English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2014, 10:45   #1
Mousey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 18
Very slow launch for FS-UAE Launcher on 2.5.21/22dev (Windows 7)

I mentioned this in another thread, but thought it was significant enough to have its own thread.

FS-UAE Launcher 2.5.20dev launches in about 2 seconds. 2.5.21/22dev take about 22 seconds! This is from a fresh boot into Windows 7 64 bit.

I noticed that the installer has gone from 24MB (2.5.20) to 34MB. Not a problem in these days of broadband / large hard drives, but I was surprised nonetheless.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 15 December 2014 at 23:02.
Mousey is offline  
Old 15 December 2014, 21:47   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mousey View Post
I mentioned this in another thread, but thought it was significant enough to have its own thread.

FS-UAE Launcher 2.5.20dev launches in about 2 seconds. 2.5.21/22dev take about 22 seconds! This is from a fresh boot into Windows 7 64 bit.
I have found the problem. It was somewhat interesting. A combination of issues in the mingw-w64 port of python3 caused python to try to look up the path /\Dlls\python3.dll, which Windows of course normalizes to \\Dlls\python3.dll. So the delay is caused by Windows trying to resolve "Dlls" as a Windows network address...

I have created a fix for this issue (and will send the patch to the upstream MSYS2 project).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mousey View Post
I noticed that the installer has gone from 24MB (2.5.20) to 34MB. Not a problem in these days of broadband / large hard drives, but I was surprised nonetheless.
I have checked this as well. The main reason for the increased size is related to upgrading QT4 -> QT5. More specifically, the ICU library which QT5 uses, which by itself uses about 30 MB uncompressed! (most of it turns out to be Unicode data). With the new build system, it is relatively easy to switch between QT4 and QT5, so I may just as well revert to QT4 for the time being.

I have uploaded a new build here: http://fs-uae.net/devel/2.5.22dev2/
- Uses QT4 (installer should be smaller again)
- Includes fix for slow startup

Please test/verify if you can
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 16 December 2014, 00:33   #3
Mousey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Please test/verify if you can
Erm... I have no idea if this is because of reverting to QT4, or a side effect of Windows no longer trying to resolve DLL's, but not only have you fixed the slowness of launching (it is back to 2 seconds), but have also fixed the emulator slowdown problems I was having!

So I am a very happy bunny, thank you!
Mousey is offline  
Old 16 December 2014, 00:43   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mousey View Post
...but have also fixed the emulator slowdown problems I was having!
This *shouldn't* be possible

None of the changes should affect FS-UAE at all (it uses neither QT nor Python...). So it must be some unknown indirect effect... hmm...
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 16 December 2014, 00:51   #5
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,972
@Mousey: Could you do me a favor and run 2.5.21dev or 2.5.22dev again (and make sure it runs slowly). While it runs, please check what processes are using much CPU in the task manger. Then quit and send the resulting fs-uae.log.txt to frode@fs-uae.net
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 16 December 2014, 10:09   #6
Mousey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
@Mousey: Could you do me a favor and run 2.5.21dev or 2.5.22dev again (and make sure it runs slowly). While it runs, please check what processes are using much CPU in the task manger. Then quit and send the resulting fs-uae.log.txt to frode@fs-uae.net
Well that's weird.

I reinstalled 2.5.21dev, and sure enough the launcher takes ages to load again... but the emulation speed was normal! I tried different configurations, and all were fine.

I looked at the Processes, and the only thing taking any CPU time was FS-UAE (I did this from fresh boot) - all other figures were zero with maybe the odd task flickering to 1 occasionally. Just for your info, each FS-UAE configuration took the following CPU time while mid-game:

Amiga 500+ / Amiga 600 - 3/4
Amiga 1200 / Amiga 1200 (68020) - 4/5
Amiga 4000 / Amiga 4000 (68040) - 12/13

Just for something else to try, I reinstalled 2.5.22dev, but it's the same - slow launch, but normal emulation speed. Lastly, I reinstalled 2.5.20dev (which was all fine), and then 2.5.21dev, but again, slow launch, normal speed.

I just can't recreate the slowdown problem since installing 2.5.22dev2, but I don't understand why! Previously I could install 2.5.21/22dev (slow speed) and 2.5.20dev (normal speed) any number of times, and each time the emulation speed would slowdown or return to normal accordingly.

I'm more than happy to help, so if you can suggest something else for me to try then please do. I didn't e-mail a log as I haven't had a slowdown, but if you would still like one then let me know.
Mousey is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New: AG-Launch WHLoad Launcher for 2MB Amiga (alpha release) Zetr0 Amiga scene 122 06 September 2021 14:31
fs-uae-launcher and fs-uae-arcade (dev versions) linux problems [Solved] esc support.FS-UAE 2 18 November 2014 02:02
[FS-UAE Launcher] Cannot Launch Super Skidmarks CD32 Foul support.FS-UAE 3 23 August 2014 01:08
Controller list isn't initialized in FS-UAE Launcher (Windows) discomike support.FS-UAE 2 24 June 2013 21:42
Launch Windows Programs from within WinUAE? mdwh2 support.WinUAE 4 18 July 2003 18:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11432 seconds with 15 queries