English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2014, 10:43   #1
tnt23
Registered User
 
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Possible (mis)using of HDD LED in A3000?

My A3000 has no SCSI drives, and very unlikely will ever have any. While booting from all sorts of alternative media, from IDE to USB, I miss the front panel HDD activity indication.

The HDD LED is connected to the WD33C93 controller's BSY pin. The controller is mostly idling, so perhaps forcing it to arbitrate or perform some other useless activity on an empty bus would make it blink?

The rest then will be to disable or mask whatever unnecessary interrupts or activity it could produce, and to somehow kick the WD33C93 each time when there's a drive accessed, or to show CPU load, or just plain heartbeat, or whatnot.

Anyway, does it sound that weird?
tnt23 is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 11:37   #2
Loedown
Precious & fragile things
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Everyone else starts with the PIC make a led flash routine, so learn PIC
Loedown is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 12:23   #3
tnt23
Registered User
 
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Nice one, Loedown How many PICs does it take to light a LED?
tnt23 is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 13:15   #4
Loedown
Precious & fragile things
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
Nice one, Loedown How many PICs does it take to light a LED?
I see a joke in this;

How many psychiatrists does it take to change a light globe, only one but the light globe has got to want to change.

In answer to your question you only need the smallest 8 pin PIC to flash a led, the challenge is to understand the programming and timer setups / execution. If you ever did 6500 / 6502 Assembler you'll pick it up in no time. RISC based and very simple.

http://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts...cName=en020094
Loedown is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 13:33   #5
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,637
why not just connect the led to your ide controller instead?
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 14:41   #6
tnt23
Registered User
 
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
I've done a few projects with AVR and STM32, I might want to learn a bit of PIC as well. But how does this help in flashing HDD LED when Amiga accesses the drive?
tnt23 is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 14:42   #7
tnt23
Registered User
 
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
why not just connect the led to your ide controller instead?
Maybe because there are none on Deneb?
tnt23 is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 17:22   #8
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
Maybe because there are none on Deneb?
well, you mentioned IDE, so I assumed that there was an IDE controller
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 18:00   #9
tnt23
Registered User
 
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
well, you mentioned IDE, so I assumed that there was an IDE controller
Yep, I've got Buddha which certainly has LED outputs, and Deneb which unfortunately does not With Buddha, I'm using an external CF bracket, and that has its very own Big Red Access LED, but the bracket can only be seen from behind.
tnt23 is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 19:38   #10
Phantomz
Registered User
 
Phantomz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Age: 51
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
I'm using an external CF bracket, and that has its very own Big Red Access LED, but the bracket can only be seen from behind.
I've got the same problem, I've just installed a FastATA 4000 MKV & External CF bracket with it's own LED, like you said can only see it around the rear.

The FastATA card has LED pins but I'm not sure how to connect it to my hd light on the front yet, guess should be simple, but I'm a noob with a 3000.

Love using the 3000 with CF, Classic Workbench ADVSP and igame, lovely amiga for classic ECS gaming.
Phantomz is offline  
Old 21 February 2014, 06:31   #11
Loedown
Precious & fragile things
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
I've done a few projects with AVR and STM32, I might want to learn a bit of PIC as well. But how does this help in flashing HDD LED when Amiga accesses the drive?
If you pick up a signal from location x and send it to a PIC pin then you can have it flash any sequence you like, just do the programming.
Loedown is offline  
Old 21 February 2014, 07:31   #12
tnt23
Registered User
 
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loedown View Post
If you pick up a signal from location x and send it to a PIC pin then you can have it flash any sequence you like, just do the programming.
Thanks Loedown, I think I got it. The problem, or rather two problems are these: I cannot think of a place on Deneb to pick the signal at; another, bigger is that I would not like doing any wiring or adding electronics inside The idea was to do the trick completely in software, no soldering, no wiring, only good old software hackery
tnt23 is offline  
Old 21 February 2014, 07:59   #13
Loedown
Precious & fragile things
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
Thanks Loedown, I think I got it. The problem, or rather two problems are these: I cannot think of a place on Deneb to pick the signal at; another, bigger is that I would not like doing any wiring or adding electronics inside The idea was to do the trick completely in software, no soldering, no wiring, only good old software hackery
Find where the flag for Deneb sits in the memory map and have a little routine tagged onto an interrupt that you can set a line high.
Loedown is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 19:12   #14
trixster
Guru Meditating
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,354
Has anybody actually done this with a Deneb? Not having hd led activity is a little irritating!
trixster is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 00:50   #15
grelbfarlk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,958
Another one!
*Sternly displays holy symbol* By the power of Persephone, back undead thread, back to whence you came!
grelbfarlk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD LED with a mind of its own john1979 support.Hardware 24 08 January 2015 23:29
problem with HDD LED diodes orange support.Hardware 2 07 October 2010 10:59
A1200 Hdd Led robheaton support.Hardware 5 19 December 2009 21:32
A3000 green power led flashes alanh support.Hardware 7 30 September 2008 12:38
is the HDD led supposed to work when using CF card Interceptor support.Hardware 2 25 September 2007 10:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:45.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09746 seconds with 13 queries