English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 April 2016, 04:59   #1
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Anyone ever flashed Plipbox AVR-NET-IO in history of mankind? Flash mine for $?

Hi all, as per my other recent post I can't for the life of me get the Pollin AVR-NET-IO to flash with the Plipbox firmware as per the confusing instructions with wrong links that are provided at https://github.com/cnvogelg/plipbox/...rc/firmware.md

I've purchased the AVRISPMkII to flash via ISP but that device has missing drivers, firmware issues of its own, and the whole "avrdude" thing is very unfriendly. My Mac can't see the USB device, in short.

I'd pay handsomely for anyone who's done it before to take my AVR-NET-IO by mail, flash it into a working Plipbox, and mail it back. I'm in Los Angeles.

Thanks in advance!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 26 April 2016, 14:36   #2
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
I've purchased the AVRISPMkII to flash via ISP but that device has missing drivers
Do you mean the AVRISPmk2 has missing drivers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
My Mac can't see the USB device, in short.
Do you have access to a windows machine where you could use AVRStudio to do the flashing?
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 26 April 2016, 14:54   #3
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Wales
Age: 44
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
Do you have access to a windows machine where you could use AVRStudio to do the flashing?
Well he has a mac so bootcamp or VM

Last edited by prowler; 27 April 2016 at 00:41. Reason: Fixed quote.
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 26 April 2016, 16:09   #4
Agilent
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gentofte/Denmark
Posts: 96
I would also say use AVR Studio, its very easy to program with. But lots of software to install
Agilent is offline  
Old 26 April 2016, 19:02   #5
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Are you 100% sure Studio can flash the Plipbox hex file?

As it stands, on the Windows test laptop I borrowed, the AVRISPmkII shows in Device Manager with an error that there is a problem with the device.

Edit: Studio cannot find the board. Same issue as Windows system. (I have installed libusb).

Last edited by Starglider 2; 26 April 2016 at 19:42.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 26 April 2016, 23:34   #6
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Edit: Studio cannot find the board. Same issue as Windows system. (I have installed libusb).
libusb/avrdude and avrstudio AVRISPmk2 driver can cause issues when installed simultaneously. Pick one route at a time and see if you can make it work..

I made the instructions below some years ago about how to use AVRISPmk2 with libusb/avrdude.. They are for windows, but maybe you can make them work for mac as well!? You probably don't need step 9. Hope you succeed :-)

Using AVR-ISP mkII USB programmer with AVRDUDE on Windows 2K/XP
Note: AVRDUDE V5.3.1 required, no AVR Studio required!

1. Get libusb-win32 from http://libusb-win32.sourceforge.net (libusb-win32-device-bin-x.x.x.x.tar.gz )
2. Extract it into a temporary location
3. Plug in an AVR-ISP USB programmer and cancel the windows driver installation request
4. Run “inf-wizard.exe” from the temporary “libusb\bin” folder
5. Using the wizard, create an .inf-file for one or more device(s) (save in the temporary libusb\bin folder)
6. Unplug the AVR-ISP and remove any incorrectly (i.e. non-fucntional) installed AVR-ISP USB devices using Device Manager
7. Plug in an AVR-ISP and pick the generated .inf-file when the driver installation request pops up
8. After installation, confirm that everything went ok by running “testlibusb-win.exe” from the temporary “libusb\bin” folder (you should see a dump of the device description)
9. Assuming step 8 was successful, look in your “winavr\bin” folder and delete “libusb0.dll”, if present (this is a dll distributed with winavr, but not the one we want)
10. Try “avrdude -p m8 -c avrispv2 -P usb”* and see if it works (the programmer will flash the green USB LED if there is communication)

*: When connecting several USB programmers at once, the serial number is needed to pick one out.. use “-P usb:024347” to do this, where “024347” is the last non-zero bytes of the programmer serial number (you can use testlibusb-win or avrdude with just one programmer connected to find this out).
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 27 April 2016, 04:14   #7
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
libusb/avrdude and avrstudio AVRISPmk2 driver can cause issues when installed simultaneously. Pick one route at a time and see if you can make it work..

I made the instructions below some years ago about how to use AVRISPmk2 with libusb/avrdude.. They are for windows, but maybe you can make them work for mac as well!? You probably don't need step 9. Hope you succeed :-)

Using AVR-ISP mkII USB programmer with AVRDUDE on Windows 2K/XP
Note: AVRDUDE V5.3.1 required, no AVR Studio required!

