English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

Old 17 January 2015, 04:40   #1
Nekoniaow
Banned

Good day to you fluffy creatures!

Hi,

I am doing things in the wrong order since I created an account a few weeks ago and have already been posting left and right on the forums but I hope it's not too late for a proper presentation.

It will seem quite weird but I'm led back to the Amiga after almost 20 years of separation by my desire to practice the language Haskell. I'm a programmer by trade in the video games industry and have been coding in c/c++, python, c# and some other very classic imperative languages but I have a soft spot for the fantastic possibilities offered by Haskell although I was struggling to find small-to-mid size projects on which I could learn the ropes. Since the Amiga is a much less complex platforms than nowadays PCs and consoles and requires a simpler tool and game pipeline I thought I could both have fun coding back on the Amiga and get my hands dirty with some Haskell practice by coding the necessary tools.

Since I entered the industry in 1998 I obviously never had a chance to develop any game for the Amiga but I did code a lot on it though while in the university before I finally switched to the PC, then the Mac. So it is also a nice way to realize a dream I had as a late teen way before I became a professional coder. Although I have absolutely zero regrets to work and play on PC and Macs these days the machine clearly still has a special place in my heart.