English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2002, 01:56   #1
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Question PC2Amiga problems!!!

Hi

years back I had my 1200 hooked up to my old pc thru the printer ports using Ami2Pc.

Since getting all my miggy stuff back out I found my 4-wire laplink cable and set it all up again! XP wasn't having any of it so i formatted the pc and whacked on 98/se..

now my problem is I cannot get the ami-pc working! it just times out on the amiga side! its been a long time so I musta forgotten summin that I need to do???

I know the cable and the printer ports work on both machines as I can use Paradise (like ami2pc but not as good) to copy files back and fourth....

//admin: please don't use direct signature in your post, configure your UserCP instead.
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 03 April 2002, 19:48   #2
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,930
Seems odd to me, however I am having a similar problem when I turn off my accelerator...

Can somebody also say if changing the transfer speed makes any difference using the 4-wire laplink cable? If so, perhaps you just need to lower that.
fiath is offline  
Old 04 April 2002, 16:20   #3
Jamie
 
Posts: n/a
If you are using the ami2PC with a parelle cable you need to start the program on the pc first which i use "PC2AMres" then click on amiga program that way it works but you do still get the occasional packet errors, so make sure you don`t use any other software on the pc i.e internet or music etc...,(Not really muti-tasking freely).
 
Old 04 April 2002, 18:34   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Jamie, try using the PCtoAMI non-resident program instead on the PC side.

I get MUCH better performance doing this. Try it and report back

Electroblaster, you have setup both programs correctly on both sides? There is a setup program for the PC called "PCtoAMcfg" that needs to be run on the pc side and the install script provided with the software takes care of configuring the Amiga.

Once the software is installed and configured, PCtoAMI needs to be run on the PC first.

Then you're required to create an executable script or use shell to mount the PC0 drive on the Amiga side. Read the help file.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 04 April 2002 at 18:45.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 04 April 2002, 21:53   #5
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
K guys!

i have done everything over and over again....

i know how to set this stuff up because way back i had all of it running perfect and i was sharing file between the amiga and pc with no problems...well! the occasional packet loss but nothing bad!!

i have checked both parallel and serial cables for wiring faults..
checked both our pc's com and printer ports for faults and i have checked the amiga out aswell! all seem to pass fine!

the only program i can get working is Paradise! that works but its very basic... so i know the amiga will talk to the pc and vice-versa! just why the hell amiga2pc wont work is driving me mad
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 04 April 2002, 22:00   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Are you using PCtoAM version 308 off aminet or the slightly modified version that comes with this kit:

AmitoPC KIT (software comes on CDROM and 3.5" Disk

If you're using the former, then go through the steps you've tried to get it to work. It's the only way we can try and help.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 04 April 2002, 22:07   #7
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Quote:
Bloodwych
i was looking at that kit because it supposed to work with XP and 2K!

im using my original parnet cable modified into a laplink 4-wire cable..

it always worked before but now! ahh well im going to buy this ami2pc kit and see what happens...
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 21 April 2002, 22:45   #8
PSYKO
 
Posts: n/a
Do tell if you got it, and if it works. I'm considering it myself, for my XP vs. A4K, but wanted to hear from others if it works ok.
Or maybe get an Ethernet card for the Ami, since I'm running a LAN already between both peezees.
 
Old 21 April 2002, 22:56   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Read Here for more info

Also do a search. I think more threads exist.

PS - WELCOME TO EAB!!!!!
Bloodwych is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pc2amiga AliasXZ New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 22 January 2008 18:48
PC2Amiga problem again! JDigital support.Hardware 4 13 April 2007 23:32
pc2amiga question Scorn support.Hardware 3 20 July 2004 11:08
Problem with Setting Up PC2Amiga Steve project.SPS (was CAPS) 43 28 February 2004 00:08
PC2Amiga Probs Jherek Carnelia support.Apps 7 08 March 2002 22:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08307 seconds with 13 queries