English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

Old 25 June 2005, 12:05   #1
amigauser

Smile WinUAE ADF Configuration Utility

I noticed that when I have set up a game configuration incorrectly I get messages which tell me that it is for example switching from the 8 bit display I have set to the 16 bit version needed by the game.

Given that information about some of the older games is non-existent and gamers basically construct a UAE configuration file by either research/trial and error/both, I wondered if it was possible to either:-

a) develop WinUAE in such a way that you insert your ADF into a diagnostic configuration and it auto-switches to the right one for the ADF inserted or

b) to have a separate WinUAE utility which lists the configuration required to play the ADF inserted. I'm not a programmer so I don't know if it is possible.

If Toby, is out there, WinUAE is a wonderful program and allows me to play Amiga versions of games that I can no longer play on my PC because my genuine PC versions have DOS or Windows 3.1 requirements which my advanced PC cannot meet. Thanks for all your hard work.
Old 25 June 2005, 14:05   #2
BippyM
Global Moderator

you mean Toni don't you?

This isn't possible unfortunately
Old 25 June 2005, 14:20   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer

a: impossible

But 99% of A500 games and demos will work with regular quickstart-settings.

There will be build-in "frontend" and new game/demo "configuration" system coming in distant future.. More info later, don't ask
Old 25 June 2005, 14:23   #4
amigauser

Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen

There will be build-in "frontend" and new game/demo "configuration" system coming in distant future.. More info later, don't ask
Thanks for that and apologies for the error with your name.
Old 25 June 2005, 14:53   #5
BippyM
Global Moderator

Quote:

I'm asking
Old 25 June 2005, 16:46   #6
andreas
Zone Friend