English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 December 2012, 20:08   #1
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 41
Posts: 358
ClassicWB Speed

I have a fully loaded ClassicWB for UAE install by Bloodwych.

Under WinUAE it flies along nicely, But under FS-UAE its a lot slower, It does work but it clearly is not happy about it.

If I open a folder that contains multiple sub-folders it takes a few seconds to 'draw in' the folders but under WinUAE it is near instant.

I'm not sure if this is an emulator problem or an Amiga speed problem being that the fastest machine I can configure on FS-UAE is an A4k/040.

It's been a while since I last used WinUAE but I'm pretty sure I used an A1200/060 setup.

Perhaps adding an 060 option to FS-UAE would be helpfull.

Also I feel that the machine model and cpu type would be better seperated so that users could create there own config..(EG: A1200/060) but that is just my opinion.

Last edited by DaveMB; 09 December 2012 at 20:09. Reason: sausage fingers
DaveMB is offline  
Old 09 December 2012, 20:48   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,989
Fastest-possible-mode in FS-UAE is not implemented very well, and some shortcuts were taken in order to make it work. Running games in this mode seems to have uneven frame rate. A more thorough implementation will probably fix these issues.

A4000/060 or A1200/060 would not be faster than A4000/040 - this would effectively only change the CPU instruction set and features, not the speed. A4000/040 runs as fast as the computer permits (at least if the implementation is correct) and the speed is not in any way linked to a real 68040 CPU.

(BTW, if you compared WinUAE+JIT with FS-UAE without JIT, then the comparison is not fair )
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 09 December 2012, 21:33   #3
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 41
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post

(BTW, if you compared WinUAE+JIT with FS-UAE without JIT, then the comparison is not fair )
Ahhh sorry, didn't realise FS-UAE was lacking JIT, Will that be implemented?

edit never mind. just seen this
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Because I'm not interested enough to do the work. Yes, there is JIT code in the sources, but you cannot just "enable" it. Code must also be written/fixed to make mapped memory work properly on all platforms (code can be sourced from UAE and WinUAE, of course). I'm not saying this is a big obstacle, just saying that it is some work..

And it won't work on Linux x86-64 versions, since JIT for x86-64 has not been written (I'm primarily interested in features which can work more or identically on all supported platforms).
DaveMB is offline  
Old 09 December 2012, 21:39   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,989
JIT is available if you run the x86 (32-bit) version of FS-UAE on Mac or Linux. It currently does not work on Windows. See http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=818128 for more information.

(Also, only indirect memory access is used, not direct memory - as that mode crashes and I haven't tried to figure that out).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 10 December 2012, 20:19   #5
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMB View Post
If I open a folder that contains multiple sub-folders it takes a few seconds to 'draw in' the folders but under WinUAE it is near instant....
Already tried out icon.library 46.4?

http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/IconLib_46.4
PeterK is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 18:04   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMB View Post
edit never mind. just seen this
I assume you read my other reply, but the quote you found were from *before* support for JIT was actually implemented, in spite of what I said
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 22:26   #7
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 41
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
I assume you read my other reply, but the quote you found were from *before* support for JIT was actually implemented, in spite of what I said
I'm a little confused (no change there)

Under Linux x86 is JIT already enabled or does it require a config line?
DaveMB is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 22:59   #8
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 43
Posts: 500
cachesize = 8192

But note that JIT under Linux only have indirect memory access. This is a bit slower than direct memory access under Windows.
nexusle is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 23:09   #9
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 41
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
cachesize = 8192

But note that JIT under Linux only have indirect memory access. This is a bit slower than direct memory access under Windows.
ok thanks
DaveMB is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 23:46   #10
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,989
Actually,
Code:
uae_cachesize = 8192
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 23:04   #11
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 43
Posts: 500
Ohh sorry, forget the uae_
nexusle is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.3.3 vs 2.4.0 speed mingle support.WinUAE 22 03 May 2012 01:14
Which OS - ClassicWB 3.1 ADVSP or ClassicWB 3.9? MrGimper support.Hardware 7 06 October 2010 12:10
Multiboot ClassicWB/3.1 and ClassicWB/OS3.9 MrGimper support.Hardware 4 16 September 2010 20:42
Need for speed! DDNI Retrogaming General Discussion 2 06 April 2008 00:31
OS 3.1/3.5/3.9 Speed fc.studio support.Apps 6 17 August 2005 14:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07895 seconds with 15 queries