English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 December 2021, 02:31   #1
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 416
Stick out tongue How jerky is your Mousepointer in Flight of the Amazon Queen ?

Hello there

I was playing Flight of the Amazon Queen and i was a little shocked
how jerky the Mouse pointer "flows" over the screen.

It is completly playable but why is the mouse pointer so jerky in this game ?

I did also a test with WHDLoad but that did not change a thing.

My Test was done on real hardware and Emulation.
The Mouse is jerky on both.

Now my question.

How jerky is the Mousepointer in Flight on the Amazon Queen on youre Setup ?

Thanks for any Feedback
Torti
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 02:59   #2
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,162
Try it with scummvm AGA, should be fine
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 03:12   #3
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torti-the-Smurf View Post

How jerky is the Mousepointer in Flight on the Amazon Queen on youre Setup ?
it is smooth in movement in emulation 68000, OCS, kick 1.3 and workbench 1.3, 1,5 MB RAM. I remember that i tried demo version on real A1200 with 68040 and mouse was very fluid.
Seiya is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 09:51   #4
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails

Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,300
I played this game a lot (expanded A1200), and I don't remember any jerkyness
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 17:12   #5
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 416
Hhmmmm ; interesting.
Thank you for all the feedback.

Need to do more testing.

Torti
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 19:31   #6
Fiery Phoenix
Registered User
Fiery Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bury, Lancs
Age: 45
Posts: 400
Just tried the Hoodlum crack on WinUAE and all seems fine there
Fiery Phoenix is offline  
Old 01 December 2021, 20:29   #7
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 416
Strange, even on WinUAE, no matter the Settings (Cpu/ram/rom/chipset)
and with no HDF whatsoever, the Mouse pointer gets super jerky
as soon as the Pointer switch from the regular pointer to the Amazon Queen Mousepointer.

Did alot of testing with original IPF´s and even cracked ones; always the same.
Same on my A600 Furia setup.

Very strange
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 01:55   #8
kriz
Junior Member

kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 39
Posts: 2,967
Maybe record a video to share so we can compare
kriz is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 09:47   #9
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails

Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,300
I do have the slow (lagging) cursor in Innocent Until Caught. I always thought that it was just the way the game was coded, but now I think maybe I'm the only one with this problem, like Torti is with FOTAQ
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 11:28   #10
Fiery Phoenix
Registered User
Fiery Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bury, Lancs
Age: 45
Posts: 400
I remember my cursor on IUC not being the best back in the day. Just tried it again via WinUAE and although not jerky, not very responsive (I usually play the PC versions of the classic point and click adventures via DosBox as they tend to be the superior versions imho)
Fiery Phoenix is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 12:27   #11
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 178
Jerky is not the right description for cursor in FOTAQ, the movement is smooth but slow, dragging behind fast mouse movements.
Aardvark is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 14:33   #12
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 46
Posts: 1,066
Just tried FOTAQ myself on whdload and while there is a bit of lag when fast moving I wouldn't say it was jerky at all.
Superman is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 14:33   #13
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark View Post
Jerky is not the right description for cursor in FOTAQ, the movement is smooth but slow, dragging behind fast mouse movements.
Exactly. For example, when i use the WHDLoad version and dosent use CACHE, the fast mouse movements are really lagging behind, just like Aardvark was saying.

If i use CACHE, the laggy mouse movement is gone but still very jerky.

My therory is that Amazon Queen uses a Software Mousepointer Solution.

Hmmm, i need to do more testing .... and i post a little video later.

Cheers & thanks guys
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 15:48   #14
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,320
yes, smooth, but with strange movement when you move fast. But i think it is normal. However not jerky
Seiya is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 17:28   #15
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 416
So, i did more testing.

Strange things happend.
It is not only Amazon Queen.

For example, when i use the VBLANK Option in Hippoplayer the Mouse gets kinda Choppy.

Without the VBlank option the Pointer its pretty normal, only gets choppy every 20 seconds for maybe 2 seconds. Dosent happen in Protracker, no matter if CIA or VBLANK.

Its pretty had to see in those Videos and the fact that i use one of those BenQ LCD Monitors also dosent help

The Odd thing in CARRIBEAN DISASTER is that the "choppyness" is different depending on the Scene.

(so,.... does it has something to do with CPU "busyness" in certain games )

When i am on the Map, it gets PRETTY choppy, but indoors its almost smooth.

Now i think, maybe there something wrong with my Amiga600.

I did test the CIA´s with Systest and it reports fine.

Maybe i should try another mouse; but i cant find the Ball for my amiga technologies mouse

Also, i cant remember that i noticed that behaviour before with this "optical keymouse".

Very Strange Stuff. Any Ideas Guys ?

The Videos are in the Zone, because i dont have a YouTube Account
https://eab.abime.net/zone/Mouse-Tests.zip.001
https://eab.abime.net/zone/Mouse-Tests.zip.002
https://eab.abime.net/zone/Mouse-Tests.zip.003

Maybe you can spot something fishy, or had any experience with this

Yours, Torti

Last edited by Torti-the-Smurf; 02 December 2021 at 20:43. Reason: found a typo
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 17:52   #16
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,320
i have made a video me too here on my facebook RetroTrailer page

@Torti-the-Smurf
mouse is not jerky. your movements is ok
Seiya is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 19:23   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,254
For now, i would blame the mouse too. Try a different one.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 19:53   #18
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails

Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,300
@Torti
I can't really tell from the videos
We do not feel the lag when watching, but you may feel it when moving the mouse.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 20:39   #19
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
i have made a video me too here on my facebook RetroTrailer page

@Torti-the-Smurf
mouse is not jerky. your movements is ok
Dosent have a Facebooc account ether

Hmmm, tying another mouse would be good... A real Amiga Mouse.
Only problem, i cant find the BALL for my Amiga Tec. Mouse.
(The little closing nose underneath the mouse broke and i changed mice)

Try tommorow with or without the Ball and look if things change.
Until then; thank you so much for all the feedback`n stuff
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 03 December 2021, 08:30   #20
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 44
Posts: 6,772
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Mouse lag in AMOS (in which FOTAQ is coded) is normal.
Predseda is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flight of the Amazon Queen - AMOS somewherecheap Amiga scene 39 18 April 2020 21:32
Translating Flight of the Amazon Queen? mario1981 support.Games 18 11 January 2018 14:42
Flight Of The Amazon Queen and A500+ ancalimon support.Games 17 13 June 2014 07:46
Flight of the Amazon Queen CD? Predseda HOL suggestions and feedback 9 10 September 2008 20:37
Request: Flight of The Amazon Queen Burge request.Old Rare Games 15 14 August 2002 11:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11094 seconds with 15 queries