English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 December 2021, 09:16   #1
Fairdinkem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Koo Wee Rup / Australia
Posts: 10
Mediator fastethernet connection stalls

Hi,

When trying to browse the internet and download files the connection within seconds sometimes minutes stalls especially when downloading a larger file say 25mb from aminet.net, to resume I have to disconnect the TCP stack and restart the TCP stack. The issue occurs when using any TCP stack ie Roadshow - licensed full version, MiamiDX - licensed full version or Genesis - licensed full version, it also occurs with any browser I have tried ie iBrowse - licensed full version 2.5.5, AWeb and Netsurf 68K.

I downloaded the latest fastethernet.device - issue persists, I have also got the latest AmiSSL installed.

I have tried three different ethernet cards also.

System Specs:

Amiga A1200
Mediator 1200TX
Terrible Fire 1260 with 68060 rev 6
Indivision AGA Mk3
Spider USB 2.0
Fast Ethernet - SMC Ethernet PCI Network Card SMC1211TX 10/100Mbps
3.2 Roms
Workbench 3.2
Roadshow - licensed
iBrowse 2.5.5 - licensed
Fastethernet.device 1.25

I am hoping someone may have an idea of what is going on and a possible solution.
Fairdinkem is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 13:31   #2
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,106
Which graphics card are you using in this setup?
indigolemon is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 13:55   #3
Fairdinkem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Koo Wee Rup / Australia
Posts: 10
Radeon 9200pro 128mb
Fairdinkem is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 14:04   #4
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,072
I would give it a try with OS3.1
trixster is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 14:49   #5
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,106
You've pretty much got the same setup as me there:

- Amiga A1200
- Mediator 1200TX
- BPPC 060/603e
- Indivision AGA Mk2
- Radeon 9200 128MB
- Spider USB 2.0
- Fast Ethernet
- FM801 Sound Card
- 3.2 Roms
- Workbench 3.2
- Roadshow - licensed
- iBrowse 2.5.5 - licensed
- Fastethernet.device 1.25

So far, I've not had the issues you are describing - the only thing I did tweak was config when using Roadshow.

In the file I created in NetInterfaces I added the lines:
Code:
iprequests=48
writerequests=48
Aside from that it's all fairly boggo

Is it always when dealing with a larger file?
indigolemon is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 18:51   #6
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairdinkem View Post
Hi,

When trying to browse the internet and download files the connection within seconds sometimes minutes stalls especially when downloading a larger file say 25mb from aminet.net, to resume I have to disconnect the TCP stack and restart the TCP stack. The issue occurs when using any TCP stack ie Roadshow - licensed full version, MiamiDX - licensed full version or Genesis - licensed full version, it also occurs with any browser I have tried ie iBrowse - licensed full version 2.5.5, AWeb and Netsurf 68K.

I downloaded the latest fastethernet.device - issue persists, I have also got the latest AmiSSL installed.

I have tried three different ethernet cards also.

System Specs:

Amiga A1200
Mediator 1200TX
Terrible Fire 1260 with 68060 rev 6
Indivision AGA Mk3
Spider USB 2.0
Fast Ethernet - SMC Ethernet PCI Network Card SMC1211TX 10/100Mbps
3.2 Roms
Workbench 3.2
Roadshow - licensed
iBrowse 2.5.5 - licensed
Fastethernet.device 1.25

I am hoping someone may have an idea of what is going on and a possible solution.
How have you got your PCI cards plugged in?

I.e PCI 1 = Radeon etc…..

Here’s mine on my 2021 1200TX+ Mediator if it helps?


PCI 1 = Voodoo 4
PCI 2 = Soundblaster
PCI 3 = Spider 2
PCI 4 = Killer K1 NIC (PPC)
PCI 5 = Radeon 9250 (256MB) configured via MMU for 128MB extra FastRAM
PCI 6 = RTL 8039 10/100Mb NIC

Running MMCDUPD2.6 with PCI.Library Version 13.10

Had issues on my older 1200TX board where my Network card after a minute would lock up the system. Got that pointed down to a Voodoo 3 card issue.

Don’t forget your RTG card provides the DMA and RAM sharing across the PCI mediator bus.

As an accelerator card I’m using a Blizzard 1260 with SCSI MKIV card overclocked to 60mhz.

I run my setup on 2xSCSI2SD drives. 1 with OS 3.9 BB 1-4 and the other on 3.1.4.1 using KS 3.1.4.
Jpor is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 02:56   #7
Fairdinkem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Koo Wee Rup / Australia
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpor View Post
How have you got your PCI cards plugged in?

I.e PCI 1 = Radeon etc…..

Here’s mine on my 2021 1200TX+ Mediator if it helps?