1. Get libusb-win32 from http://libusb-win32.sourceforge.net (libusb-win32-device-bin-x.x.x.x.tar.gz )
2. Extract it into a temporary location
3. Plug in an AVR-ISP USB programmer and cancel the windows driver installation request
4. Run “inf-wizard.exe” from the temporary “libusb\bin” folder
5. Using the wizard, create an .inf-file for one or more device(s) (save in the temporary libusb\bin folder)
6. Unplug the AVR-ISP and remove any incorrectly (i.e. non-fucntional) installed AVR-ISP USB devices using Device Manager
7. Plug in an AVR-ISP and pick the generated .inf-file when the driver installation request pops up
8. After installation, confirm that everything went ok by running “testlibusb-win.exe” from the temporary “libusb\bin” folder (you should see a dump of the device description)
9. Assuming step 8 was successful, look in your “winavr\bin” folder and delete “libusb0.dll”, if present (this is a dll distributed with winavr, but not the one we want)
10. Try “avrdude -p m8 -c avrispv2 -P usb”* and see if it works (the programmer will flash the green USB LED if there is communication)

*: When connecting several USB programmers at once, the serial number is needed to pick one out.. use “-P usb:024347” to do this, where “024347” is the last non-zero bytes of the programmer serial number (you can use testlibusb-win or avrdude with just one programmer connected to find this out).
I'm getting somewhere! I'm not sure if it's because I turned the USB cable round, because today is Tuesday when yesterday I tried it was Monday (!), or what but suddenly Windows sees the device.

Not quite there yet though:

4 QUESTIONS:

A: Step 9 – Where do I find the "winavr/bin" folder?

B: Step 10 – This results in:

Code:
F:\avr>avrdude -p m32 -c avrispmkII -P usb
avrdude: usbdev_send(): wrote -116 out of 1 bytes, err =
avrdude: stk500_send_mk2(): failed to send command to serial port
avrdude: stk500v2_recv_mk2: error in USB receive
avrdude: usbdev_send(): wrote -5 out of 1 bytes, err =
avrdude: stk500_send_mk2(): failed to send command to serial port
avrdude: stk500v2_recv_mk2: error in USB receive
...
C: Should I be attaching the AVR-NET-IO power to the mains as well as having the AVRISPmkII connected, or does the AVRISPmkII provide all required power?

D: Also, am I meant to be changing any of the jumpers on the AVR-NET-IO itself?

Last edited by Starglider 2; 27 April 2016 at 04:21.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 27 April 2016, 12:12   #8
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
I'm getting somewhere! I'm not sure if it's because I turned the USB cable round, because today is Tuesday when yesterday I tried it was Monday (!), or what but suddenly Windows sees the device.

Not quite there yet though:

4 QUESTIONS:

A: Step 9 – Where do I find the "winavr/bin" folder?

B: Step 10 – This results in:

Code:
F:\avr>avrdude -p m32 -c avrispmkII -P usb
avrdude: usbdev_send(): wrote -116 out of 1 bytes, err =
avrdude: stk500_send_mk2(): failed to send command to serial port
avrdude: stk500v2_recv_mk2: error in USB receive
avrdude: usbdev_send(): wrote -5 out of 1 bytes, err =
avrdude: stk500_send_mk2(): failed to send command to serial port
avrdude: stk500v2_recv_mk2: error in USB receive
...
C: Should I be attaching the AVR-NET-IO power to the mains as well as having the AVRISPmkII connected, or does the AVRISPmkII provide all required power?

D: Also, am I meant to be changing any of the jumpers on the AVR-NET-IO itself?
A. step 9 not needed as you are not using winavr..
B. what did step 8 give you?
C. Yes, the mk2 does not provide power to the target, so it must be powered separately. Note that step 8/10 should work without even connecting the mk2 to the target.
D. you will need to check its documentation - I'm not familiar with that device.

before following these instructions, make sure you don't have avr studio or any broken mk2 driver installs present in the system.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 27 April 2016, 20:13   #9
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Edit: Success! It must've been the eBay crap AVRISPmkII because I ordered a cheap USBASP off Amazon and it worked!:

Code:
C:\avr\bin>avrdude -p m32 -c usbasp -U flash:w:avr6.hex

avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update
.
avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.02s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e9502
avrdude: NOTE: FLASH memory has been specified, an erase cycle will be performed

         To disable this feature, specify the -D option.
avrdude: current erase-rewrite cycle count is -1061158822 (if being tracked)
avrdude: erasing chip
avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update
.
avrdude: reading input file "avr6.hex"
avrdude: input file avr6.hex auto detected as Intel Hex
avrdude: writing flash (13728 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 12.16s



avrdude: 13728 bytes of flash written
avrdude: verifying flash memory against avr6.hex:
avrdude: load data flash data from input file avr6.hex:
avrdude: input file avr6.hex auto detected as Intel Hex
avrdude: input file avr6.hex contains 13728 bytes
avrdude: reading on-chip flash data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 8.87s



avrdude: verifying ...
avrdude: 13728 bytes of flash verified

avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK

avrdude done.  Thank you.
I've now soldered the Strobe wire to the AVR-NET-IO, connected the device and Ethernet, and am ready to set up the TCP stack and hopefully connect to the Internet. Another day though...

