English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 15 December 2007, 14:54   #1
mrbob2

Is emulation/retro gaming coming to an end?

MM strange question but ive been thinking.......

Im really into retro gaming, amiga (fav) megadrive, psx, snes to name a few. The point of my thread is, in 20 years time, what will be emulated?

PC? i have been using windows pc`s for 8 years and have NO fond memories.

PS2? dont really care even tho i had many top games, pro evo and GTA are on pc so no need to emulate those.

PS3? As most games are simply updated, no one is really going to remeniss or want to emualate fifa 08 when they will be playing fifa 2028

People who emulate amigas i would say are 95% previous owners, in the future there will be no new members of the amiga following, i guess people will just vanish due to life changes etc.

xbox 360? same reasons as ps3 really, hard to get dewey eyed over the games available today. On the amiga you had games like jaguar xj220 and projext x that were classics but never had sequels, nowadays nearly every game is followed by a number or sub title....
Old 15 December 2007, 15:00   #2
Graham Humphrey

I don't think it will ever die out. The thing is the kids who are growing up with the PS2/PS3 etc. will probably get nostalgic for the "good old days" in 20 years' time, like a lot of us here do now. It'll always happen I'm sure, the whole "modern games aren't as good" attitude - just look at Amiga mags' letters pages 15 years ago; "Amiga games aren't as playable as C64/Speccy games", and then later on: "PSX games aren't as playable as Amiga games", and so on. Can't imagine it ever going away.
Old 15 December 2007, 15:14   #3
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e

As Graham said people will always be nostalgic for what they had when they were young. So there might be less followers for C64/Amiga etc... but does it matter? Not to me - I've never left Amiga since 1990