PCI 1 = Voodoo 4
PCI 2 = Soundblaster
PCI 3 = Spider 2
PCI 4 = Killer K1 NIC (PPC)
PCI 5 = Radeon 9250 (256MB) configured via MMU for 128MB extra FastRAM
PCI 6 = RTL 8039 10/100Mb NIC

Running MMCDUPD2.6 with PCI.Library Version 13.10

Had issues on my older 1200TX board where my Network card after a minute would lock up the system. Got that pointed down to a Voodoo 3 card issue.

Don’t forget your RTG card provides the DMA and RAM sharing across the PCI mediator bus.

As an accelerator card I’m using a Blizzard 1260 with SCSI MKIV card overclocked to 60mhz.

I run my setup on 2xSCSI2SD drives. 1 with OS 3.9 BB 1-4 and the other on 3.1.4.1 using KS 3.1.4.



So based on your Card positions are you suggesting that my GFX card needs to be in Slot being the very top like your Voodoo cards is and my ethernet card in slot 6 the very bottom?


That is how my current setup is configured.


Slot 1 (Very top) Radeon
Slot 2 Spider
Slot 6 Ethernet
Fairdinkem is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 03:00   #8
Fairdinkem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Koo Wee Rup / Australia
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
You've pretty much got the same setup as me there:

- Amiga A1200
- Mediator 1200TX
- BPPC 060/603e
- Indivision AGA Mk2
- Radeon 9200 128MB
- Spider USB 2.0
- Fast Ethernet
- FM801 Sound Card
- 3.2 Roms
- Workbench 3.2
- Roadshow - licensed
- iBrowse 2.5.5 - licensed
- Fastethernet.device 1.25

So far, I've not had the issues you are describing - the only thing I did tweak was config when using Roadshow.

In the file I created in NetInterfaces I added the lines:
Code:
iprequests=48
writerequests=48
Aside from that it's all fairly boggo

Is it always when dealing with a larger file?

Thanks for your suggestion. I changed the ip and writer requests to the values you suggested and it has improved the situation but has not solved it, I am able to download the large files for longer before the connection stalls.


The issue seems to happen quicker if I download a large file but if I browse a media rich page it also can happen. It is definitely not a TIME browsing issue.

For example I can not download this file from the aminet website http://aminet.net/pix/theme/BNumsRTGPack.lha before it stalls the connection
Fairdinkem is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 03:38   #9
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairdinkem View Post
So based on your Card positions are you suggesting that my GFX card needs to be in Slot being the very top like your Voodoo cards is and my ethernet card in slot 6 the very bottom?


That is how my current setup is configured.


Slot 1 (Very top) Radeon
Slot 2 Spider
Slot 6 Ethernet
Looking at your card assignments, it’s basically the same.

I’m guessing that you have no interrupt clashes with the graphics card?

Run pciinfo in a shell/cli to confirm.

The only unknown here is the TF card. Haven’t run one of those with a mediator. So it could be something or nothing.

What version of pci.library are you running?
Jpor is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 04:18   #10
Fairdinkem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Koo Wee Rup / Australia
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpor View Post
Looking at your card assignments, it’s basically the same.

I’m guessing that you have no interrupt clashes with the graphics card?

Run pciinfo in a shell/cli to confirm.

The only unknown here is the TF card. Haven’t run one of those with a mediator. So it could be something or nothing.

What version of pci.library are you running?
pci.library - 13.10

PCIINFO

PCI device 1
Radeon interrupt pin 1

PCI device 2
Spider interrupt pin 3

PCI device 3
Spider interrupt pin 4

PCI device 4
Spider interrupt pin 1

PCI device 5
Ethernet interrupt pin 2

Last edited by Fairdinkem; 07 December 2021 at 08:26. Reason: Corrected information due to error
Fairdinkem is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 09:42   #11
jostberg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 20
Maybe not so helpful but I had similar problems in my A3000. Swapped the PCI Ethernet card for a X-Surf 100 instead, best purchase I've made in a long, long time for my trusty old computer.
jostberg is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 20:27   #12
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by jostberg View Post
Maybe not so helpful but I had similar problems in my A3000. Swapped the PCI Ethernet card for a X-Surf 100 instead, best purchase I've made in a long, long time for my trusty old computer.
The X-surf card is a Zorro-II/III card. The mediator is PCI only I’m afraid
Jpor is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 20:28   #13
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairdinkem View Post
pci.library - 13.10

PCIINFO

PCI device 1
Radeon interrupt pin 1

PCI device 2
Spider interrupt pin 3

PCI device 3
Spider interrupt pin 4

PCI device 4
Spider interrupt pin 1

PCI device 5
Spider interrupt pin 2
The Network card isn’t on your list? Are you using a PCI network card? If so which Interupt does that use?
Jpor is offline  
Old 07 December 2021, 08:29   #14
Fairdinkem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Koo Wee Rup / Australia
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpor View Post
The Network card isn’t on your list? Are you using a PCI network card? If so which Interrupt does that use?
Ah my apologies I corrected the original reply but I have the information in this reply also. I accidentally stated PCI device 5 was my spider card when in fact it is my Ethernet card.