--

Prior to edit re issues with eBay bought AVRISPmkII:

Thanks for your ongoing help.

B: Step 8 gives this, so it definitely sees the device:

Code:
DLL version:1.2.6.0
Driver version:1.2.6.0

bus/device  idVendor/idProduct
bus-0/\\.\libusb0-0001--0x03eb-0x2104     03EB/2104
- Manufacturer : Atmel
- Product      : AVRISP mkII
- Serial Number: 00A20000011E0
bLength:             18
bDescriptorType:     01h
bcdUSB:              0110h
bDeviceClass:        FFh
bDeviceSubClass:     00h
bDeviceProtocol:     00h
bMaxPacketSize0:     08h
idVendor:            03EBh
idProduct:           2104h
bcdDevice:           0100h
iManufacturer:       1
iProduct:            2
iSerialNumber:       3
bNumConfigurations:  1
  wTotalLength:         32
  bNumInterfaces:       1
  bConfigurationValue:  1
  iConfiguration:       0
  bmAttributes:         80h
  MaxPower:             100
    bInterfaceNumber:   0
    bAlternateSetting:  0
    bNumEndpoints:      2
    bInterfaceClass:    255
    bInterfaceSubClass: 0
    bInterfaceProtocol: 0
    iInterface:         0
      bEndpointAddress: 82h
      bmAttributes:     02h
      wMaxPacketSize:   8
      bInterval:        10
      bRefresh:         0
      bSynchAddress:    0
      bEndpointAddress: 02h
      bmAttributes:     02h
      wMaxPacketSize:   8
      bInterval:        10
      bRefresh:         0
      bSynchAddress:    0
As the AVR-NET-IO has an ATMEGA32 chip I am using:

Code:
avrdude -p m32 -c avrispmkII -P usb
Same error as in my previous post. With the ISP connected I get:

Code:
avrdude: usbdev_send(): wrote -116 out of 1 bytes, err =
avrdude: stk500_send_mk2(): failed to send command to serial port
avrdude: stk500v2_recv_mk2: error in USB receive
With it disconnected I just get this, so it's definitely seeing it and trying to send in the above example:

Code:
avrdude done. Thank you.
Same issue if I install WinAVR (and delete its libusb0.dll) and run AVRDude from WinAVR's folder.

Last edited by Starglider 2; 28 April 2016 at 05:45.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 28 April 2016, 11:32   #10
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,295
Hmm, that's strange.. step 8 output definitely looks right.. glad you got it working, even if not using the mk2.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 02:46   #11
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Thanks. I'm definitely getting somewhere, but stuck again.

See https://github.com/cnvogelg/plipbox/...c/src/amiga.md

I'm following "2.2" route via AmiTCP and the "Network Boot Disk" (after I worked out he'd linked to the wrong URL, oy vey.)

Quote:
Adjust your AmiTCP:bin/startnet and rename the interface to plipbox0
Q: By "Adjust" he means Edit, but what is "the interface"? Here's what I see in the file startnet:

Code:
run >NIL: AmiTCP:AmiTCP
WaitForPort AMITCP
AmiTCP:bin/ifconfig lo0 localhost
AmiTCP:bin/ifconfig $nbddriver $nbdip netmask $nbdnm
AmiTCP:bin/route add amiga.netbootdisk localhost
AmiTCP:bin/route add default $nbdgw
Assign TCP: Exists > NIL:
IF Warn
  Mount TCP: from AmiTCP:devs/Inet-Mountlist
EndIf
run >NIL: AmiTCP:bin/inetd
AmiTCP:bin/login -f amiga_user
Everything else seems to configure as expected (except his typo "s/prefs" where it should be "prefs"). But I get this error on booting the network disk:

Quote:
AmiTCPIP Log
[err ]: OpenDevice: Device or unit failed to open
Maybe because I haven't completed 2.2. Help!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 11:57   #12
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,295
interface is normally the network interface name (e.g. "lo0", "localhost", "eth0", etc).
to me, it isn't obvious which one to rename in that file, but it's probably one of those referred to by one of the $nbddriver/$nbdip variables, because it's unlikely that "lo0"/"localhost" should be renamed.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 12:19   #13
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
You could try Miami (I think there is a demo). On the SANA II setup there is a 'query device' button. Might give you some more info.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 01 May 2016, 07:11   #14
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
You could try Miami (I think there is a demo). On the SANA II setup there is a 'query device' button. Might give you some more info.
I did query device, and got many bits if info, but I'm not clear how you're recommending I use this info with my query above...?

