English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

Old 02 December 2020, 18:45   #1
dreamkatcha
I've got a new byline

Lossless video encoders

Have you noticed that development of nearly all of the above has been discontinued? Some codecs haven't had an update for a decade or two. What's going on and does it really matter? Maybe they reached a point where they can't be improved and no compatibility adjustments are required to continue functioning. I wouldn't know, I'm not a programmer to put it lightly.

I only started giving it some thought recently because the Lagarith codec I've been using for ages no longer seems to be reliable and others don't like WinUAE at all (e.g. the Xvid one - that just displays a frozen config window). I get jarring, scratchy sound glitches and laggy performance, which I suspect relates to the HD recording. This is very resource intensive obviously, but even so, hasn't been an issue before. I tweaked all the usual sound settings with no improvement so that's not it. I'm using the current version of WinUAE which I upgraded to because I was experiencing the same issues with the previous release. It shouldn't be a hardware issue - I'm running an I5, Nvidia GX1050 GPU, 40GB RAM.

I need to do some tests without recording when I get back to my own computer. That would rule out the codec issue.
Old 02 December 2020, 22:35   #2
Foebane
Banned

I've used TechSmith Screen Capture Codec in the past with the default settings, produces great results, but is not lossless and the resulting files need to be processed with ffmpeg, but then they work very well, at least for me.

Once I've recorded the files, I use this command on ffmpeg:

Code:
ffmpeg -i output.avi -c:v libx264 -preset slow -crf 20 -c:a aac -b:a 160k -vf format=yuv420p done.mp4
Old 02 December 2020, 22:38   #3
Rotareneg

Ut Video or MagicYUV would be a much better choice than Lagarith these days.
Old 03 December 2020, 12:22   #4
dreamkatcha