English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 August 2010, 21:28   #1
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,751
File download utility [SOLVED]

Hi,

Does anyone know of a good command line utility that can download files from the internet through the bsdsocket.library?

Any help is appreciated

Last edited by Thorham; 13 August 2010 at 10:31. Reason: Solved :)
Thorham is offline  
Old 12 August 2010, 23:29   #2
kriz
Junior Member
 
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 41
Posts: 3,185
use wget ? http://m68k.aminet.net/search?query=wget

I always use it, very nice and easy.
kriz is offline  
Old 13 August 2010, 00:04   #3
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz View Post
use wget ? http://m68k.aminet.net/search?query=wget

I always use it, very nice and easy.
Thanks for the tip Unfortunately it uses ixemul.library, and I don't use ixemul software, because I hate ixemul

Anyone have anything that only needs bsdsocket.library?
Thorham is offline  
Old 13 August 2010, 00:26   #4
kriz
Junior Member
 
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 41
Posts: 3,185
This port doesnt seem to use ixemul:

http://m68k.aminet.net/dev/gg/wget-1.7.readme
kriz is offline  
Old 13 August 2010, 00:43   #5
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz View Post
This port doesnt seem to use ixemul:

http://m68k.aminet.net/dev/gg/wget-1.7.readme
Tried it, and unfortunately it does They probably forgot to mention this in the readme
Thorham is offline  
Old 13 August 2010, 08:25   #6
thomas
Registered User
 
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,985
http://aminet.net/package/comm/www/HTTPResume
thomas is online now  
Old 13 August 2010, 10:27   #7
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Now that's what I'm talking about, many thanks

While searching myself, I've actually come across this but I didn't try it, because of the file description: Resume interrupted HTTP downloads. Makes you think it's only for resuming downloads, and not a download utility

Anyway, problem solved Thanks to everyone who posted
Thorham is offline  
Old 13 August 2010, 10:37   #8
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,303
Similar to HTTPResume but in ARexx:
http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/getit
daxb is offline  
Old 13 August 2010, 11:28   #9
Cammy
Registered User
 
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 1,189
I love HTTP Resume on the A1200, but for some reason it won't work on the A600, which is a real shame because I can't run a browser to download a file on the 2MB A600, but if someone on IRC for example showed a link to a picture or file I would like to be able to download it with HTTP Resume and load it in Multiview or something. I'll have to try GetIt, that might do the job.
Cammy is offline  
Old 13 August 2010, 12:44   #10
thomas
Registered User
 
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,985
Try this:

Code:
/* rexx */

parse arg args

if args = "?" then do
	say "Usage: rx httpget [proxy] <url> <outfile>"
	say "Example: rx httpget 192.168.47.11:8080 http://www.google.com/index.html ram:google.html"
	exit
end

parse var args proxy url outfile rest

if rest ~= "" then do
	say "invalid arguments"
	exit 20
end

if outfile = "" then do
	outfile = url
	url = proxy
	proxy = ""
end

if outfile = "" | url = "" then do
	say "required argument missing"
	exit 20
end

if proxy = "" then do
	parse var url prot "://" server "/" path
	if prot ~= "http" then do
		say "invalid protocol" prot
		exit 20
	end
	parse var server server ":" port
	path = "/"path
end
else do
	parse var proxy server ":" port
	path = url
end

if port = "" then
	port = 80

if Open(tcp,"tcp:"server"/"port,write) then do
	call WriteLn tcp,"GET" path "HTTP/1.0"
	call WriteLn tcp,""
	in = strip(ReadLn(tcp),'T','0D'x)
	do while (~eof(tcp) & in ~= "")
		say in
		in = strip(ReadLn(tcp),'T','0D'x)
	end
	if ~eof(tcp) then do
		if Open(out,outfile,write) then do
			len = 0
			buffer = ReadCh(tcp,32768)
			do while (~eof(tcp))
				len = len + length(buffer)
				call WriteCh out,buffer
				buffer = ReadCh(tcp,32768)
			end
			call Close out
			say len "bytes received."
		end
		else
			say "unable to open output file" outfile
	end
	call Close tcp
end
thomas is online now  
Old 23 August 2010, 10:22   #11
kriz
Junior Member
 
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 41
Posts: 3,185
Nice one, didn't know Httpresume .. Thx ;(
kriz is offline  
Old 28 August 2013, 03:50   #12
Firestone
Registered User
 
Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 249
Had to wake this thread up because I'm looking for a similar program like wget in Linux... Been googling for a while because I wanted to avoid wget because it requires ixemul, and I got very limited space.

I have set up AmiTCP 3 (GNU Version from Aminet), and network seems to be up. I can ping google.com for example.

But when I try to run HTTPResume from shell it always tells me that "AmiTCP or compaible TCP/IP stack must be started first!". Why does it not detect my TCP/IP stack.....?

EDIT:
Tried to run DCTelnet from Aminet on the same setup, and DCTelnet is able to detect bsdsocket.library and I'm able to telnet without any problem...
So the problem seems to be HTTPResume for some reason....anyone else experiencing this?

Last edited by Firestone; 28 August 2013 at 04:22. Reason: Further investigation
Firestone is offline  
Old 28 August 2013, 23:39   #13
Firestone
Registered User
 
Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 249
Hmm further investigation reveals that it requires version 4 of bsdsocket.library. Saw this in the SnoopDos-log..... crap


EDIT:
Just for fun I opened the AmiTCP executable in an hex editor and hacked the version-number of bsdsocket.library to be above 4.0 and saved the file, relaunched AmiTCP and woala! HTTPResume now works on AmiTCP 3.0b2 Crappy solution, but it works for this project I'm working on

Last edited by Firestone; 29 August 2013 at 01:47. Reason: Problem solved...well sort of...
Firestone is offline  
Old 09 September 2021, 21:57   #14
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe
 
Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,185
Hello. I would like to know if it is possible to download a file from a https site from the Amiga using a command line. I was using WGet with success from a http one, but now it doesn't seem to work.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 14 September 2021, 10:26   #15
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,248
If you have to download files from Aminet or similar Wget and WallGet still work fine
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 September 2021, 12:23   #16
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,332
AGet is a small alternative; it's included in https://aminet.net/package/util/misc/UHCTools
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 September 2021, 22:55   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,248
Confirmed, also AGet can download files from Aminet similar websites.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Solved] FS-UAE doesn't fetch my WHDLoad.key file. browniesrgut support.FS-UAE 6 28 February 2014 23:44
Not a known rom file error with Amiga Forever-roms [Solved] Greenie support.FS-UAE 9 26 July 2012 18:10
BridgeBoard hard-file download komprasz request.Other 3 11 August 2011 03:08
File .NFO & file ID.diz stuff.... How To..!! DC33 support.Other 4 11 March 2009 10:21
Running non .adf file, .info file?? ypestis New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 29 March 2006 18:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:17.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09270 seconds with 15 queries