English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 26 May 2013, 16:05   #1
W4LKR

Getting protracker 2.2a samples from PC to floppy and working

Hey all,

I'm new to the Amigascene and bought an Amiga500 a week ago. It was 10 euro's so I couldn't let it pass.

My idea was to make music with it using protracker. I was kind of lucky when I found an old floppy with Protracker 2.2a on it inside the A500!

I also bought a USB floppydrive and some floppy's.

The problem I'm running into is that I want to put samples on my 'new' floppy's and load them in PT 2.2a but PT 2.2a keeps saying 'Can't find DIR' whenever I try to load the samples.

Anyone knows how to get it to work?

Thanks in advance!

Old 26 May 2013, 17:15   #2
daxb

Can you read the filestructure from PT2.2a disk? The sample files are listed from your sample disks and the error messages appears after click on a sample?
Old 26 May 2013, 17:23   #3
W4LKR

The error occurs when I try to load the disk. It doesn't show any files at all.

What do you mean by reading the filestructure? If you mean the helpfile, I did read that and it didn't really help. Also if you mean 'are you using the correct sample file extensions or sizes', those are also correct (got them from http://aminet.net/mods/inst, which should be the right format).

Old 26 May 2013, 17:24   #4
s2325
Zone Friend

I think your disk is still in PC format, ProTracker can not read something like that.
Old 26 May 2013, 17:26   #5
W4LKR

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
I think your disk is still in PC format, ProTracker can not read something like that.
Is there a way to format them into an Amiga compatible format?

Old 26 May 2013, 17:56   #6
s2325
Zone Friend

Easiest way is to run ProTracker with WinUAE.
Old 26 May 2013, 18:02   #7
W4LKR

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Easiest way is to run ProTracker with WinUAE.