English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Green Amiga Alien GUIDES

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 August 2021, 03:59   #1541
stefcep2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 195
Interesting that the newer third party kernels didn't support my hardware even though they should have, and the official update kernel did (but not the original kernel off the boot disc).

Is there a way to create a boot Amithlon XL disc with the new updated official kernel already on the boot disc?
stefcep2 is offline  
Old 19 August 2021, 04:15   #1542
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 745
Sure but I'm not sure why you'd need to do that. Booting off the Amithlon CD serves no purpose other than seeing if your hardware can boot it. You can't create the boot environment for a hard disk with it. It's the same as running loadlin @amithlon, boothing the compiled in amithlon_hd image file.

https://aminet.net/package/docs/help/AMIthlon_CD

Follow the instructions, copy the new_emubox.gz kernel to the same location as emubox.gz and edit the amithlon file to load that kernel instead of the stock one.

The docs in that archive tell you exactly what to do.
SnkBitten is online now  
Old 04 November 2021, 14:13   #1543
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
Sure but I'm not sure why you'd need to do that. Booting off the Amithlon CD serves no purpose other than seeing if your hardware can boot it. You can't create the boot environment for a hard disk with it. It's the same as running loadlin @amithlon, boothing the compiled in amithlon_hd image file.

https://aminet.net/package/docs/help/AMIthlon_CD

Follow the instructions, copy the new_emubox.gz kernel to the same location as emubox.gz and edit the amithlon file to load that kernel instead of the stock one.

The docs in that archive tell you exactly what to do.
It's been a while but, TIL that amithlon works in qemu-kvm:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shooked.PNG
Views:	385
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	73699  
jdog320 is offline  
Old 04 November 2021, 14:43   #1544
SLD-SNaKe
Registered User

SLD-SNaKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Spain
Posts: 20
Nice. I don't remember using qemu before (maybe the UAE part for PPC) but... any special steps to install it?
I suppose that way you can run amithlon virtualized under any other os, any speed advantage over an emulator? Maybe the performance would be between the real amithlon and an emulator, right?
SLD-SNaKe is offline  
Old 04 November 2021, 15:02   #1545
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLD-SNaKe View Post
Nice. I don't remember using qemu before (maybe the UAE part for PPC) but... any special steps to install it?
I suppose that way you can run amithlon virtualized under any other os, any speed advantage over an emulator? Maybe the performance would be between the real amithlon and an emulator, right?
Not sure just yet, I was able to boot off an amithlon livecd distro, but as you can see in the screenshot, it can't see CD0 for some reason?

Also, what's interesting is that qemu has preliminary support for ati rage 128 and rv100 . But unfortunately, it's too primitive for amithlon.
jdog320 is offline  
Old 04 November 2021, 16:23   #1546
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 179
After a bit of tinkering, I can't get CD-ROM to work, it just says Uninitialized.
Interestingly, if I disable kvm, it doesn't boot.
Another finding, it works with qemu on windows with --accel whpx,kernel-irqchip=off, but cd's are still dead.

Last edited by jdog320; 04 November 2021 at 17:21.
jdog320 is offline  
Old 04 November 2021, 17:14   #1547
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 745
Virtualbox (VirtualBox-6.0.24-139119-Win.exe) runs Amithlon well on Windows systems. The only thing really missing is accelerated graphics. Networking, Audio, USB all work as well as CD.
SnkBitten is online now  
Old 04 November 2021, 17:21   #1548
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
Virtualbox (VirtualBox-6.0.24-139119-Win.exe) runs Amithlon well on Windows systems. The only thing really missing is accelerated graphics. Networking, Audio, USB all work as well as CD.
I got bored and tried amithlon on qemu. It's basically a PoC lmao.
jdog320 is offline  
Old 04 November 2021, 17:31   #1549
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 745
Click image for larger version

Name:	AmithlonVB-grab.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	223.3 KB
ID:	73700
SnkBitten is online now  
Old 07 November 2021, 15:02   #1550
amigamia
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Chesapeake USA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdog320 View Post
It's been a while but, TIL that amithlon works in qemu-kvm:
Yup! Pretty much same findings as my post a while back:

https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p...postcount=1484

If only we could get the video to be supported..
amigamia is offline  
Old 08 November 2021, 14:05   #1551
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigamia View Post
Yup! Pretty much same findings as my post a while back:

