 64mb simm CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 6 20 June 2009 08:55
Slim CD drive with idefix97.....atapi device appears not to be working Smiley support.Hardware 9 28 April 2007 19:03
A1200 1gigabyte slim 3.5inch ide drive and cradle ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 0 30 September 2006 21:43
CD drive refuses to work Computolio support.Apps 3 06 September 2004 22:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10904 seconds with 15 queries