English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 March 2018, 12:59   #1
alphagemini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Folkestone, Kent
Posts: 119
HiSoft basic 2

I am writing a program with a succession of if/or statements, and the usable line length is insufficient. Is it possible to increase it? The manual says something about SYSTAB+68 but I can't get to it.

I anyone can help I would be very grateful

Thanks in advance

Alphagemini
alphagemini is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 22:04   #2
Dan
Registered User
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 629
Can you write the code ? Maybe we can split it into multiple if statements.

for example
Code:
if A=1 and (b=2 or c=3 or d=4 or e=5)
can be split as

Code:
if A=1

if b=2

EndIf

If c=3
Endif
....

EndIf
well its not exactly same as the 1st example, but you can get the idea of how it could work.
Dan is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 22:30   #3
alphagemini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Folkestone, Kent
Posts: 119
Hi, Thanks for you reply. I made a mistake about the chain of conditions. There is one if statement followed by or/and conditions.

I have split the program into two parts to cope with the number of conditions. I want to change this in order to make the program quicker. It looks clumsy but it works perfectly
I am sure that there is some way of increasing the line buffer but the manual is opaque and never mentions input line length.

regards
alphagemini is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 11:42   #4
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,186
AmigaBasic stored its text as a 2d array of characters 256 wide counting indentations. I think HiSoft is a spin-off of AmigaBasic isn't it? If so, you can try AceBasic on the Aminet as an alternative.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 22:48   #5
Photon
Moderator
 
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,602
This is a coding help question so I moved it to Coders.Languages. Cheers
Photon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HiSoft Basic 2 manual and disks videofx request.Apps 5 05 June 2015 16:19
HiSoft Basic help alphagemini Coders. Language 0 09 December 2012 17:17
Manual for Hisoft Basic 2 Plantozol support.Apps 2 11 December 2010 11:36
Hisoft Basic tsaw New to Emulation or Amiga scene 18 04 April 2010 21:03
Req: Hisoft Devpac 3, Hisoft Basic AGA (English) Hideki request.Apps 4 07 January 2007 12:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:13.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06832 seconds with 13 queries