Cheers!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 01 May 2016, 07:12   #15
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
interface is normally the network interface name (e.g. "lo0", "localhost", "eth0", etc).
to me, it isn't obvious which one to rename in that file, but it's probably one of those referred to by one of the $nbddriver/$nbdip variables, because it's unlikely that "lo0"/"localhost" should be renamed.
OK I'll try replacing lo0. That makes sense as a guess at what he had in his head, as plipbox0 also ends in a "0".

#detectivework

Cheers!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 03 May 2016, 23:35   #16
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Well, I worked with lalafa to improve the instructions at https://github.com/cnvogelg/plipbox/...c/src/amiga.md They've been simplified. He actually took out the "rename the interface to plipbox0" bit totally as unnecessary.

I tried renaming lo0 to plipbox0 and back again anyway, before that, to no avail either way.

End result: Following the new instructions to the letter, I can't get it online. I've set the IP in EnvARC:nbdip at 192.168.0.184 but that IP never appears in my router list of connected devices, and PING to that IP results in:

Code:
Request timeout for icmp_seq 24
Request timeout for icmp_seq 28
Request timeout for icmp_seq 29
Request timeout for icmp_seq 30
ping: sendto: No route to host
Request timeout for icmp_seq 31
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 32
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 33
ping: sendto: Host is down
AmiTCPIP Log gives a lot of errors like:

Code:
OpenDevice: Device or unit failed to open
inetd[2b7a88]: time/tcp: bind: Can't assign requested address
inetd[2b7a88]: time/udp: bind: Can't assign requested address
inetd[2b7a88]: ftp/tcp: bind: Can't assign requested address
inetd[2b7a88]: ftp/udp: bind: Can't assign requested address
etc.
I've set nbdgw to 192.168.0.1 as per my router
What should nbdns be? I've tried my router's local address and 8.8.8.8 (Google DNS)

Could it be a router issue? Am I meant to do something else to get the router to accept the IP that nbdip is requesting? Any help greatly appreciated...

Last edited by Starglider 2; 04 May 2016 at 00:51.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 03 May 2016, 23:49   #17
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 63
Posts: 3,968
Shouldn't there be another number after 192.168.184? Like 192.168.1.84
Arnie is offline  
Old 03 May 2016, 23:56   #18
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Shouldn't there be another number after 192.168.184? Like 192.168.1.84
I wish it were that simple. Just a forum typo.
192.168.0.184

Cheers!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 04 May 2016, 00:41   #19
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Code:
inetd[2b7a88]: time/tcp: bind: Can't assign requested address
inetd[2b7a88]: time/udp: bind: Can't assign requested address
inetd[2b7a88]: ftp/tcp: bind: Can't assign requested address
inetd[2b7a88]: ftp/udp: bind: Can't assign requested address
etc.
I've set nbdgw to 192.168.0.1 as per my router
What should nbdns be? I've tried my router's local address and 8.8.8.8 (Google DNS)
I wouldn't worry about this one tho yet, as it's only for name resolution.
Even if it's wrong, you should be able to ping you IP or your router..

Could it be a router issue? Am I meant to do something else to get the router to accept the IP that nbdip is requesting? Any help greatly appreciated...
Not sure, but it sounds like that error isn't coming from your router.
I haven't used the NBD stuff, but it feels a bit solaris-ish.. ;-)
I would think nbdgw should be set to the IP of your router. (Which is probably 192.168.0.1)
I would think nbdip should be set to the IP you want the Amiga to have (and no other device has on your network; sounds like you want 192.168.0.184).
Sounds like nbdns should be the IP of your DNS server, so either your router (192.168.0.1) or 8.8.8.8 should probably work.
I wouldn't worry about that one tho. If that is wrong, you should still be able to ping your own IP or the router IP. That's just name resolution.

But if it can't assign that IP, then something might be wrong with the driver/hardware, or possibly the network definition.
In the old days (solaris flashback, but other systems used it), that was stored in the /etc/networks file..

What is in your devs:networks file? I would think there should be a definition for the 192.168.0.0/24 network somewhere in there???
(Sorry, just guessing here...)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 04 May 2016, 00:44   #20
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Thanks. As per his instructions there is one file in devs:networks

plipbox.device

Edit: I'm also seeing this error in the AmiTCPIP log:

Code:
OpenDevice: Device or unit failed to open

Last edited by Starglider 2; 04 May 2016 at 00:52.
Starglider 2 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a PLIPbox ajack Hardware mods 12 15 September 2016 14:30
Anyone got Plipbox AVR-NET-IO Board? Starglider 2 support.Hardware 11 28 March 2016 19:16
Plipbox on A2000 - Need Help AmigaJohn support.Hardware 12 10 October 2015 04:52
plipbox 0.5 released lallafa News 0 30 November 2013 00:11
Mario's Perestroika (restructuring) flashed Shoonay Nostalgia & memories 6 23 March 2008 15:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10630 seconds with 13 queries