English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2021, 01:55   #1
brufnus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Aarslev, Denmark
Posts: 30
Floppy disk Reading WB3.1 disk content in WB1.3?

Hi there!

Sorry if this question has been answered elsewhere; I searched but couldn't find anything related.

Anyway, after struggling with transwarp in order to transfer my WB3.1 ADF files to my standard conf. CDTV (except for a newly installed SCSI hard drive), I finally came to realize it seems WB1.3 simply can't read this diskette format natively - is that correct?

I had some transfer and diskette issues initially, so I blamed transwarp for my failures; however after using AE and TSGUI instead, I found out I could boot and run Kefrens Desert Dream after writing the image, and successfully boot from a newly written WB1.3 as well.

So, it seems it's simply because the format is different on those installation disks? Forgive me, but I haven't used my Amiga for many many years, and I have absolutely no experience with versions more recent than the dinosaur 1.3...

Anyway, now all six WB3.1 installation disks have been written without errors, and I'm impatiently awaiting my newly purchased KS3.1 chips and 8 MB upgrade... along with an equally recent 2 GB hard drive and a SCSI CD-ROM drive to take over the job from my failing internal drive, I'm sure I'll get a whole new experience with the old, but still amazing Amiga 500 CDTV! :-D

Last edited by brufnus; 21 July 2021 at 02:16. Reason: Addition
brufnus is offline  
Old 21 July 2021, 01:59   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,796
1.3 can't read FastFilesystem floppies, correct.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 21 July 2021, 02:05   #3
brufnus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Aarslev, Denmark
Posts: 30
Big grin Oh dear... c".=

Ha haaaa! :-D

Thanks for your swift reply - so it's FFS, of course!!! lol
...which means the transwarp probably works for me as well, after all...

Okay, I guess that concludes it, then - I should be good to go now, when I receive my new KS, etc... I really look forward to see what the new WB has to offer.
brufnus is offline  
Old 11 September 2021, 01:37   #4
admiral
Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Shadow realm
Posts: 103
fixdisk (I think available in aminet) will read FFS floppies on 1.2/1.3.
admiral is offline  
Old 11 September 2021, 01:40   #5
admiral
Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Shadow realm
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by brufnus View Post
when I receive my new KS
For the A500, I prefer softkicking (using mkick from aminet).

I get maximum compatibility with the 1.3 (34.5) on power on, and just load 3.1 to the end of C00000 RAM when/if I need to.

Money is definitely better spent on a good modern RAM expansion (like the one amigastore.eu sells, giving 1.5MB SLOW, and an extra 512k CHIP on board that have the 1MB Agnus, or a 68000 socket 8MB FAST expansion) than ROMs.

Last edited by admiral; 11 September 2021 at 01:41. Reason: 68000 socket fast ram
admiral is offline  
Old 11 September 2021, 01:43   #6
admiral
Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Shadow realm
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by brufnus View Post
transwarp
Try AmigaXfer and get 512kbit/s transfers on a plain A500 + nullmodem cable

(full disclosure: I'm the author)
admiral is offline  
Old 11 September 2021, 07:38   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 67
Posts: 6,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by admiral View Post
fixdisk (I think available in aminet) will read FFS floppies on 1.2/1.3.
FixDisk is a very old program to fix errors on Floppy and HD (SFS, FFS) similar to DiskSalv
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 11 September 2021, 19:11   #8
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,936
Might DiskMimic help ?
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/DiskMimic

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ight=diskmimic
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 13 September 2021, 07:54   #9
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,383
1.3 includes an (old) version of the FastFileSystem in L: you can use to mount floppies with. Create a mount list entry with Device=trackdisk.device, unit=<0..3>, mask=0x001fffff and BufMemType=3.
The 1.3 trackdisk.device requires its data in chip mem, unfortunately.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 13 October 2021, 03:41   #10
brufnus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Aarslev, Denmark
Posts: 30
I was about to install OS3.2 anyway, so it's no big deal now. I was just confused because my ADF transfers from PC seemed to be failing... but I hadn't considered that the new OS's use FFS on floppies as well. :-D
Thanks for your replies, anyway!
brufnus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disk Mimic, an ADF mounter for WB1.3, has been released Radertified News 0 29 June 2021 20:22
Reading disk content in HxC Rissy support.Games 7 15 May 2021 20:35
Magneto optical disk shows different content on Amiga and Windows beltrixx support.Other 1 15 September 2020 12:06
Request for how to grab Amiga disk content Pdrome Coders. Tutorials 8 06 December 2018 21:25
Old "sick" but allowable content, Distasteful reading. Pat the Cat Amiga scene 38 19 January 2017 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11406 seconds with 15 queries