English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 May 2016, 16:47   #1
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Copper Wait Problem

I've got some problem to get position below 200px window. To get that I'll do what HW sugget: wait last line and do another wait. But it seems don't work.
here my code:

dc.w $ffdf,$fffe
dc.w $1001,$fffe
dc.w $0180,$0fff

Some bugs on winuae? Maybe after that end copper list must be different? I use the classic

dc.w $ffff,$fffe

My examples is running on Aga. I did some test on ocs/ecs and seems to works fine.

This issue is present when I activate Burst Aga mode to 64bit:

dc.w $01fc,%1111
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 16 May 2016, 16:49   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,570
100% not enough information! (My crystal ball says bitplane dma steals cycles from copper)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 14:47   #3
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
100% not enough information! (My crystal ball says bitplane dma steals cycles from copper)
if I turn of burst mode it works. It seems a bug since I change bitplane pointer after that copper wait, and nothing is happening!

Do you want the exe? I can provide code too
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 15:27   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,570
Executable (that needs nothing else) is the best way to confirm it.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 20:40   #5
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Executable (that needs nothing else) is the best way to confirm it.
Were I send it?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 20:53   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,570
Attach file? Upload to the zone? Email? Your choice
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 20:55   #7
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Attach file? Upload to the zone? Email? Your choice
email , if I may
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 21:27   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,570
My crystal ball guess was correct. Real A1200 also shows identical image.

DDFSTOP is far too large for AGA higher fetch modes, causing bitplane DMA to steal nearly all cycles at the end of scanline. Vertical position wraps around to 0 before copper has had time to wake up -> copper keeps waiting..

You can use DMA debugger to check it ("v -1" in debugger to enable it). Then v <vpos> <hpos> to see line's activity.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 21:29   #9
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
My crystal ball guess was correct. Real A1200 also shows identical image.

DDFSTOP is far too large for AGA higher fetch modes, causing bitplane DMA to steal nearly all cycles at the end of scanline. Vertical position wraps around to 0 before copper has had time to wake up -> copper keeps waiting..

You can use DMA debugger to check it ("v -1" in debugger to enable it). Then v <vpos> <hpos> to see line's activity.
So I cant' use pal screen? I have to use only ntsc? Is there any way to do that?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 21:32   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
So I cant' use pal screen? I have to use only ntsc? Is there any way to do that?
No, your screen is too wide, not too tall and wasting DMA cycles. You have extra 64 pixels completely hidden in right border.. Just reduce DDFSTOP, probably something like $c0 or so is correct. (not $d0!)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 21:33   #11
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
No, your screen is too wide, not too tall and wasting DMA cycles. You have extra 64 pixels completely hidden in right border.. Just reduce DDFSTOP, probably something like $c0 or so is correct. (not $d0!)
ok. I'll try, thanks for help
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 21:40   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,570
Even easier way: reduce DDFSTOP until screen becomes corrupted, then compensate it with modulo. Done
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 21:41   #13
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
No, your screen is too wide, not too tall and wasting DMA cycles. You have extra 64 pixels completely hidden in right border.. Just reduce DDFSTOP, probably something like $c0 or so is correct. (not $d0!)

Using somenting like b8 is fine
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 21:54   #14
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Even easier way: reduce DDFSTOP until screen becomes corrupted, then compensate it with modulo. Done
Thanks for helping me. I left there some broken code
sandruzzo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combining copper scrolling with copper background phx Coders. Asm / Hardware 16 13 February 2021 12:41
Copper Wait Problem sandruzzo Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 17 May 2016 10:30
Problem running copper master demo on A1200 whitebird support.Demos 26 17 August 2014 17:41
Copper effect problem Steve support.WinUAE 3 25 June 2011 14:05
Problem installing Bloodwych's Copper Workbench Thalor project.ClassicWB 25 29 December 2003 18:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:59.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11407 seconds with 13 queries