PCI device 1
Radeon interrupt pin 1

PCI device 2
Spider interrupt pin 3

PCI device 3
Spider interrupt pin 4

PCI device 4
Spider interrupt pin 1

PCI device 5
Ethernet interrupt pin 2
Fairdinkem is offline  
Old 07 December 2021, 08:49   #15
Fairdinkem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Koo Wee Rup / Australia
Posts: 10
Update: Troubleshooting steps I have tried thus far.

1. Purchased SMC Ethernet PCI Network Card SMC1211TX 10/100Mbps based on Elbox website list of compatible cards.

2. I changed the configuration to the following iprequests=48 writerequests=48 in Netinterfaces of Roadshow

3. I created a new clean installation of Workbench 3.9 BB 1 + 2 - the issue happens in Workbench 3.9 also.

4. I contacted Elbox they replied and requested a MedReport.txt file which I submitted, never heard back from them since.
Fairdinkem is offline  
Old 07 December 2021, 11:19   #16
Fairdinkem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Koo Wee Rup / Australia
Posts: 10
NEW Update: Success.... Well sort of.

I started up the system back into my 3.2 Workbench with the only change since my original post being the configuration to the following iprequests=48 writerequests=48 in Netinterfaces of Roadshow.

I then used Netsurf 68k which is painfully slow and I downloaded the file http://aminet.net/pix/theme/BNumsRTGPack.lha from aminet and it downloaded successfully in one complete download without stalling the connection. This file using iBrowse 2.5.5 fully registered, I still have not been able to download in one go without the connection stalling.

I then attempted to download the file a second straight after successfully downloading using Netsurf and it stalled the connection approx half way through downloading.
Fairdinkem is offline  
Old 07 December 2021, 14:56   #17
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,286
I had similar issues, but only in a AOS 4.1 FE Classic setup. The same hardware worked fine under AOS 3.1.4/3.9 & Roadshow.
spudje is offline  
Old 07 December 2021, 16:10   #18
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairdinkem View Post
NEW Update: Success.... Well sort of.

I started up the system back into my 3.2 Workbench with the only change since my original post being the configuration to the following iprequests=48 writerequests=48 in Netinterfaces of Roadshow.

I then used Netsurf 68k which is painfully slow and I downloaded the file http://aminet.net/pix/theme/BNumsRTGPack.lha from aminet and it downloaded successfully in one complete download without stalling the connection. This file using iBrowse 2.5.5 fully registered, I still have not been able to download in one go without the connection stalling.

I then attempted to download the file a second straight after successfully downloading using Netsurf and it stalled the connection approx half way through downloading.
Hmmmm… have you tried it with the Spider card removed? I.e just RTG and NIC?
That way you can rule out the USB card interfering.
Have had issues with the Spider II card before now. If it works fine without the Spider card. Then try re seating the spider card into a different PCI slot.
Sometimes it’s hit and miss on how you arrange the cards.

The only thing I’m still be nervous about is the TF accelerator card. As technically these are still being worked on with firmware updates. How do you and Elbox know if the card is compatible with the Mediator? Can you try with another accelerator card?

I alwaways tend to stick to the classic accelerators such as the Phase 5/DCE Blizzards. You can also use an Apollo card.

I take it THOrs MMULibs have been installed with a 68060 library?

Have you also tried playing with “Medconfig”? I.e using “MMU” setting as on or off? Also are you us8ng the PCMCIA? So 4MB or 8MB has been setup on the mediator board? If it helps I’m using “MMU” and the jumper set to “4MB”.

Last edited by Jpor; 07 December 2021 at 16:16.
Jpor is offline  
Old 07 December 2021, 18:42   #19
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
I would second this, try taking the spider out or only enabling one of the spider ports. Also try with a different network card if you have one.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 07 December 2021, 19:02   #20
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,634
You need more DMA memory with both spider and 8139 installed. So the question is, what are your mediator settings. Or post that medreport here.
Hedeon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elbox Fastethernet.device and Roadshow - SANA error 32 torsti76 support.Hardware 3 29 January 2020 12:54
Internet connection wizard stalls at 54% davethemackem New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 22 January 2020 18:47
68060 change/use register stalls Nut Coders. Asm / Hardware 8 27 April 2012 10:08
winuae stalls/pauses for several seconds Gaula92 support.WinUAE 12 08 April 2009 21:33
Miami and FastEthernet Device [Mr_L] support.Hardware 2 09 February 2004 12:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09886 seconds with 16 queries