https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p...postcount=1484

If only we could get the video to be supported..
How were you able to get CD-ROM working? As you can see on my picture, it doesn't detect the cd-rom properly. Same thing with the windows builds of qemu.
jdog320 is offline  
Old 09 November 2021, 14:20   #1552
amigamia
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Chesapeake USA
Posts: 30
It was a while ago and I have reloaded my linux box since but I do remember fiddling with the CD-ROM not working. I remember I had to change the type of CD-ROM controller from IDE to SCSI or vice-versa. Try changing that. I used AQEMU which is a really nice QEMU interface but it's kinda old and some settings don't work quite well. I was able to make that change though.
amigamia is offline  
Old 10 November 2021, 07:54   #1553
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigamia View Post
It was a while ago and I have reloaded my linux box since but I do remember fiddling with the CD-ROM not working. I remember I had to change the type of CD-ROM controller from IDE to SCSI or vice-versa. Try changing that. I used AQEMU which is a really nice QEMU interface but it's kinda old and some settings don't work quite well. I was able to make that change though.
Do you remember the args for scsi emulation and the amithlon kernel you used?
jdog320 is offline  
Old 10 November 2021, 13:32   #1554
amigamia
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Chesapeake USA
Posts: 30
Hi jdog, if I have some time this week, I'll try reloading my AQEMU and test it again. I think it booted with the original kernel from the CD-ROM.
amigamia is offline  
Old 22 December 2021, 15:39   #1555
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 78
a very long thread...here is my question:

What machine should I consider for using with amithlon in oder to get stutterfree gameplay on emulation-titles and native 3D stuff.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 26 December 2021, 14:25   #1556
SLD-SNaKe
Registered User

SLD-SNaKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Spain
Posts: 20
It's very tricky and chipset dependant. Snkbitten has a nice summary at: https://amithlon.snkbitten.com/ "Hardware" reference link.
Based on my experience, any CPU +1Ghz would do the job, tens of speed compared to an A4000 (sysinfo comparison).
You'll need a Nvidia GPU because they have full acceleration (ATI or Matrox are supported but they lack some acceleration). Nvidia FX5200, 5500 gives a good result.
The RTG software runs at nice speeds. The 3D runs in software mode although the CPU power can do the job. There was a Warp3D api but I think it's not supported under Amithlon .

Last edited by SLD-SNaKe; 26 December 2021 at 14:31.
SLD-SNaKe is offline  
Old 26 December 2021, 15:07   #1557
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 78
Thx, I was thinking about a matrox card...G400/450/550 or even better one of the later parhelia P650/690. What features exactly do they not support?
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 26 December 2021, 16:16   #1558
SLD-SNaKe
Registered User

SLD-SNaKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Spain
Posts: 20
I went for the Nvidia FX cards because they were easier to find, so no experience by my side about performance or acceleration with Matrox cards. But the details with the linux framebuffer acceleration is showed here: https://amithlonblog.snkbitten.com/c...-for-amithlon/
You can see that there is a option missing with Matrox cards: DRAW_LINE. I'm not sure the drawbacks of this, maybe some slower scroll or something like that.
I think Pedro Cotter (Capt. Magellan at Youtube) used a Matrox G550 in some of his videos.
SLD-SNaKe is offline  
Old 26 December 2021, 16:26   #1559
SLD-SNaKe
Registered User

SLD-SNaKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Spain
Posts: 20
By the way... Testing the new ROM 3.2.1 and update under Amithlon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	os321amithlon.png
Views:	51
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	74211  
SLD-SNaKe is offline  
Old 26 December 2021, 19:24   #1560
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLD-SNaKe View Post
I went for the Nvidia FX cards because they were easier to find, so no experience by my side about performance or acceleration with Matrox cards. But the details with the linux framebuffer acceleration is showed here: https://amithlonblog.snkbitten.com/c...-for-amithlon/
You can see that there is a option missing with Matrox cards: DRAW_LINE. I'm not sure the drawbacks of this, maybe some slower scroll or something like that.
I think Pedro Cotter (Capt. Magellan at Youtube) used a Matrox G550 in some of his videos.
Thx, but that is not detailled enough. "matrox" is from very early mystique up to g550. That a very big range from "win31 accel" up to DX8.1. Thx! for the very interesting yt-channel!

Last edited by dr.zeissler; 26 December 2021 at 19:30.
dr.zeissler is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first guide - Drakkhen leveling guide Fragger Nostalgia & memories 2 08 April 2010 22:35
Amithlon / AHI Sound Configuration Guide? dframeli New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 11 September 2009 23:51
Amithlon-Guide / PDF-version Paul News 0 10 March 2006 16:43
Amithlon Peter Leyland Amiga scene 1 11 February 2003 03:43
Amithlon eldiablo10 support.WinUAE 6 20 September 2001 20:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11580 seconds with 16 queries