English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 December 2012, 12:32   #1
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 43
Posts: 500
Problem retrieving HTTP data with FS-UAE Launcher

Hi Frode,

I want to test this new version on Windows 7, but get this error:

URLError: <urlopen error [Errno 11004] getaddrinfo failed>

I think, it's a locally problem with my machine. Can you tell me how to fix this?

Last edited by nexusle; 27 January 2013 at 21:08.
nexusle is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 13:14   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,990
It fails with "getaddrinfo failed" while trying to access http://fengestad.no/games/api/1/changes?from=1 with the Python HTTP libraries. This means that the system could not resolve fengestad.no to a IP address via DNS.

The most likely explanation is that you're not connected (properly) to the Internet. Perhaps you're on a machine with limited web access only (via some proxy for example), and where applications don't have Internet access?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 13:52   #3
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 43
Posts: 500
hmmm... mysterious!

If I ping fengestad.no I get answer...

I must search...
nexusle is offline  
Old 13 December 2012, 19:25   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,990
Another obvious suggestion - which was so obvious that I didn't think of it :
Perhaps an installed firewall software blocks FS-UAE Launcher?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 13 December 2012, 23:55   #5
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 43
Posts: 500
This could be!! Norton Anti Virus have a build in firewall. I'll try it tomorrow
nexusle is offline  
Old 14 December 2012, 14:44   #6
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 47
Posts: 1,510
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Norton

try using Microsoft Security essential...
Foul is offline  
Old 14 December 2012, 19:15   #7
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 43
Posts: 500
That's not my choice! It's my work notebook and the company uses NAV
nexusle is offline  
Old 14 December 2012, 19:23   #8
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,990
And of course, if you cannot find information about whether FS-UAE Launcher is blacklisted / not whitelisted, or whatever is needed, try temporarily disabling all security software and see if it works then. -Then at least you'll know if the problem lies there.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE Launcher FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 414 20 September 2015 22:39
Problem choosing folders in FS-UAE Launcher on Linux jumb0 support.FS-UAE 2 13 December 2012 02:56
FS-UAE Launcher portable? toprak support.FS-UAE 5 11 December 2012 18:17
[FS-UAE] Amiga Game Database for FS-UAE Launcher nexusle support.FS-UAE 31 24 August 2012 21:24
UAE launcher for game or demo Frazor support.WinUAE 4 28 March 2003 17:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07584 seconds with 13 queries