English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 November 2022, 23:21   #1
golem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 72
PCMCIA network cards

Wow I had occasion to look at the price of older 16 bit Ethernet PCMCIA cards on eBay and was shocked at how much these are going for. If you can find them some are £70 on buy it now. Like Amigans themselves the old tech gets rarer. Trying not to brag that I have one already but I just fixed it with Cardreset patch it needed optional switch. I’ve probably been unplugging it for 15 years to get it to work!
golem is offline  
Old 30 November 2022, 00:27   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,564
16-bit 10mbit ethernet Cards are dirt cheap. They sell for 99p every day. It's the cables that everyone has lost that cost about £20-£30
alexh is offline  
Old 30 November 2022, 12:29   #3
Boing-Ball
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 189
Do your research and just look for PCMCIA network cards (16 bit, 5V). Then just get hold of the relevant drivers off Aminet.
Too many so called Amiga resellers taking the piss because they know what to do with them and sell to consumers at inflated rates.
Boing-Ball is offline  
Old 30 November 2022, 12:49   #4
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sassari/Italy
Posts: 584
Unfortunately it is not that easy to get (a working) one.

And when you get one it could be defective like the latest I got that isn't "seen" by easynet/amitcp even if I checked before buying it that it was compatible (it should work with the cnet driver but I don't even get its mac address when I query the card within easynet).

As alexh said there are also many for sale without dongle so they are completely useless. I haven't understood yet if the dongles are all different or if it is possible to use a dongle with any (or at least more) cards but I guess that you have to use the specific dongle for each cards.

In a few words... good luck!
jurassicman is offline  
Old 30 November 2022, 13:04   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,564
Xircom 16-bit PCMCIA ethernet cards with integrated cables have a compatible Amiga driver.

But IIRC they don't fit without removing the plastic shell from the card OR increasing the height of the PCMCIA slot opening in the Amiga case using a file.

The 3C589 driver came along many years after the cnet driver. As such these cards tend to be cheaper but equally compatible.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 November 2022, 14:36   #6
Boing-Ball
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassicman View Post
Unfortunately it is not that easy to get (a working) one.

And when you get one it could be defective like the latest I got that isn't "seen" by easynet/amitcp even if I checked before buying it that it was compatible (it should work with the cnet driver but I don't even get its mac address when I query the card within easynet).

As alexh said there are also many for sale without dongle so they are completely useless. I haven't understood yet if the dongles are all different or if it is possible to use a dongle with any (or at least more) cards but I guess that you have to use the specific dongle for each cards.

In a few words... good luck!
Easynet!? Maybe where you are going wrong. Amigakit tend to use 3Com Ethernet III cards, which tend to work 100% of the time.
Boing-Ball is offline  
Old 30 November 2022, 15:43   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,564
There are two drivers for the two (?) PCMCIA ethernet chipsets.

https://aminet.net/package/driver/net/cnetdevice
https://aminet.net/package/driver/net/3c589

Use the wrong one and it's not going to show up.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 November 2022, 17:39   #8
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sassari/Italy
Posts: 584
I have been using easynet pro since 2014 and during all these years I used at least 5 or 6 different cards with it (probably more including wifi cards).

I had a 3com that I used with the 3c589 driver and now I have a card that uses the cnet driver and that works well (I don't remember the maker at the moment).

The latest card I bought (a Belkin F5D5020) was supposed to work with the same cnet drivers but when I plug it I don't get any "signs of life" from the card (no blink at all on the dongle's led and no mac address when I query it within easynet).
jurassicman is offline  
Old 01 December 2022, 01:29   #9
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,005
I have 3 x BNIB PCMCIA network card that has an ethernet port so cable, that typically comes with such cards, is not required. Tested one on A600 and worked perfectly well!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 01 December 2022, 06:33   #10
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassicman View Post
As alexh said there are also many for sale without dongle so they are completely useless.
Not completely useless...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3com.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	29.5 KB
ID:	77274  
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 01 December 2022, 13:59   #11
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sassari/Italy
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
Not completely useless...
Cool solution...
jurassicman is offline  
Old 01 December 2022, 18:52   #12
larsovef
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Trondheim
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
Not completely useless...
Teach me !
larsovef is offline  
Old 21 December 2022, 01:35   #13
ncafferkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Xircom 16-bit PCMCIA ethernet cards with integrated cables have a compatible Amiga driver.

Which ones? I thought all Xircoms used a proprietary chipset (not cnet.device compatible). Unless there's a Xircom-specific driver I don't know about.
ncafferkey is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network cards JackTheKnife support.Hardware 4 08 December 2009 21:24
PCMCIA Squirrel + PCMCIA Network Card tootoid support.Hardware 1 18 April 2007 13:13
Any uses network cards Ami-PC? dirkies support.Hardware 19 08 August 2006 10:52
Network Cards [Mr_L] support.Hardware 2 07 January 2004 17:28
Network cards and the A1200 - Again! ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 15 18 March 2003 17:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08391 seconds with 15 queries