English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. AMOS

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2023, 05:16   #1
DrkStarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Detroit / USA
Posts: 37
Changing Fonts Using AMCAF

Hello,
I've loaded AMCAF on AMOS. The test programs work fine.

But I'm trying to change the TEXT Font for the program.
This is my code:

Code:
BANKFONT=101
Dload "computer-8x8.font",BANKFONT
Make Bank Font BANKFONT
Bank Name BANKFONT,"BankFont"
Change Bank Font BANKFONT
If I try this there's no change. And if I change the last line to this:

Code:
Change Font "BankFont"
It says that it couldn't open the font.

Any ideas?
DrkStarr is offline  
Old 16 July 2023, 05:22   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,193
AMCAF fonts are from Amiga bitmap fonts. AMOS 8×8 fonts are a different format. Which are you importing from?
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 16 July 2023, 05:32   #3
DrkStarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Detroit / USA
Posts: 37
I'm pretty sure it's an AMOS font I'm trying to use. It can be edited in AMOS's Font Editor Program.
DrkStarr is offline  
Old 16 July 2023, 05:47   #4
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,193
Ok. That's your problem. There are Amiga bitmap font editors on the Aminet that'll serve your purpose. Otherwise you'll have to use the ordinary AmosPro text rendering.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 16 July 2023, 15:05   #5
DrkStarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Detroit / USA
Posts: 37
So I'm playing around with Get Disk Fonts and Set Font, and I found a font on the computer that I can use. It's font 50.

My question is, when AMOS does Get Disk Fonts, is that different for each computer? So your Font 50 might be different than my Font 50?
DrkStarr is offline  
Old 16 July 2023, 15:31   #6
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,193
50 is the size of the font. The directory it is stored in has the name of the font.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 16 July 2023, 19:10   #7
DrkStarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Detroit / USA
Posts: 37
This is what I'm doing:
Code:
Get Disk Fonts
Set Font 50
I don't think that's setting the font size to 50. My question is will this generate the same type of font for all machines? I doubt it. So is there an easy way to lock it in?
DrkStarr is offline  
Old 17 July 2023, 13:33   #8
adrazar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Oslo
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrkStarr View Post
So is there an easy way to lock it in?
You could load the font with Set Font, store it in an unused memory bank using Make Bank Font, and then save it as a .abk file (using Save). After this can you load the font by loading the .abk file (using Load) and then apply it with Change Bank Font.
adrazar is offline  
Old 17 July 2023, 15:04   #9
DrkStarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Detroit / USA
Posts: 37
Thanks adrazar,

I was able to do this:

Code:
Get Disk Fonts
Set Font 50

Make Bank Font 10
Save "comp-font.abk",10
The in my main program I load it back like this:
Code:
Screen Open 0,320,200,16,Lowres
Flash Off : Curs Off
Screen 0 : Cls 0 : Ink 2,0

Load "comp-font.abk",10
Change Bank Font 10

Text 100,100,"Star Trade"
I hope 10 is a good memory bank. In my game I'm just using some Bobs and Samples.

- Thanks for all the help
DrkStarr is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fonts GordonM support.WinUAE 8 04 May 2016 18:20
Jabberwocky - fonts Predseda support.Apps 0 13 February 2013 22:17
Kara Fonts? Photon request.Apps 23 14 November 2008 23:22
Digita fonts MrZammler request.Apps 4 12 December 2005 10:21
Fonts alkis21 request.Apps 2 23 August 2002 09:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:55.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11852 seconds with 13 queries