English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 October 2021, 00:39   #1
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 728
Second Samurai AGA crashes WinUAE

This was reported on Discord. The exact thing they wrote was:

Quote:
Second Samurai AGA glitches out on Winuae A1200 + 8MB Fast config, but works fine on real A1200 + Fastram, and has smoother scrolling than Chipmem only config.
I haven't tested on a real A1200, but I tested the IPF on WinUAE 4.4.0 and the latest beta. Once you insert disk 2 and press fire, the audio glitches and then WinUAE crashes.

I'm using the best compatibility A1200 config and giving it 8mb Z2 Fast RAM.

I've attached log and dmp files.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (13.7 KB, 54 views)
File Type: dmp winuae_x64_4.4.0_R_2021.10.23_15.31.41.dmp (120.1 KB, 49 views)
Radertified is offline  
Old 24 October 2021, 09:58   #2
Zarnal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 504
Exact.

I managed to reproduce with the IPF. The cracked version is also affected.

Horrible sound during " Loading " screen and crash.

Edit : ExceptionFilter Trap : 809F0000 7FFF4406 00000000

Last edited by Zarnal; 24 October 2021 at 10:24.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 24 October 2021, 12:25   #3
paraj
Registered User
 
paraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,099
Crashes on this instruction:
Code:
        MOVE.L (A0)+,D1 ; A0 = 0x3c9ffffe
Looks like it's doing a long-word read that ends up reading 2 bytes beyond end of fast ram.

Code:
        MOVE.L (A0)+,D1 ; A0 = 0x3c9ffffe

 	winuae.exe!do_get_mem_long(unsigned int * a) Line 23	C++
>	winuae.exe!memory_get_long(unsigned int addr) Line 3720	C++
 	winuae.exe!get_long(unsigned int addr) Line 540	C++
 	winuae.exe!mem_access_delay_long_read_ce020(unsigned int addr) Line 7980	C++
 	winuae.exe!get_long_ce030(unsigned int addr) Line 114	C++
 	winuae.exe!op_2018_21_ff(unsigned int opcode) Line 10082	C++
 	winuae.exe!m68k_run_2ce() Line 5919	C++
 	winuae.exe!m68k_go(int may_quit) Line 6456	C++
 	winuae.exe!do_start_program() Line 1052	C++
 	winuae.exe!start_program() Line 1068	C++
 	winuae.exe!real_main2(int argc, wchar_t * * argv) Line 1208	C++
 	winuae.exe!real_main(int argc, wchar_t * * argv) Line 1222	C++
 	winuae.exe!WinMain2(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * hPrevInstance, wchar_t * lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow) Line 7156	C++
 	winuae.exe!wWinMain(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * hPrevInstance, wchar_t * lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow) Line 8045	C++
 	[Inline Frame] winuae.exe!invoke_main() Line 118	C++
 	winuae.exe!__scrt_common_main_seh() Line 288	C++
 	kernel32.dll!@BaseThreadInitThunk@12()	Unknown
 	ntdll.dll!__RtlUserThreadStart()	Unknown
 	ntdll.dll!__RtlUserThreadStart@8()	Unknown
Can also be reproduced by attached config/exe:

Code:
	move.l $3c9ffffe, d0
	rts
Attached Files
File Type: uae crash.uae (12.5 KB, 51 views)
File Type: 68k crash.68k (44 Bytes, 46 views)
paraj is offline  
Old 24 October 2021, 12:32   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,505
It crashes because Z2 RAM does not have "safety barrier" at the end of RAM which allows unaligned long/word accesses to not hit non-mapped RAM. This got broken when PCMCIA support was improved (memory mapping code thinks PCMCIA is memory mapped immediately after Z2 but PCMCIA is never direct mapped)

EDIT: fixed but this does not affect sound glitch which happens because game goes to infinite loop, reading random memory.

Does this game really work on A1200 with 68EC020 CPU + Z2 RAM? (Which is not common config) 68020 or higher (32-bit address space) is not same config.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 24 October 2021 at 12:52.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 October 2021, 17:48   #5
Aardvark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 634
It does work with one of these Fastmem expansions https://www.ebay.com/itm/164321559017, but not with ACA1233n which has option to turn off 68030 but still use 8mb of acceleration memory (ends up with the same sound glitch).
Tested on 1D4 motherboard with KS3.0

And yes, the game is smoother with Fastmem.

Edit: The ebay link is a 8mb expansion card "designed by edu.arena based on the TF320 by Stephen Leary"

Last edited by Aardvark; 09 December 2021 at 16:14.
Aardvark is offline  
Old 24 October 2021, 20:47   #6
Zarnal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
EDIT: fixed but this does not affect sound glitch which happens because game goes to infinite loop, reading random memory.

Is this caused by the usual CPU concerns with EC020/Fast ?

Last edited by Zarnal; 25 October 2021 at 14:21. Reason: This question makes no sense. Exotic unrealistic 68000 14Mhz AGA + Fast config has the same effect.
Zarnal is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second Samurai AGA: controls useless Amiga1992 project.WHDLoad 52 14 April 2022 23:40
Second Samurai AGA vs ECS - any tangible difference? earok support.Games 4 29 March 2020 13:01
Second Samurai (AGA) crashes WInUAE Amiga1992 support.WinUAE 9 24 January 2016 10:58
DOTT AGA Crashes on start Hache support.Games 5 06 January 2016 09:30
Burning Rubber (AGA) crashes NPI support.Games 0 07 September 2009 15:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:09.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09858 seconds with 16 queries