English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 August 2022, 15:55   #1
Leon Besson
Banned
 
Leon Besson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Anywhere and everywhere I have a contract
Posts: 822
Question Custom Blizzard/DCE 603 PPC Firmware?

Yo Bromigos!

I seem to recall seeing a post in here (Which I can’t find anymore) where some enterprising person created some custom firmware for the Blizzard 603 PPC card where it omitted the ppc.library?
I know BBPCfix is supposed to do this at software level, but I have a problematic scenario where it doesn’t always fix this for WarpUP and get the old ppc.library detected and to terminate on some occasions message.

Anyone know if this is still available? And can provide a link?

Thanks Mangs!
Leon Besson is offline  
Old 10 August 2022, 16:00   #2
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard
 
indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,293
BPPCFix is still your friend, but it needs to be the very very first thing that happens in your startup-sequence.

Top 15 lines of my old (working) S-S for 3.2.1:

Code:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 47.16 (18.10.2021)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems

; Below needed to use WarpOS with BPPC
C:BPPCFix install 040 reboot >NIL:

Version exec.library version 47 >NIL:
If Warn
  LoadModule Libs:Modules/AtapiMagic L:System-Startup ROMUPDATE
Else
  Version strap version 47 >NIL:
  If Warn
    LoadModule DOWNGRADE Libs:Modules/AtapiMagic L:Ram-Handler L:Shell-Seg L:System-Startup Libs:dos.library Libs:gadtools.library Libs:graphics.library >NIL:
  EndIf
EndIf
indigolemon is offline  
Old 10 August 2022, 16:12   #3
Jope
-
 
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 9,874
Cosmos had some kind of BPPC firmware that works if you have no PPC chip on the card at all, but this was probably not what you were looking for. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 10 August 2022, 17:41   #4
Leon Besson
Banned
 
Leon Besson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Anywhere and everywhere I have a contract
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
BPPCFix is still your friend, but it needs to be the very very first thing that happens in your startup-sequence.

Top 15 lines of my old (working) S-S for 3.2.1:

Code:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 47.16 (18.10.2021)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems

; Below needed to use WarpOS with BPPC
C:BPPCFix install 040 reboot >NIL:

Version exec.library version 47 >NIL:
If Warn
  LoadModule Libs:Modules/AtapiMagic L:System-Startup ROMUPDATE
Else
  Version strap version 47 >NIL:
  If Warn
    LoadModule DOWNGRADE Libs:Modules/AtapiMagic L:Ram-Handler L:Shell-Seg L:System-Startup Libs:dos.library Libs:gadtools.library Libs:graphics.library >NIL:
  EndIf
EndIf
Yep that seems to work Bromigo!

Interesting that the BBPCfix I used was off THORsMMUlibs and wasn’t placed right at the beginning. But I had also installed the FASTATA drivers afterwards.

I didn’t also have that “reboot” syntax on my BBPfix as I just added the >NIL:

So I’m guessing the reboot option helps

Thanks!
Leon Besson is offline  
Old 10 August 2022, 17:44   #5
Leon Besson
Banned
 
Leon Besson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Anywhere and everywhere I have a contract
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Cosmos had some kind of BPPC firmware that works if you have no PPC chip on the card at all, but this was probably not what you were looking for. :-)
Nope Bromigo! I recall there were a few out there.

1).. One was to add a more recent ppc.library which wasn’t available from P5

2).. I bought a 060 BPPC a few months back when I had a contract in the US of A That when I checked the ppc.library was missing on. Unfortunately I reflashed it to try for G-REX testing
Leon Besson is offline  
Old 28 August 2022, 13:18   #6
back2skooldaze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: leeds,UK
Posts: 95
@leon I get the terminate message but do I still need to install bbpcfix regardless ?
back2skooldaze is offline  
Old 28 August 2022, 14:11   #7
Leon Besson
Banned
 
Leon Besson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Anywhere and everywhere I have a contract
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by back2skooldaze View Post
@leon I get the terminate message but do I still need to install bbpcfix regardless ?
Hi Bromigo!

If you are getting the “Terminate” message after installing WarpUP/WarpOS is because it doesn’t expect the ppc.library to be seen off the card.

You need BBPCfix to fix that problem. I used ThorsMMULib in “expert” mode to get the BPPCfix program installed and to change the startup-sequence.

If you want to do it manually. Then get BPPCfix off Aminet. Install copy this into C:

Then add at the very beginning of your startup-sequence the following:

C:BBPCfix install 040 reboot >NIL:

You need the reboot option or it doesn’t work right as I found out Mang!

Links;

MMUlib here http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/MMULib

BPPCfix is included in THORsmmulibs
Leon Besson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling a Blizzard PPC 1240/603. SYN7HOR MarketPlace 3 17 March 2013 11:31
For sale: Blizzard PPC rev2 from DCE 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz + 2x64MB of RAM (50ns) stachu100 MarketPlace 11 25 July 2010 22:22
Custom PSP Firmware question tonyyeb Retrogaming General Discussion 19 11 June 2010 09:59
BPPC 040/25MHz+PPC for Blizzard/DCE 1260. Sallinen Swapshop 7 13 October 2008 09:05
Blizzard PPC 040/25 + PPC 603 @160mhz + SCSI + BVision BippyM MarketPlace 14 04 August 2006 12:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:36.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07335 seconds with 13 queries