English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 September 2006, 18:47   #1
SabreGolly
Registered User
SabreGolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cheshire/UK
Age: 50
Posts: 77
Making an image of a real Amiga Harddrive to use in WinUAE?

Hello there! Not been here for a while...

I've searched for ages trying to find a simple solution to this, and I'm sure it must be something that people have done lots - but I'm !

I have a real A1200 with KS3.0 and a 512MB HD sitting two feet away from my PC, and I'd simply like to clone it on WinUAE.

Rather than mess with loads of discs and ADF's, I would like to make a copy of my Workbench partition as an HDF so I have an instant start. I have not used winUAE before, but knowing how long it has taken me to have my miggy set up just the way I like it, I don't fancy going through that again!

My WB partition is 30MB, but I use a compact flash PCMCIA adaptor, so transferring big files is no problem.

Can anyone recommend an easy to use app which will image my hard drive (on my amiga) to a .hdf file in such a way so that I can use it in winUAE?

Thanks in advance
SabreGolly is offline  
Old 30 September 2006, 20:25   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,195
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i have the solution, my super EAB transfer disk !!

you must have only a parallel cable MALE to MALE to use it and an old PC under W95.

It takes 20 minutes to copy 1950 files for me.

ask if you need it !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 September 2006, 20:37   #3
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver
an old PC under W95.
Really dlfrsilver, like Win 3.11???

I thought it just couldn't be Win2000 or WinXP i.e. Win98 PC would be fine?
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 September 2006, 22:04   #4
SabreGolly
Registered User
SabreGolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cheshire/UK
Age: 50
Posts: 77
So does this create a hardfile on the amiga, then send it across - or does the PC 'read' the amiga drive via the parallel port?

The sending files from amiga to PC is not a problem as I can use a cf card. This was a bit of a revelation - I bought a null modem cable from Maplins (9.99GBP! bloody hell!) but the two machines just refused to speak. Then I remembered my other half buying a PCMCIA compact flash adaptor for her laptop, so I downloaded a few drivers from aminet, and it works great. When I used transrom I copied my KS rom straight to the card and it was instant - I thought it hadn't done anything.

I don't fancy buying anymore cables - and the only pc in the house running w95 is an old laptop somewhere that doesn't even have a network card IIRC. I'll have a root around see what I can find.

There must be an app somewhere to make a hardfile on the amiga itself, I just can't find the bloody thing!
SabreGolly is offline  
Old 30 September 2006, 22:33   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,466
http://www.aminet.net/package.php?pa...misc/tsgui.lha
thomas is offline  
Old 01 October 2006, 00:50   #6
SabreGolly
Registered User
SabreGolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cheshire/UK
Age: 50
Posts: 77
Thanks! I tried about 50 different search terms in aminet and never saw this.

Been lha-ing my hard drive and it is taking forever, but got my workbench partition going so the rest should be plain sailing.

Thanks again.
SabreGolly is offline  
Old 01 October 2006, 01:06   #7
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 3,840
Yeah, thanks!

I needed it,too
viddi is offline  
Old 01 October 2006, 18:59   #8
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,195
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
thanks thomas, i never knew about TSGUI ^^.

thank for giving the link ^^
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating HDF image with real Amiga. ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 3 26 July 2013 16:09
real harddrive problem r6stu support.WinUAE 2 21 March 2010 09:19
Making image of HDD to transfer to CF Raffaz New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 10 July 2007 12:08
Using Amiga harddrive in WinUAE? torob support.WinUAE 8 01 July 2006 03:35
Easiest way to create a hardfile from a real Amiga Harddrive chrispoacher New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 28 March 2006 02:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07650 seconds with 15 queries