English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 December 2020, 15:43   #1
bebbo
bye
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Some / Where
Posts: 680
crash if JIT is enabled

I'm testing libpthread atm... and I get a WinUAE crash if JIT is enabled:


Code:
WinUAE message


JIT: serious error
JIT: 64-bit pointer (0xffffffffffffff8b) at
c:\projects\winuae\src\jit\exception_handler.cpp:510 (fatal)
Using WinUAE 4.4.0 (2020.07.01) 64.bit


program and config are attached

Last edited by bebbo; 26 October 2023 at 13:18.
bebbo is offline  
Old 31 December 2020, 17:45   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,505
I can't duplicate.

Perhaps it is the usual too small stack. JIT really does not like if return address is corrupted.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 January 2021, 18:09   #3
bebbo
bye
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Some / Where
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I can't duplicate.

Perhaps it is the usual too small stack. JIT really does not like if return address is corrupted.

(spam the exe and pray)



never mind - I found the real cause^^ - but IMHO WinUAE should not crash^^


HNY2021
bebbo is offline  
Old 01 January 2021, 18:25   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,505
JIT can and will crash if program does too bad/stupid things.

Usually it seems to happen when branch/jump instructions (that was already translated) suddenly gets invalid target address when it runs translated code. It is not validated anymore after translation to keep it as fast as possible.

I am not going to touch JIT too much. I already had to fix some old shift instruction bugs and it is really annoying work and it still needs to be more optimal.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 January 2021, 20:35   #5
bebbo
bye
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Some / Where
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
JIT can and will crash if program does too bad/stupid things.

Usually it seems to happen when branch/jump instructions (that was already translated) suddenly gets invalid target address when it runs translated code. It is not validated anymore after translation to keep it as fast as possible.

I am not going to touch JIT too much. I already had to fix some old shift instruction bugs and it is really annoying work and it still needs to be more optimal.

good to know


I disabled JIT and was able to hunt down the culprit. libpthread is working better now and libnix provides thread safe FILE functions (if all is build for thread usage)^^


Thank you for WinUAE and HNY 2021
bebbo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fusion error with JIT enabled rbm support.WinUAE 23 17 July 2016 00:59
System freezes with JIT enabled Foul support.FS-UAE 11 08 January 2016 10:52
Shapeshifter and Fusion crash without JIT enabled clauddio support.WinUAE 3 12 March 2012 11:44
Problem with games when JIT enabled Skirner support.WinUAE 19 08 January 2010 17:22
Some screen corruption with JIT enabled Leffmann support.WinUAE 14 07 February 2009 21:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:47.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06876 seconds with 15 queries